Research Guides: Urban and Regional Planning Research Guide: Home

Urban and Regional Planning Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. The Hamilton Library Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers architecture from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have significant amounts of material on the urban and regional planning of those geographic areas. The collection reflects the focus of the Urban and Regional Planning Department, emphasizing the United States, Asia and the Pacific . The department's interests result in heavy use of the following subjects and collections: architecture; Government Documents; economics; engineering; American, Asian, Hawaiian, and Pacific studies; and sociology.

Related Subjects

Selected research guides for disciplines related to architecture research.

Urban and Regional Planning Research Guide

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in urban and regional planning. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for urban and regional planning research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, OneSearch Manoa, or the librarians at the main reference desk.

Find BOOKS

Find JOURNAL ARTICLES

Art & Architecture Complete Comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. Designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is "the nation's most comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture." It provides citations to articles on the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design and city planning. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Quick REFERENCE

Landscape Architect's Pocket Book This third edition of the bestselling Landscape Architect's Pocket Book, written by leading practitioners, incorporates updates and revisions to environmental and building regulations, contracts, and a range of design guidelines including materials, SUDs, environmental impact, and landscape character assessment. The book is an indispensable tool for all landscape architects, providing a time-saving guide and first point of reference to everyday topics, both out on site and in the office. The pocket book covers all major subjects, including hard and soft landscaping, national guidelines and standards, and key planning policy and legislation. Providing concise, easy to read reference material, useful calculations, and instant access to a wide range of topics, it is an essential resource for landscape architects, construction industry professionals, and students.
The Routledge Handbook of Landscape Ecology The Handbook provides a supporting guide to key aspects and applications of landscape ecology to underpin its research and teaching. A wide range of contributions written by expert researchers in the field summarize the latest knowledge on landscape ecology theory and concepts, landscape processes, methods and tools, and emerging frontiers. An invaluable guide to the concepts, methods and applications of landscape ecology, this book will be an important reference text for a wide range of students and academics in ecology, geography, biology, and interdisciplinary environmental studies.

Subject Liaison

David Brier

Contact:

Office: 808-956-2746

Fax: 808-956-5968

Email:daveb@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Library

2550 McCarthy Mall

Honolulu HI 96822

Subjects: Anthropology, Architecture, Communication, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Geography, Journalism, Law, Peace Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology, Urban & Regional Planning, Women's Studies