University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA): Exporting from ASFA

Exporting from ASFA

EndNote

1. Select the citations of interest in the search results screen.

2. Mouse over the Export/Save link at the top right of the results list.

3. Click ENDNOTE, CITAVI, OR REFERENCE MANAGER. Records will be automatically exporting into the EndNote library of your choice.

Screen shot of how to export citations from ASFA to EndNote.

 

4. You should be able to view them in the 'Imported References' group in your EndNote library.

In EndNote: EndNote should open automatically and import your references.

 

Mendeley

You must download citations into a .ris file and then import them to Mendeley Deskstop.

1.  Complete a search in the ASFA database.

2.  Check the boxes to the left of the desired citations.

3.  Click the Export/Save icon. icon

4.  Choose the RIS format, click continue.

5.   Save file.

6.   Drag file into the center column of Mendeley Desktop and the references will be added to your Library.

Using Bibliographic Management Tools to Organize

Endnote [$25 for program from ITS] | Guide to Using Endnote

Endnote is an application that imports citations from your searches in web databases and helps you organize your references. It works with Microsoft Word helping you create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies.

Endnote Basic [Free] | Guide to Using Endnote Basic

EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web) is an online program that helps you organize references and create properly formatted bibliographies. This is a separate program from the desktop version of EndNote. It is a free version of EndNote available for institutions which subscribe to ISI Databases, like Web of Science.

Mendeley [Free] | Guide to Using Mendeley

Mendeley allows you to share references with others or to maintain a private library. Mendeley collections can be exported to Endnote, CiteULike, or Zotero libraries. Mendeley works with Word 2008 and OpenOffice to insert citations into your documents. It enables you to extract citation information from downloaded pdfs.

Zotero [Free] | LibGuide to Using Zotero

Zotero is a plug-in from Mozilla that you use with the Firefox browser. Simply download the plug-in, activate the Zotero application by clicking on the Zotero icon in your browser. You can now capture citations into a library held on your hard drive or on a flash drive. Zotero works with Word and OpenOffice after you have downloaded the plug-ins.

Need More Help?

E-mail Sci/Tech: sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone:
(808) 956-8263