University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Philosophy Research Guide: Home

Philosophy Research Guide

Use the set of pages in this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in philosophy. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for philosophy research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog, or the library specialist in philosophy, Ross Christensen.

Philosophy Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. The UHM collections contain works by and about major philosophers, works on schools, periods, and traditions of philosophy, as well as comparative works. Hamilton Library houses the Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection, which covers philosophy around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have substantail material on philosophy in those geographic areas. Sinclair Library houses the Music Collection and the Wong AV Center, where you will find DVDs, CDs and more.

General Resources

Use the General/Multi-disciplinary Resources guide for information on your topic from general encyclopedias and databases, dissertations, and more.

Related Subjects

Use these research guides for disciplines related to philosophy.