This is the "Introduction" page of the "SciFinder Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

An overview of using SciFinder to find information on chemistry and chemical engineering.
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/scifinder Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Sara Rutter
Contact Info
808-956-2540
A151 Hamilton Library
Send Email
 

SciFinder Scholar Facts

Subjects

  • Chemistry
  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Materials Science
  • Agricultural Sciences
  • Pharmacy
  • And More

Dates
1907 to present

Content

  • Over 35 million references from journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and other sources.
  • Over 67 million substances
  • Over 63 million sequences
  • Over 56 million single- and multiple-step reactions
 

About SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar provides access to the Chemical Abstracts Service's (CAS) large collection of indexed literature back to 1907. This makes SciFinder Scholar an essential database for all research questions that have a chemical structure at their core. In addition to the references and abstracts found in Chemical Abstracts (1907-Present), SciFinder's comprehensive content includes information on substances, patents, experimental and predicted properties, and spectra.

Before you can use SciFinder Scholar you have to create a free personal account with SciFinder Scholar. Click here to register for a personal account with SciFinder Scholar.

After creating your personal SciFinder account, you will have to access SciFinder Scholar using the link below:

SciFinder Scholar

OR SciFinder Scholar may be accessed on the Science & Technology Databases page by clicking on "S" to find SciFinder Scholar on the page.

 

Use Restrictions

SciFinder Scholar is restricted to UH Manoa faculty, staff and students.

The UH Manoa Library's license currently allows 4 simultaneous users at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

You must agree to terms and conditions of the license agreement each time you use SciFinder Scholar.

 

What's New!

SciFinder has added the following new tools to help you search and view search results:

  • Explore substances by property

  • Convert CAS Registry Number to chemical structure
     
  • Preview substance and reference search results using Quick View

To learn more about these features and other enhancements, visit What's New in the Web Version of SciFinder (April 2012).

 

Need More Help?

Sci/Tech Librarians
Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech
Reference
Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday, 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays
All library hours

Sci/Tech
Reference Desk Phone:

(808) 956-8263

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip