Film

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in film and cinema. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely.

In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for film and cinema research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, UH Mānoa's OneSearch, or the librarian for film, David Brier. My contact info is on the left.

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library.

The UHM collections contains numerous books, periodicals and other materials supporting interests in a wide variety of subjects including film and media, as well as thousands of other books and journals in related fields.

• The Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection includes subjects related to film history, media studies, and film production from around the world, emphasizing the Americas, Africa, and Europe.
• The Asia Collection is the most significant collection of Asian materials in the State of Hawaiʻi and in the Pacific. It dates from 1920, when the Board of Regents established the Japanese Department at the University of Hawaii. The collection contains resources related to film and media across the Asian continent with materials in multiple languages.
• The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections are internationally recognized research collections with materials including resources on film and media throughout Hawaiʻi and the Pacific Islands in multiple languages.
• The Government Documents Department is a federal depository of United States government documents and has a selective collection of United Nations documents. The collection includes historical Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound collections from the Library of Congress.
• The Wong Audiovisual Center contains video and audio media including a large number of feature films in English and other languages.

If UH Mānoa Library does not own the title you need, please consider requesting the item via Interlibrary Loan.