Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA): Home

Need More Help?

E-mail Sci/Tech: sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone:
(808) 956-8263

What is ASFA?

Topics Covered
Major areas of coverage include

  • biological and ecological aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish environments
  • fisheries and aquaculture
  • living and non-living resources
  • aquatic pollution
  • oceanography
  • marine meterorology and climatology
  • marine technology and engineering
  • related legal, economic, and sociological sciences and living resources

Publication Dates Included

  • 1974 to present

Types of Publications Indexed

  • journals
  • reports
  • conference proceedings
  • dissertations and theses
  • mongraphs
  • grey literature

Coverage is international but most records include English abstracts

Accessing ASFA

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts is licensed for UH Manoa students, faculty, and staff only.

Links to ASFA are also available through:

  • the UH Manoa Library home page by selecting Online Databases / Indexes under Research Tools
  • the Science & Technology Department home page under the Databases tab
  • Detailed information on ASFA and the ProQuest platform are available from the ProQuest LibGuide.