Ke Au Hou - Generations of Pacific librarianship: Day 1

Digital Curation Coordinator for the Digital Libraries Division at the University of North Texas Libraries
Dr. Daniel Alemneh has been heavily involved with the development of digital initiatives in the UNT Libraries, including The Portal to Texas History and the CyberCemetery (a web archive of defunct federal websites for agencies, commissions, and initiatives). He has published extensively including co-editing the ICKM-2017 Proceedings and serving on various conference organizing committees, including the Joint Conference on Digital Libraries (JCDL-2018). He is also an adjunct faculty member at the University of North Texas College of Information.

Associate Dean for Digital Libraries at the University of North Texas
Mark is involved in a number of high profile national digital projects including the International Internet Preservation Consortium (IIPC), (a global network of experts archiving the web for future generations), and the End-of-Term Presidential Harvest (EOT) (a collaborative project that is being undertaken by the California Digital Library, Internet Archives, Library of Congress, University of North Texas Libraries, and U.S. Government Publishing Office). He is also an active contributor to Preserving Electronic Government Information (PEGI), which is a new two-year initiative to address national concerns regarding the preservation of electronic government information by cultural memory organizations for long-term use by the citizens of the United States.

Director of the National Library and Archives of Tuvalu
Noa Petueli Tapumanaia was born and raised in Funafuti, the capital of Tuvalu. Noa attended primary school in Funafuti and secondary school at the Tuvalu Government School in Motufoua, as well as at Queen Victoria School in Fiji. In 2012 he graduated from the University of the South Pacific with a Certificate in Basic Library Skills and Information Services. In 2014, he graduated from the University of the South Pacific with a Diploma in Information Systems, followed by a Bachelor of Arts in Information Systems and Information Library Studies in 2015. He currently works as a Chief Librarian/Archivist and Head of Department for the Tuvalu National Library and Archives.pursuing an MBA at the University of the South Pacific Tuvalu Campus.

Presentation topic: "Establishing Tuvalu National Library and Archives"
Until 1st October, 1974, discussions regarding the separation of the Gilbert and Ellice Island Colonies were circumscribed by avoidance of statements that might tend to influence the Referendum vote. That there will be separation is no longer in doubt: Tuvalu (Ellice) became fully independent on October 1, 1978. At the time of independence there were many questions: What sort of country did the Ellice people want, and how would their aspirations be achieved? Discussions about possible levels of staffing, expenditure, revenue, constitutional patterns, establishment of a library and archives and other matters were held between the British Government and the people of Tuvalu and Kiribati (formerly Gilbert). It is now forty years after Tuvalu gained independence—where does the Tuvalu National Library and Archives stand today?

----------

Director, Learning Resources Center, College of Micronesia-FSM, Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia
Jennifer Helieisar, from the island of Pohnpei in the Federated States of Micronesia, has worked in libraries since 1997. In 2011 she became the director of the College of Micronesia-FSM (COM-FSM) Learning Resources Center (LRC) and oversees the operations of six campus libraries across the COM-FSM college system. She earned her BA in Elementary Education at the University of Guam and her Masters in Library and Information Science from the University of North Texas as part of the first Library Education for the U.S.-Affiliated Pacific (LEAP) cohort. She is also an active member and leader of the Pacific Islands Association of Libraries, Archives and Museums (PIALA).

Librarian, Higher Colleges of Technology, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Jane Barnwell's career in Pacific librarianship spans over 30 years, and has been distinguished by her commitment to capacity building of Pacific library staff, as well as building collections. From helping to establish the Pacific Islands Studies Program at the University of Oregon in the 1980s, to serving as Librarian at Palau Community College, as Pacific Specialist at the UHM Pacific Collection, and as Library & Information Literacy Specialist at Pacific Resources for Education and Learning (PREL), Jane has worked to empower Pacific library staff, steadily working towards her goal of ensuring that the Pacific had fully qualified indigenous librarians. This dream came true twice, and will be celebrated throughout this conference with the participation of graduates from the LEAP cohort, as well as conference presentations and a graduation celebration for the second LEAP cohort. Jane is indebted to all Pacific librarianship "ancestors," but most especially the late Daniel J. Peacock, and his daughter, the late Dr. Karen M. Peacock.

Access Services Librarian, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Jean Thoulag serves as Access Services librarian and acting chair of the Access Services Department at UH-Manoa Hamilton Library. She currently is a member of the executive board of the Hawaii Library Association. Jean lived in Micronesia for many years and worked at the College of Micronesia-FSM, serving as a library director and an academic program administrator. She is a member of the Pacific Islands Association of Libraries, Archives and Museums (PIALA) and advisor for the University of North Texas Library Education for the U.S.-Affiliated Pacific (LEAP) program.

Presentation topic: “A few caring people: The Legacy of Dakio Syne and Iris Falcam -- two librarians who changed the Micronesian library world"
“Never believe that a few caring people can't change the world. For, indeed, that's all who ever have. Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." (Margaret Mead) . The legacy of Dakio Syne and Iris Falcam is a genuine example of what a few caring librarians can do to shape the development of libraries for their institution, local communities and librarianship. Sponsored by the late Daniel Peacock and supported by his daughter, Pacific Collection Curator Karen Peacock, Dakio Syne was the first Micronesian to earn a MLIS. He and Iris (who was originally from Hawai'i) worked collaboratively at the College of Micronesia from its beginning in the 1970s until their passing in 2005 and 2010 respectively. This presentation will highlight how the leadership, dedication and gumption of these two Micronesian librarians contributed significantly to the establishment, development and networking of all libraries across Micronesia.

----------

Executive Officer for the Pacific Manuscripts Bureau (PAMBU), Australian National University
Kari James took on the role of Executive Officer for PAMBU in June 2017. Before starting at PAMBU she worked as an archivist for a Native Title Representative Body, as a volunteer at the National Archives of Solomon Islands and as an archival researcher for ABC TV News. She has an academic background in media studies, information management and archives. Kari is excited about the future of the Pacific Manuscripts Bureau and is delighted to be working with Pacific communities again.

Archive Assistant, Pacific Manuscripts Bureau (PAMBU), Australian National University
Eve has been working part-time with PAMBU since early 2016, assisting with preserving and promoting Pacific archives. She is also completing a PhD at the Australian National University, exploring the role of missionaries in the development of Pacific archaeology in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Her research incorporates work with museum collections and archives, as well as with Pacific communities. Eve has a background in museums in her home country of Scotland. She previously worked as project curator on a review of Pacific collections across Scottish museums.

Presentation topic: "Big Shoes to Fill: 50 Years of the Pacific Manuscripts Bureau"
The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau copies manuscripts, photographs and rare printed materials about the Pacific islands and makes them accessible through a consortium of international libraries. In 2018, the Bureau will celebrate its 50th anniversary. This milestone is an opportunity to reflect on the history of the Bureau and how its foundations continue to shape the organization that it is today. This paper will look at the Executive Officers who have managed the Bureau for 50 years and the various legacies they have left. As the current Executive Officer, this paper will consider how to build on these legacies and how to manage contemporary challenges while maintaining the traditions that have sustained this unique organization for half a century. It will reflect on how the strong presence of the Bureau’s history instills a constant awareness of preparing those who will inherit this work in the future.

----------

Panel Facilitator:

Librarian, Hawaiian Historical Society / Reference and Special Projects Librarian, Hawaiian & Pacific Collections, UH-Mānoa
Elizabeth Seaton currently divides her professional time between working as a librarian with the Hawaiian Historical Society and with the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections at UH-Mānoa. She completed her master's degree in Library and Information Science from the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa in 2017. Elizabeth was born and raised in Kaimukī, Oʻahu.