This concise version of the acclaimed Oxford Companion to the Theatre covers theatre worldwide and throughout the ages. It contains entries on theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, and directors, theatres, festivals, lighting, sound, and method acting.
An up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more. The book covers not only classic works (such as Death of a Salesman) but also many commercially successful plays (such as Getting Gertie's Garter), plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced our dramatic development (from Shakespeare to Beckett and Pinter).
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number. Essential information on 1,000 well-known plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; plot summary, and brief commentary. Around 80 major plays are treated in detail, Genres covered include: burlesque, comedy, farce, historical drama, kabuki, masque, melodrama, morality play, mystery play.
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number. Authoritative information about theatre and performance from ancient Greece to the present. Takes an international approach to theatre, with in-depth coverage of non-Western genres, styles, performers, and theatrical centres. Puts performance at the heart of theatre studies, including biographies of performers, acting, and scenography. Includes as circus, pantomime, and performance art.
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number. An "encyclopedia of nations and their theatres" that documents the artistic output and cultural resources of nearly every nation in the world. Six volumes--Europe, the Americas, Africa, the Arab world, Asia/Oceania, Bibliography/Cumulative Index.