University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Digital Collections and Repository Program (D-CARP): Related Services

Document Delivery/ILL

The purpose of Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is to obtain research materials NOT available at the UH Manoa Libraries.

The University of Hawaii at Manoa’s ILLiad request system is used to request items that are not owned (or lost) in the UH Library system for the purpose of academic research, teaching, or studies. The service is available to University of Hawaii at Manoa faculty, students and staff. The ILL Department will locate the items at other universities and libraries for you. Items are generally provided free of charge. Copyright restrictions may apply.

Please contact us at ILL with any questions: libill@hawaii.edu or 956-8568.

https://illiad.manoa.hawaii.edu/login/

External Services

External Services Program (ESP) of the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library serves individuals and organizations that are not affilliated with the University of Hawaii by providing rapid access to the Library's collections.

ESP charges fees on a cost-recovery basis for:
    * Document delivery
    * Photographic/Imaging services
    * Media duplication/Reformatting services

Phone/Voicemail: 808-956-5956
Toll Free: 866-703-6786
Fax: 808-956-7109
Email: esp@hawaii.edu

Manoa MAGIS (Maps, Aerial Photographs, GIS)

MAGIS serves the geospatial needs of UH-Manoa providing large format scanning, printing and copying subject to staffing availability and considerations of copyright and fair use.  For more information about the service, go to http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/magis.

General questions: mapcoll at hawaii dot edu
Maps: mabel at hawaii dot edu; (808) 956-2551
Aerial Photography: nargis at hawaii dot edu; (808) 956-0833
Geographic Information Systems: nargis at hawaii dot edu; (808) 956-0833

Sinclair Library's Video Reformatting Project

Since March 2009, Sinclair Library has been digitizing many of its older videos, focusing on those in the Hawaiian and Pacific collections. Digitized videos are now available online via links in the Voyager catalog. A UH username and password are necessary for accessing the videos. See http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/content.php?pid=187585&sid=1574730 for more information

Sinclair Library Hawaiian Music Digitization

In 2002, the library acquired the Hawaiian music collection of Dirk Vogel who had been collecting Hawaiian music since the 1920s. The collection contains 6,000 78s, 2,650 LPs, 900 45s and thousands of other items. Also in 2002, the Library received a bequest of 2,533 Hawaiian music recordings from the estate of James Grant Cathro of Glasgow, Scotland, who died in 1999. The collection contains 2,056 phonodiscs (33-1/3, 45 and 78 RPM speeds); 236 cassettes and various other recordings.
The site http://digicoll.manoa.hawaii.edu/music/ is intended to show the possibilities for presenting sound, sheet music, images, and text of lyrics in an online searchable database.