This is the "Home" page of the "Second Language Studies (SLS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Second Language Studies (SLS)   Tags: language, languages, linguistics  

Last Updated: Mar 31, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/sls Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Featured Databases for Second Language Studies

Read this first.  Use the suggested article databases to search for and find journal articles on a TOPIC. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

See More Databases for Second Language Studies to search for articles in cognate disciplines.

Start with a subject-specific database...

  • ERIC (EBSCOHOST search interface)  
      
    The national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement.
    See also ERIC via CSA and ERIC via DOE .
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
    Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Dates covered are from 1973 to the present.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.

    Or choose from the following multi-disciplinary databases.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

    Watch a tutorial on using Academic Search Premier.
  • Google Scholar
    Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
  • OneSearch Manoa (NEW)
    "Find millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search."

    See our Guide to OneSearch Manoa for more information about this search engine.
  • Web of Science
    A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.

    Getting the Most Out of Web of Science by Sara Rutter
 

Second Language Studies Research


Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for your research in second language studies. The guide focuses on online resources, but also includes selected print titles. This guide highlights the main resources; it does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for research in second language studies. For additional resources, visit other relevant library guides, search the library's online catalog, or consult with Susan Johnson, UHM Social Sciences Librarian.

 

About the Second Language Studies Collection

The Library acquires a wide range of materials to support the programs of the Department of Second Language Studies. These materials are located in the humanities and social sciences collection on the first and second floors of Hamilton Library and in the Asia, Hawaiian, and Pacific Collections on the third, fourth, and fifth floors. Additional materials are located in the science and technology collection in the Hamilton Addition.

Print materials are located in Hamilton Library. Audiovisual media are housed in Sinclair Library. All of these materials are listed in the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog. Many journals, books, and documents are available in electronic form. Some are listed in Hawaii Voyager, others are listed in the Library's Electronic Resources gateway.or the Electronic Journals and Books database.


Library Collection Development Policy for Second Language Studies

UHM Department of Second Language Studies

Find Journals

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has to that journal, search for the journal name. Start with:

 

Find Funding

Pivot (COS)

Pivot COS is a powerful search tool that assists researchers in finding funding opportunities.

Guides for Grads

Related Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip