University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Religion Research Guide: Home

Religion Research Guide

Use the set of pages in this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in religion. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for religion research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog, or the library specialist in religion, Ross Christensen.

Religion Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. Hamilton Library houses the Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection, which covers religions from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have significant amounts of material on the religions of those geographic areas. Included are works of comparative religion, works on the major traditions, Christianity, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism, and works on the religions of many indigenous peoples. Sinclair Library houses the Music Collection and the Wong AV Center, where you will find DVDs, CDs and more.

General Resources

Use the General/Multi-disciplinary Resources guide for information on your topic from general encyclopedias and databases, dissertations, and more.

Related Subjects

Use these research guides for disciplines related to religious studies.