University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

SciFinder Scholar: Exporting References

An overview of using SciFinder to find information on chemistry and chemical engineering.

Organizing References for Research & Writing

Reference or bibliographic management tools are software programs will help you organize the references (i.e., citations) you find for papers and projects.

These tools store your references in one place on your computer, which makes retrieving these items easy. You should also look for a tool that has these other features as well:

  • Imports references from databases, like SciFinder Scholar
  • Stores figures and PDFs on your computer
  • Works with your preferred word processing program, like Microsoft Word, Apple Pages and Open Office to insert in-text citations and compose bibliographies with just a few mouse clicks

EndNote and Mendeley are two reference management tools that you may want to consider using. See the right side bar of this page for details about using these tools.

Exporting References and Importing Them into EndNote

Steps to export references from SciFinder Scholar and import them into EndNote:

  1. Click the check box(es) next to the references that you want to add to your EndNote library.
  2. Click on Export (on the right side of the the gray header the search results).

    Select SciFinder citation, Click Export
     
  3. Three columns appear in the Export manager window:
    1. Under Export, select what to export. Use "Selected" if you have checked off any references in the answer set.
    2. Under For: Citation Manager select Citation export format (*.ris)
    3. Under Detail, accept the default name (rename it if you are going to save, not export directly into EndNote)
  4. Click on Export.
     
    Export Manager window
     
  5. Select Open with ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper (default) (if using FireFox browser, see image below) or Open (if using IE).
  6. Click on OK.

    Opening Reference window
     
  7. Citations will automatically be imported into whatever EndNote library is open.

    NOTE: If EndNote is NOT open, the references will automatically be imported into the EndNote library that was last open. If you have mutliple EndNote libraries, open the library you want before exporting the references.

Exporting References and Importing Them into Mendeley

Steps to export references from SciFinder Scholar and import them into Mendeley:

  1. Click the check box(es) next to the references that you want to add to Mendeley.
  2. Click on Export (on the right side of the the gray header the search results).

    Select SciFinder citation, Click Export



  3. Three columns appear in the Export manager window:
    1. Under Export, select what to export. Use "Selected" if you have checked off any references in the answer set.
    2. Under For: Citation Manager select Citation export format (*.ris)
    3. Under Detail, accept the default name or rename it if you prefer.
  4. Click on Export
     
    Export Manager window

  5. Select Save File (if using FireFox browser, see image below) or Save (if using IE).
  6. Click on OK.

    Opening Reference window

  7. Open Mendeley Desktop on your comuter.
  8. Select Add Files... from the File pull down menu.

    Add Files to Mendeley

EndNote Desktop Information

EndNote helps you organize your research. It also allows you to organize bibliographic references (or citations) in your own EndNote Library, transfer references from on-line databases into your EndNote Library, and instantly build bibliographies for your papers. For current and potential EndNote users alike, here are some links to get more information about EndNote:

EndNote Basic

Mendeley Information

Mendeley is a free reference manager that allows you to organize references and to create reference lists and bibliographies. Mendeley includes a PDF viewer which allows you highlight, annotate, and organize research papers all in one place. For current and potential Mendeley users alike, here are some links to get information about Mendeley:

Need More Help?

Sci/Tech Librarians Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday, 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays
All library hours

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone:
(808) 956-8263