Research Guides: Public Health Research Guide: Articles & Databases

OneSearch Mānoa

OneSearch searches almost everything in UHM Library's collection. It searches through multiple databases and the library catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Guides for Searching Databases

Getting the Most Out of CINAHL
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated Jun 26, 2024 2166 views this year
Getting the Most out of PubMed Medline
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated May 13, 2024 10805 views this year
Getting the Most Out of Web of Science
by SciTech Reference Last Updated Aug 25, 2022 290 views this year
Boolean Operators
by SciTech Reference Last Updated Aug 25, 2022 7137 views this year

Finding Journals

When you have a citation to a specific article and need to determine if the library has access to the journal in which it is published, search for the journal name.

Start with:

Journals
Browse or search through UHM Library's large collection of journals

If UH Manoa Library does not own the title or provide access to the article that you need, please consider requesting the item via Interlibrary Loan service.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Information about the service
ILLiad Request System
Login to submit a request

Databases Relevant to Public Health

Listed here are several databases relevant to public health and health sciences research. Curious about other databases? Browse the SciTech Reference Department's list of selected databases used for the sciences and technology.

PubMed Medline
Provides free access to citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view the citations with UHM links, select "Abstract" from the "Format" drop-down menu.
CINAHL with Full Text
Full text for more than 580 journals indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Alt-HealthWatch Alt-HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports, proceedings as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt-HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
NOTE: Only 1 user allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides nearly 540 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Web of Science Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.

These interdisciplinary databases contain journals and articles related to the health sciences:

Academic Search Complete Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Google Scholar
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
PsycINFO (via APA PsycNET) Provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles, chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.