Ke Au Hou - Generations of Pacific librarianship: Day 2

University Librarian, University of Papua New Guinea
Leah Kalamoroh holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Papua New Guinea and a Masters of Library Science from the University of New South Wales, in Sydney, Australia. She has worked in various libraries, including as PNG Collection Librarian at the National Library of Papua New Guinea; as the Director of the University of Goroka Library; and, since 2016, as the Director of the University of Papua New Guinea Library. From 1994 to 2007 she was a Lecturer in Library & Information Studies at UPNG and served as the Head of UPNG's Library Studies Program from 2010 through 2015.


Presentation topic: "Challenges in collection development and management: the experiences of the University of Papua New Guinea Library"
In an era of rapidly changing information technologies, formats and provision of information services, librarians are tasked with the creation and implementation of innovative and effective information infrastructures, services and practices. With the increase in demand by students, scholars and researchers, Pacific librarians are tasked with providing information through a variety of formats, including virtual collections. In this paper I will briefly discuss the background and current status of the University of Papua New Guinea library, while also outlining the issues and challenges our library’s New Guinea collection faces in collection development and management, including both print and digital materials. I will conclude with proposed solutions to these challenges, which include the potential of collaboration and networking with other libraries and information service centers in the Pacific region.

----------

Librarian, Pacific Collection, University of the South Pacific Library
Gwen Rounds first experienced librarianship while completing her undergraduate degree at Lincoln University, New Zealand, working as a part-time student assistant at her university library. Since completing her Masters of Library and Information Studies at Victoria University of Wellington, she has worked in the Reader Services and Cataloguing sections at The University of the South Pacific Library in Suva, Fiji. Currently she is the USP Library's Pacific Collection Librarian.

Presentation topic: "Promote the Collection to enrich Collection Management"
Physical space is running out at The University of the South Pacific Library’s Pacific Collection! The collection has grown exponentially over three decades, with a focus on collecting materials either about Melanesia, Polynesia or Micronesia, or written by Pacific Islanders. There is no better time than now to weed, properly store, preserve and promote the collection’s resources. Confidently promoting the collection’s resources can only happen when one is certain of the quality of its resources, coupled with the ease of discoverability and access available to users. Thus working backwards, promoting the collection to users through library displays, LibGuides announcements and partnerships with other organizations will urge USP’s Pacific Collection to properly add, store and preserve the collection while at the same time improving discoverability and access to this collection. Digitizing materials that are out of copyright, attending to accessioning/cataloguing backlogs and rethinking better ways of utilizing limited space are among the solutions to these issues.

----------

Librarian for Southeast Asian Studies, Pacific Islands Studies, Pan-Asian Studies, Religion, International Studies, and Young Research Library at University California Los Angeles
Initially hired as Librarian for Southeast Asian Studies at UCLA, Jade Alburo purposefully added Pacific Islands Studies to her portfolio in order to emphasize it as an area that is important to the university and the library. In addition to her MLS (University of Maryland, College Park), she holds a BA in English and Religious Studies (University of California, Berkeley) and an MA in Folklore (Memorial University of Newfoundland). She has served as President of the Asian / Pacific American Librarians Association (2012-2013) and organizer of the National Diversity in Libraries Conference (2016).

Presentation topic: "Moving Forward to Preserve the Past: Building Pacific Collections and Partnerships at UCLA Library"
Identifying a collection gap and an emerging campus need, the UCLA Library began to develop a Pacific Islands collection 10 years ago. This small but thriving collection includes monographs and serials, as well as films and historical photo albums. In 2012, the library established the International Digital Ephemera Project (IDEP) and embarked on a number of post-custodial collaborations with cultural heritage partners in Africa, the Caribbean, and the Middle East. IDEP is now seeking to form partnerships in the Pacific, which will not only greatly expand global open access to more collections but also help Pacific institutions to preserve, while maintaining ownership, of their endangered items. In addition to providing an overview of the UCLA Library’s collections and the IDEP project, this presentation aims to start a discussion on the challenges and opportunities, including risks and ethical questions, in collection-building and generate ideas and directions for collaboration and future directions.

----------

Université de la Polynésie française (University of French Polynesia), Tahiti
Vayana Chand has been responsible for the UPF’s Pacific-Polynesian Collection since 2006. In 2013, she took charge of the university’s library of the Ecole Supérieure du Professorat et de l’Education (Higher School of Professorship and Education). Since 2016, she has served as the contact person for external exchanges with the University Library of French Polynesia.

Université de la Polynésie française (University of French Polynesia), Tahiti
Vincent Deyris is in charge of Ana’ite, the UPF's Polynesian Digital Science Library.


Presentation topic: “Ana’ite, the Polynesian Digital Science Library”
This presentation explains how the Polynesian Digital Science Library was born, what collections it contains and which partners have come together to offer the public free access to books, newspapers, photographs and other documents from (or about) French Polynesia in the fields of human and social sciences.

----------

Panel Facilitator:

Tuzin Archive for Melanesian Anthropology, University of California, San Diego Library
Cristela Garcia-Spitz recently became the Curator of the Tuzin Archive for Melanesian Anthropology. In her former role as Project Manager in the Digital Library Development Program at UCSD, she worked on several digital collections within the Oceania Collection.

Head Librarian of Reference Services and Information Literacy Instruction, RFK Library University of Guam
Roland San NIcolas is a native CHamoru who was born and raised on Guam. He completed his undergraduate degree in Allied Health Science at the University of Portland, Oregon, in 1995. In 2013 he graduated from the University of North Texas with an MLS as part of the first cohort of the LEAP Program.

Presentation Topic: “The CHamoru Academic Librarian: Where Culture and Collection Meet”
The Robert F. Kennedy Library at the University of Guam is the largest library in Micronesia. The library serves as the information exchange hub in a region as vast as the contiguous United States. In its history, the library has had eight credentialed academic librarians of CHamoru descent. This paper will discuss the indigenous librarians of Guam and how the CHamoru culture influences collection management and patron interaction.

----------

Territorial Librarian, Feleti Barstow Public Library, American Samoa
Justin Maga is a graduate of the first LEAP cohort. Since June 2014 he has served as the Territorial Librarian of Feleti Barstow Public Library, in Pago, Pago, American Samoa.

Presentation Topic: TBA

----------

Curator of Manuscripts, National Library of Australia
Kylie Moloney's interest in the Pacific Islands began as an Australian volunteer in Vanuatu in 2004, where she worked as a librarian in a vocational training institute for one year. She has extensive experience in working with special collections, including working as a reference librarian at the National Library of Australia and as an assistant curator for Oceania collections at the National Museums Scotland. From 2008-2017. Kylie worked at the Pacific Manuscripts Bureau, based at the Australian National University in Canberra, making preservation copies of archival documents -- first on microfilm and later using digital technologies -- throughout the Pacific Islands. It was during this time that she learned a great deal more about archives in the Islands and thus began a particular interest in the education and capacity building of Pacific Island archivists and librarians. In May 2017 Kylie was appointed Curator of Manuscripts at the National Library of Australia.

Presentation topic: “Learning our profession: re-thinking the training and mentoring of Pacific Island information professionals"
This presentation will explore how librarians and archivists throughout Oceania learn their profession. It will cover opportunities and challenges for Pacific Islanders who aim to develop their professional knowledge about libraries and archives, explore the impact of Pacific Island culture on formal and informal learning opportunities, and suggest culturally appropriate ways for improving the education of information professionals throughout Oceania.
__________

Library Specialist, Midkiff Learning Center, Kamehameha Schools Kapālama
In addition to her work as a Library Specialist, Pilialohamauloa Cashman is a Substitute Dorm Advisor at Kamehameha Schools Kapālama. Pili holds a BA in Hawaiian Studies and an MLIS, both from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. Prior to joining the Kamehameha Schools library, Pili was the Assistant Director at Ka Papa Loʻi o Kānewai at UH-Mānoa. She uses both understandings to bridge a fascination of cultural awareness, education, and preservation. Aloha ‘Āina.

Library Specialist, Midkiff Learning Center, Kamehameha Schools Kapālama
Emma Panui studied English Literature at Mills College and Library and Information Science at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. Her interests lie in promoting student engagement and collaboration, access to information, and geeking out over young adult fiction.

Senior Library Specialist, Midkiff Learning Center, Kamehameha Schools Kapālama
Prior to joining Kamehameha Schools, Merri Fernandez retired from Federal Service as a Children’s Librarian with the Marine Corps Base Library at Kāne'ohe after many enjoyable years. She loves to read Young Adult fiction and travel to Disneyland whenever possible.


Presentation Topic: "Engaging Native Hawaiian Patrons"
Kamehameha Schools' mission is to fulfill Pauahi's desire to create educational opportunities in perpetuity, to improve the capability and well-being of people of Hawaiian ancestry. We envision ourselves here at Midkiff Learning Center as a Center of Excellence for our community at Kamehameha Schools Kapālama Campus. Supported within Midkiff are the high school library, Museum Archive, Student Production Center, Digital Media, numerous instructional areas, and the life-blood of our institution – nā haumāna (students). Our charge is to provide exceptional resources to inspire, inform, and enrich learning. As such, one of our primary goals is to engage the Native Hawaiian student population. Through the collaborative efforts of staff, faculty, and students, we design topical displays and programming; teach a semester-long Library Service course; and continually strive to innovate the daily library experience. Using our dedicated collections and various learning spaces, we aim to support meaningful, culturally relevant discourse.

----------

Panel Facilitator:

Librarian, Kamakakūokalani Center for Hawaiian Studies, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Keahiahi Long is from Mānoa, Kona, Oʻahu, is a dedicated mea hula, and is the Librarian at the Kamakakūokalani Center for Hawaiian Studies. Her primary duties are to support the creation of, access to, and use of materials related to ʻike Hawaiʻi, and to manage the Laka me Lono Resource Center collection so it best aligns with the curriculum of Kamakakūokalani. Keahiahi holds a Master’s Degree in Library and Information Science and Bachelor’s Degrees in Hawaiian Language and Hawaiian Studies from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa.

Evening Supervisor & Archives Manager at the William S. Richardson School of Law Library, UH Mānoa
Ellen-Rae Cachola, Ph.D. is fascinated by the legal history of Hawaiʻi and its implications for other islands in Oceania. In addition to her work at the William S. Richardson School of Law Library, she also teaches in-person and online courses in Ethnic Studies 101 and Social Movements in Hawaiʻi for the Department of Ethnic Studies.

Presentation Topic: “The Significance of the Jon Van Dyke Papers: Settler Colonialism, Pacific Indigeneity and Decolonization of the Law”
How can archival collections be framed to recognize the Indigenous place and contexts they inhabit? How can archives and libraries engage with concepts such as Settler Colonialism and Indigenous self-determination within the contexts of knowledge production? This presentation will reflect on the historical, cultural and political themes within the Jon Van Dyke Archival papers, as they relate to Native Hawaiian Sovereignty and Pacific Islands Judiciary Development. Jon Van Dyke was born in Turkey, of a U.S. Diplomat family. He became a legal scholar teaching at Hastings School of Law and then moved to the University of Hawaiʻi School of Law in 1976. Through his work, he engaged in legal advocacy work affecting many Indigenous Pacific Islanders. Are Jon's papers just another example of a "haole" Caucasian man building his career through the study of Indigenous people, or was he engaged in the empowerment of Indigenous Pacific peoples’ rights and modeling the role that settlers can play in this process? Dr. Ellen-Rae Cachola will share a macro-appraisal of the fonds of Jon Van Dyke’s papers, finding aids and indexes to explain these resources, which document his legal and professional engagement with Indigenous Pacific historical perspectives and contemporary human and environmental issues. Dr. Cachola will also explore how his work demonstrated a decolonization of western law in Hawai’i and other Pacific Islands.

----------

Cataloger / Assistant Archivist, ‘Ulu‘ulu: The Henry Ku‘ualoha Giugni Moving Image archive of Hawai‘i
Koa Luke’s birth sands are in Waiawa in Keawalauopuʻuloa (original name of Pearl Harbor, meaning “the many channels of the long hills”). His background is political science with an emphasis on Hawaiian politics. Seeing how important archival research and repositories are to the Hawaiian community, he became an archivist to better serve his community. Koa earned his master’s degree from the Library and Information Science Program at UH Mānoa in 2014. Koa works as the cataloger/assistant archivist at ʻUluʻulu: The Henry Kuʻualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi where he is implementing Hawaiian culture/practice into his work. Koa’s interests are Pacific Archives, Indigenous and Pacific Science Fiction, Hawaiian ‘ike (knowledge) and culture, and cataloging in a way that better reflects Indigenous knowledge systems.

Presentation topic: "Nānā I Ke Kumu: Look to the Source: Cataloging Native Hawaiian Content"
The Library of Congress has established best practices and a thesaurus of subject headings that is the standard in many libraries and repositories worldwide. However the Library of Congress has a worldview that sometimes clashes with knowledge that exists in local communities. For ‘Ulu‘ulu Moving Image Archive of Hawai‘i this is an issue; ‘Ulu‘ulu uses Library Congress’ subject headings and the subject headings do clash with a Hawaiian worldview. To address this problem ‘Ulu‘ulu has implemented two projects to connect with local communities and make archival moving image collections more accessible to them. One project is to create an in-house Hawaiian language subject authority that resonates with the users. To create this subject authority, ‘Ulu‘ulu consults elders in the community, subject related experts, and Hawaiian Language resources. The end goal is to connect with a Hawaiian user and way of thinking.
Another project is crowdsourcing the community for metadata; recognizing that knowledge exists in the community and working with them to add metadata to the records. ‘Ulu‘ulu recognizes the Hawaiian community as a stakeholder and engages directly with it. The information community members share with ‘Ulu‘ulu breathes life into the material and connects the collections to the community, making the video and film more accessible. ‘Ulu‘ulu Cataloger Koa Luke will present these projects and explain how they fit the end goal of creating a system that better reflects Hawaiian knowledge.
__________

Hub Manager for Mukurtu Kaipumakani Project
Alana Pollack was born and raised on Oʻahu and graduated from Mills College with a Bachelor of Arts in Economics. She is currently pursuing her Master’s degree at the Center for Pacific Island Studies at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, where she serves as a graduate assistant in the Department of Linguistics and is the Hub Manager for the Kaipumakani Project.

Presentation Topic: “Ethics, Access, and Digital Cultural Heritage"
Digital archiving has great potential to lower the barriers to access to cultural heritage materials. Photographs, manuscripts, and recordings once housed behind layers of physical and administrative barriers can be made freely accessible and discoverable with just a few taps on a screen. However, increased openness of digital materials also comes with an increased responsibility to make materials accessible in a culturally responsible way. Cultural heritage is deeply embedded within a cultural framework of ethics. Digitization risks severing this connection and decontextualizing the materials, increasing the risk of misappropriation and misuse. In this presentation Alana Pollack describes the Mukurtu Content Management System, a platform for sharing digital cultural heritage in culturally-responsive ways. Mukurtu facilitates replication of traditional access protocols in the digital realm, so that communities can control not just who accesses digital heritage material but how that content is accessed. Mukurtu allows communities to tell their own stories and provide the necessary content so that cultural heritage is properly interpreted and respected.
----------

Panel Facilitator:

Joy Lehuanani Enomoto is currently pursuing dual masters degrees in Library and Information Sciences and Pacific Islands Studies at the University of Hawai‘i-Mānoa. She holds a Bachelor in Fine Arts from UH-Mānoa and a Bachelor in English from the University of California at Berkeley. She has worked with the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections, the University Archives & Manuscript Collections and the Preservation department of UH- Mānoa’s Hamilton Library, and currently works as a Graduate Research Assistant for Native Hawaiian Student Services’ Lāhui Hawai‘i Research Center. She is particularly concerned with ethical handling of Indigenous materials and finding creative, Indigenous-led solutions for protecting archival materials during the challenges of climate change.