Research Guides: Public Health Research Guide: Web Resources

Public Health Organizations

CDC Public Health Image Library
CDC Public Health Image Library provides photos, illustrations, and videos for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
National Library of Medicine
Houses one of the world's largest history of medicine collections. NLM collects, preserves, and makes available to researchers and the public, print and non-print materials that document public health, history of medicine, and disease in all time periods and cultures.

Selected Databases

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI) HPJI is searchable in OneSearch. To search, click the link above, replace the "Hawaii" with your keywords, and then click "Search." HPJI is a citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.
Honolulu Star-Advertiser Database Search the full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 6, 2010 - present), the Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010) and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar. 18, 1996-June 6, 2010). NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.