Theatre Research Guide

Lighting Journal

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Explore gender through a vast body of British source material from the fifteenth to early twentieth century. Through correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents, traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions of these can be explored. This is an interdisciplinary resource that will enrich the teaching and research of gender, history, sociology, education and literature.

Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

• Costume Designers Guild The COSTUME DESIGNERS GUILD aspires to raise the stature of the Costume Design profession within the entertainment community commensurate with the incalculable contribution Costume Designers make to each motion picture, television, or commercial, illuminating the characters with accuracy and integrity, thereby enhancing the story.
• The Costume Institute The Costume Institute's collection of more than 35,000 costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
• Costume Institute Collections Texts and images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
• Daphne Dare Collection This collection of The Ohio State University Libraries' Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute includes costume and scene designs from more than fifty productions by British designer Daphne Dare (1929-2000). Dare designed for major theatres on both sides of the Atlantic as well as for television and film.
• europeana fashion The Europeana Fashion International Association is a non-profit organisation established in order to bring together and engage fashion institutions (both GLAMs - Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums- and creative industries) in the valorisation and exploitation of fashion heritage online.
• Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is a valuable source of documentation on the history of theatre. It is a rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
• The Paris Music Hall Collection comprises over 6,000 original renderings of costume designs and 1,000 original renderings of curtain designs for the music halls of Paris from 1920-