University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Ke Au Hou - Generations of Pacific librarianship: Home

Website for the Pacific Librarianship Conference being held May 1-3 2018

design by Kasey Kawaguchi

Conference Program - overview

Day 1: May 1, 2018

LEAP pre-conference workshop

Keynote Speaker

Panel 1: Honoring Our Past

Evening Reception

Day 2: May 2, 2018

Keynote Speaker

Panel 2: Collection Development & Management

Panel 3: Librarianship in Cultural Context

Panel 4: Ethics in Librarianship

Dinner

Day 3: May 3, 2018

Working Groups: the Future of Pacific Librarianship

CPIS capstone student presentations

LEAP student presentations

2018 will mark the 50th anniversary of the University of Hawaiʻiat Mānoa (UH-M) Library's Pacific Collection. We invite you to join with us and other Pacific librarians and scholars to reflect on the legacy left us by our librarian ancestors and consider what legacy we hope to build for the generations of librarians that will follow.

This conference is jointly hosted by UH-M Library's Hawaiian & Pacific Collections, the Center for Pacific Islands Studies, the Kamakakūokalani Center for Hawaiian Studies Hawaiʻi ʻImi Loa, and the University of North Texas' Library Education for the U.S. Affiliated Pacific.

Call for papers

Submission
 
Go here to submit a paper: https://goo.gl/forms/NhS7Elp7m4chmZqT2
Submission Deadline: 15 December 2017

Panels

Panel 1: Honoring Our Past
  • In this panel we will discuss the legendary people who built the foundations of librarianship in our region. Who are the people who created your library and/or shaped librarianship on your island? What legacies did you inherit from them? How do you maintain or honor the work of librarians who came before? How does your library space reflect those legacies?

Panel 2: Collection Development and Management

  • This panel is an opportunity to share our present challenges, creative solutions, and triumphs related to collection development and/or management. What are the external pressures that are driving change in how you develop and manage your collections, and what are you doing to address these pressures? Are you building new spaces (either physical or digital), or are you changing the way you use old spaces? Are you collecting and managing new types of material? Are you describing and organizing materials in a new way?

Panel 3: Librarianship in Cultural Context

  • The purpose of this panel is to explore the diverse ways in which librarianship and the cultures of Oceania intersect and influence each other. How does your island or your culture define the purpose of libraries? Does your cultural context impact the way in which your library is used? How does your cultural context shape or define your job as a librarian? How does culture influence the way you promote your collections or interact with patrons? 

Panel 4: Ethics in Librarianship

  • In this panel we focus on the sticky ethical situations that can happen in the library. Is there a certain type of material in your collection that creates an ethical issue? Do you have to define access rules depending on the type of material, or the identity of the patron? Do you have the authority to define the solution, or do you have to collaborate with another institution or group? How does your position as a librarian shape your sense of responsibility in these situations?

Additional Information

  • All presentations will be part of the panels mentioned above
  • Each panel will have 3-4 presenters
  • Each presentation should be 15 minutes long
  • Presentation laptop with wifi + projector will be available

Registration

Registration and all conference meals are free for participants.

Go here to register: https://goo.gl/forms/a7SXZ6aIjhmSnTT22

Registration deadline is 1 February 2018.

 

If you need a letter of invitation, please find a generic version below.

If you need a personalized invitation, please contact Eleanor Kleiber (ekleiber[at]hawaii.edu)

Lodging

On-Campus housing

East-West Center (EWC) housing is available on a limited basis. This housing option tends to be less expensive than hotels.

Prices:

$32/night Hale Manoa & Kuahine Dormitories (shared bathrooms): Single                                                                                    
$43/night Hale Manoa & Kuahine Dormitories (shared bathrooms): Double
$56/night Lincoln Hall Guest House: Standard Studio
$69/night Lincoln Hall Guest House: Corner Studio 
$80/night Lincoln Hall Guest House: 1-Bedroom with Kitchen

To book:

  • Contact EWC housing directly by email (housing@eastwestcenter.org) or phone (001 808-944-7805)
  • Please tell them that you are booking as part of the "Ke Au Hou – Generations of Pacific librarianship," group
  • Send them a Visitor Request Form (below)

Hotels in Waikīkī

If on-campus accommodation is not preferred or unavailable, the closest hotel accommodations will be in Waikīkī.  A quick internet search will give you a wide variety of options and price ranges.


Home rentals

For services such as AirBnB or Couchsurfing, you will likely want to focus you search to the neighborhoods of Mānoa, Kaimukī and Pālolo.