Ke Au Hou - Generations of Pacific librarianship: Day 3

Presentation topic: "Tokelauan Language and Culture"



----------

Presentation topic: "Marianas Latte Stone" Latte stone structures are archaeological remains unique to the Mariana Islands. They served as a house foundation used by Chamorro people to support their houses as early as the 16th century. Made in two parts -- the tasa, or hemispherical capstone, and the haligi, the pillar -- a typical Latte Stone pillar is eleven- to twelve-feet tall and between four and seven feet off the ground. The Latte Stone is an integral facet of Chamorro history, architecture and mythology. This digital project will cover the story of the Latte Stone from the Hispanic era to the present for the islands of Saipan, Tinian and Rota.
----------

Presentation topic: "It Takes a Village to Raise a Child: Autism Services on Guam"
Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and autism are both general terms used to describe a group of complex disorders that affect early brain development. Statistics from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention identify roughly 1 in 68 American children as being on the autism spectrum. On Guam over 260 children, ages 3 to 21, have been identified in the Guam Public School system alone. This does not include those younger or older, nor does it take into account children in private schools, home school, or the countless others waiting to be evaluated. This digital collection consists of items that display the island’s efforts to raise the awareness of Autism and how it affects children on the island of Guam. Such efforts include community events, organizations, and services that are available to individuals on the spectrum. The foundation of the Chamorro culture is built on family and an island community. With this collection, individuals will witness the array of love, support, and “Hafa Adai” spirit the community has shown towards this cause and continues to do so effervescently.
----------

Presentation topic: "U. S. Naval Occupation of American Samoa"
The U.S. Naval Administration occupied American Samoa from February 02, 1900, to July 01, 1951. During that time on the world stage there were two World Wars, an Influenza Pandemic, and the Great Depression. On the home front every aspect of the Samoan way of life was slowly changing due to the influence of Western ideology that was propagated through the governing of the U. S. Navy. This collection will consist of digital photographs on the construction of facilities and roads, Fitafita Guard (Samoan soldiers), Naval Governors, and of the Samoan people during social or government events.
----------

Presentation topic: Yo’Amte and Traditional Medicine on Guam
Guam has been an unincorporated and organized territory of the United States for sixty-seven years. Through the years many changes have occurred on the island. However, there is a large movement aimed at maintaining cultural traditions. Traditional medicine on Guam is one of the practices being continued through family generations and through the assistance of different local agencies on the island. The Haya Foundation and Guam Council on the Arts and Humanities Agency are some of the organizations working towards keeping the practices thriving. The art of traditional medicine on Guam is sacred. The Yo’Amte or local healers have learned through their elders and have continued the practice for many years. Like the medical field, traditional medicine on Guam is versatile. Solutions that are provided by local healers serve multiple purposes. As these agencies and Yo’Amte continue to share the practice and importance of traditional medicine, this presentation will emphasize the different types of specialists and medicines, as well as how and why they are being maintained. The collection includes photographs, video clips, and documents that will share the importance of Yo’Amte and healing on Guam.
----------

Presentation topic: "Ulithian Lava Lava"
Lava lava hold significant cultural significance for the people of the Outer Islands in Yap State. Woven lava lava are the traditional attire of the Ulithian women and they are required to be worn by women past the age of puberty. Lava-lava are also used in important Ulithian cultural events such as weddings and funerals. Ulithian lava lavas are woven on handmade looms. Women weavers incorporate particular design patterns. There are also particular ways that the lava lava is worn. This digital collection includes digital photographs, video clips, audio clips, and documents.

Presentation topic: "Reconstructed Tools Used by Ancient Chamorros Handcrafted and Reconstructed by Noel Quitugua"
Ancient Chamorros fashioned tools from rocks, trees, tree barks, leaves, clams, and even sea shells. This collection of items includes traditional tools that were handcrafted and reconstructed by local artist and Chamorro historian Mr. Noel Quitugua. Photographs of each tool and video about Quitugua make up the digital collection.

Omengat: the First Childbirth Ceremony
Different aspects of the Palauan culture have remained of great value through time. Of the many valuable cultural practices, the practice of the 1st Childbirth Ceremony remains among those that are most unique and worth preserving, as it celebrates the success of a woman birthing her first child. Legend has it that in the past, childbirth was performed through cutting open the womb of a pregnant woman in order to deliver her baby. This meant the death of the mother. According to this legend, it wasn't until latter time that natural childbirth was discovered and therefore celebrated. The traditional practice varies among families in terms of decorations and presentation of the women. It also varies in the specific types of herbal medicines used in the hot bath and the number of days a woman is to go through the hot bath. The 1st Childbirth Ceremony has evolved greatly through the years but retains its purpose and significance in the culture of Palau. This digital collection includes photographs, videos, audio interviews, and documents.

Micronesian Folktales and Legends
Knowledge of folktales and legends was passed down orally, and because no documentation was made, some were lost or passed down with a new twist or version. This digital collection includes video and audio of Micronesian island storytellers who were born and raised and instilled with these stories. These stories reveal some of the mysterious facts about Micronesian islands, the people and the culture.

Artifacts of Survival Tools in the Marshall Islands
This project presents the digital collection of artifacts of survival tools located at the Alele Museum in the Marshall Islands. This collection consists of 10 artifacts of tools that were created and invented by the indigenous people of the Marshall Islands in the early 1700’s through the 1900’s. Some of the tools are still used today. Survival tools such as the weikan- strainer, raan̄ke-grater, ekwaal – sennit, U-fish trap, libbukwe- shell peeler, Meto- stick chart, model canoe, carving tools, dekenin- bounding stone, and Kein nono- bounding stick are included. These tools were selected because they were used to meet the basic human needs of food, shelter and clothing. The collection highlights the benefits and impact of these tools to the people of the Marshall Islands.

GAX – the Guam Art Exhibit
The Guam Art Exhibit was initially formed by a small independent collective of artists to fill a hole in the art community. They felt that they had no open avenue for proper representation. Each year the collective artists hold a show, with each attempt growing, expanding its scope, and fostering relationships between Guam local artists. In 2017, GAX celebrated the 10th major showing with a collaboration between Pow Wow Hawai'i artists to create Pow Wow Guam. This show led to a street art block party, exhibit opening, and collaboration between local and internationally renowned artists to showcase visual art, street art, culture, and diversity. The digital collection includes video and audio interviews of GAX artists and photographs of street and cultural art, paintings, drawings, and sculptures.