Skip to Main Content

Philippines: Food by Region

Identity, Philippine History, Culture and Connections, Filipinos in Hawaii and the U.S., Philippines in an interconnected world and Community Engagement and Civic Action

Food from the Island of Luzon

Filipino Food by Region: Luzon

 

This box contains the following bibliographies from the places listed below. Scroll down for the islands of the Visayas and Mindanao. 

Ilocos 

Manila 

Pampanga 

Batanes 

Baguio City 

Bicol 

 

Ilocos

Print

  1. Savellano, D., Sison, H., & Oshima, N. (2016). Naimas!: the food heritage of Ilocos Sur. Sanicua Publication. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9948550444605682 

Location:  Asia GT2853.P45 S26 2015 

  1. Sayaboc, L. (1976). Comparative input, output and financial data for palay, corn, mongo, Virginia tobacco and cotton, Ilocos region, 1976. Special Studies Division, Office of Planning Service, Office of the Secretary, Dept. of Agriculture. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma998510204605682 

Location: Asia HD9016.P53 I46 

  1. Fernando, G., & Baldemor, M. (1992). Philippine food & life : Luzon . Anvil Pub. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9918558044605682 

Location: Asia GT2853.P6 C67 1992 

  1. Everyday foods (Draft.). (1983). The Project. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma999410294605682 

Location: Hawaiian (Library Use Only) TX724.5.P5 E84 1983 

 

Databases/Scholarly Articles

  1. Nexis Uni

From Baguio to Ilocos: Where to find really good food. (2020, October 29). Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:615Y-4491-F00C-64Y4-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni

Alegre, E. (2004, February 24). Pinoy na Pinoy; Following the pakbet trail (Paradigm for internal cultural borrowing). BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4BSF-9B90-00JS-93H4-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni

Alegre, E. (1999, January 13). Pinoy na Pinoy; Our national culture. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3W4N-JHB0-00JS-94M1-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni

An Ilokano’s notes on fancy dining. (2019, February 1). The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5VB8-82F1-JCH9-G0WV-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni

Alegre, E. (2000, May 31). Pinoy na Pinoy; The shaping of a palate. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:40CK-7C20-00JS-922C-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni

Alegre, E. (2008, July 8). Pinoy na Pinoy; Food thoughts. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4SXW-GCD0-TX4W-20KN-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni 

Poblete, J. (2009, October 22). A tinge of salt, a dash of the bitter. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:7WXB-JC30-Y9NT-B009-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni

Alegre, E. (1998, June 10). After so many shared memories, what? BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3W4N-DB80-00JS-919H-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. Nexis Uni

Batad’s “pinayt,” “inasinan,” “alamang’-’bagoong” gets spotlight in Doreen Gamboa Fernandez Food Writing Award for 2017. . (2018, March 15). Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5RWD-WSF1-F00C-654M-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. ABI/INFORM Global

Taking a food tour of ilocos. (2004). BusinessWorld, , 1. Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/trade-journals/taking-food-tour-ilocos/docview/233729029/se-2?accountid=27140 

  1. ABI/INFORM Global

Philippines: 3-day exhibit to showcase innovative ilokano products in paoay. (2020, Nov 25). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-3-day-exhibit-showcase-innovative/docview/2463680544/se-2?accountid=27140 

  1. ABI/INFORM GLOBAL

Cordero-Fernando, G. (2011, Sep 25). An incomplete list of filipino food terms. McClatchy - Tribune Business News Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/wire-feeds/incomplete-list-filipino-food-terms/docview/893936149/se-2?accountid=27140 

  1. ABI/INFORM Global

Dy-Zulueta, D. (2016, Oct 08). The flavors of ilocos sur. Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/flavors-ilocos-sur/docview/1827429637/se-2?accountid=27140 

  1. ABI/INFORM Global

Poblete, J. D. (2009). Secret behind bagnet. BusinessWorld, Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/trade-journals/secret-behind-bagnet/docview/233533410/se-2?accountid=27140 

  1. ABI/INFORM Global

Extenders, Ilocano style. (2020, December 19). Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61K0-9P61-F00C-63FM-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  1. ABI/INFORM Global

Seaweeds are not only for eating. (2019, Mar 14). Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/seaweeds-are-not-only-eating/docview/2191289252/se-2?accountid=27140 


Manila

Print

  1. De Guzman, V., & Puyat, N. (1990). The Philippine cookbook. Bookmark. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9918844054605682 

Location: Asia TX724.5.P5 D4 1990 

  1. The Manila cook book (3rd ed.). (1919). Philippine education co. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma996722154605682 

Location: Main TX724.5.P6 M35 1919 

  1. Trinidad, C. (2008). Nostalgia . UST Pub. House. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9931797044605682 

Location: Asia TX910.P5 T75 2008 

 

Databases/Scholarly Articles

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. Ui-Hoon, C. (2016, Feb 27). Food frenzy in manila. The Business Times Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/food-frenzy-manila/docview/1768348109/se-2?accountid=27140 

JSTOR

  1. De Leon, A. (2016). Siopao and Power: The Place of Pork Buns in Manila’s Chinese History. Gastronomica, 16(2), 45-54. doi:10.2307/26362345 https://www.jstor.org/stable/26362345 

  2. Elias, M. (2014). The Palate of Power: Americans, Food and the Philippines after the Spanish-American War. Material Culture, 46(1), 44-57. Retrieved February 2, 2021, from http://www.jstor.org/stable/24397643 

Nexis Uni

  1. Jill Sara , Manila - The Next Great Food City?. (August 16, 2019 Friday). Manila - The Next Great Food City?; New generation Filipino chefs are putting their cuisine on the world dining map. The Business Times Singapore. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WTR-1KK1-JCF2-8335-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. By LIGAYA MISHAN. (July 31, 2019 Wednesday). Her Great Mission: Champion A Cuisine. The New York Times. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WPG-2C51-JBG3-60KK-00000-00&context=1516831.

    1. Does not explicitly mention Manila, included as Dr. Belinda Aquino commented on the legacy of Doreen Fernandez for Filipino cuisine. 

  3. Johanna D. Poblete. (September 18, 2008 Thursday). Corn and chili. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4TG7-F3X0-TX4W-215P-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Zambales

Print

  1. Besa, A., & Dorotan, R. (2006). Memories of Philippine kitchens : stories and recipes from far and near . Stewart, Tabori & Chang. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9928815424605682 

Location: Asia TX724.5.P5 B45 2006 

Database/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni

  1. (March 23, 2018 Friday). Cultural heritage. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5RY4-N671-JCH9-G0RS-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (September 15, 2018 Saturday). Eastwood Café + Bar: Cozy, Chic and Chill. Business Mirror (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5T8F-JMH1-JCH9-G1N2-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (April 28, 2017 Friday). Nobu Goes Filipino. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5NDS-90M1-F00C-6443-00000-00&context=1516831. 

JSTOR

  1. Eugénie de Rosier. (2018). Mardi Gras at the Mango Festival. The Antioch Review, 76(1), 46-54. Retrieved February 2, 2021, from https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.7723/antiochreview.76.1.0046 


Pampanga 

Print

  1. Besa, A., & Dorotan, R. (2006). Memories of Philippine kitchens : stories and recipes from far and near . Stewart, Tabori & Chang.  https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9928815424605682 

Location: Asia TX724.5.P5 B45 2006 

Database/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni

  1. (July 21, 2019 Sunday). Chef Claude Tayag's other persona. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WMJ-J8J1-F00C-638F-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (May 13, 1999, Thursday). Pampanga marks May with food fests, classes, contests. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3WG1-BHM0-00JS-9111-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. Anne Spiselman. (January 29, 1999, Friday, Cook/DuPage/Fox Valley/Lake). Pampanga's Cuisine will satisfy cravings for authentic Filipino fare. Chicago Daily Herald. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3VPB-8750-007M-43C9-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (February 14, 2019 Thursday). Loving 'tamales' in Pampanga. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5VF3-9641-JCH9-G42C-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (August 13, 2020 Thursday). Begucan 'babi,' duck confit and a feast of quarantine takeout food, from QC to Pampanga. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:60KN-W1R1-F00C-62NV-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (December 21, 2014 Sunday). Meeting Pampanga's queen of heirloom recipes and making the trek to Mt. Pinatubo. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5DWT-F341-JCH9-G4XN-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  7. (July 11, 2015 Saturday). Authentic Capampangan cuisine. Business Mirror (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5GF2-5GS1-F0FB-T2G0-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  8. (November 17, 2019 Sunday). Grandmas enrich food reputation of Pampanga. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XJ3-VBR1-F00C-6179-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Batanes

Database/Scholarly Articles

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. A wedding experience in Batanes. (2015, Jun 14). Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/wedding-experience-batanes/docview/1687993837/se-2?accountid=27140 

Nexis Uni

  1. (December 8, 2016 Thursday). 'Not a food book'-but this Batanes tome is that and more. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5MBX-8JT1-JCH9-G1YJ-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (June 5, 2017 Monday). A sumptuous book on Batanes' modest food culture. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5NR6-X4F1-JCH9-G0NV-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (July 7, 2013 Sunday). Batanes, 'Edilberto Alegre. (May 13, 1998, Wednesday). Getting to know Batanes. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3W4N-D9F0-00JS-94G6-00000-00&context=1516831. e of the winds,' beckons local and foreign tourists. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:58VR-HHX1-F12F-F09T-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (June 25, 2013 Tuesday). Batanes to mark 230th foundation day the Ivatan way. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:58RP-SSX1-JDKC-R30P-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. Camille Anne M. Arcilla. (March 22, 2017 Wednesday). Three-day Performatura festival focuses on Philippine literature. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5N4S-NYV1-JCBG-S0H5-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (June 22, 2015 Monday). Ivatan festival celebrated June 21 to 26. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5G8K-8701-JDKC-R36F-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  7. Jerry M. Hernandez. (January 27, 2021 Wednesday). Ivatan Beer from Batanes, anyone?. The Manila Times. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61VR-GPY1-JCSF-S07H-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  8. Bernardo V. Lopez. (March 14, 2002, Thursday). Upshot; Ivatan water wisdom. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:45BM-13J0-00JS-930G-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Baguio City 

Database/Scholarly Articles

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. Philippines: Dayaw festival luzon leg opens in baguio city. (2014, Oct 24). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-dayaw-festival-luzon-leg-opens-baguio/docview/1615290793/se-2?accountid=27140 

Nexis Uni

  1. (April 5, 2015 Sunday). Travelers look forward to heavenly food in Baguio. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5FP5-YC41-F0FB-T2D7-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (March 18, 2017 Saturday). Any excuse is reason enough for me to head up to Baguio. Being one, if not my favorite, place anywhere, taking a leisurely drive up to the summer capital is always a treat.. Business Mirror (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5N44-X2M1-F00C-61PP-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (March 29, 2015 Sunday). This holy week, travelers may look to heavenly food in Baguio. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5FMX-6JS1-JD09-33T9-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. Giselle P. Kasilag. (February 27, 1998, Friday). Baguio City in full bloom. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3W4N-D7N0-00JS-942B-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (November 29, 2018 Thursday). 'Pinikpikan,' smoky 'kinuday' and other exotic flavors en route to Baguio. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5TVN-HD71-JCH9-G3SD-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Bicol

Print

  1. General, H. (1994). The coconut cookery of Bicol. Bookmark. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9917351424605682 

Location: Asia TX725 .P6 G36 1994 

  1. Polistico, E., & Jazmines, A. (2016). Philippine food, cooking, & dining dictionary. Published and exclusively distributed by Anvil Publishing, Inc. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9946341504605682 

Location:  Asia TX349 .P64 2016 

  1. Includes dishes from Cebu and Tausug as well

  1. Bicol Regional Carnival and Exposition souvenir handbook : Naga City, Sept. 13-22, 1957. (1957).  https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma998537814605682 

Location: Asia Folio GT4281 .B53 

Database/Scholarly Articles

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. Philippines: DOT-bicol to showcase local cuisine in food-travel fest. (2018, Oct 15). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-dot-bicol-showcase-local-cuisine-food/docview/2119506163/se-2?accountid=27140 

  2. Cuisine, culture and countryside. (2018, Jul 15). Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/cuisine-culture-countryside/docview/2070099414/se-2?accountid=27140 

  3. Layug, B. (2015, May 27). High on albay. Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/high-on-albay/docview/1683571581/se-2?accountid=27140 

Nexis Uni

  1. Johanna D. Poblete. (May 8, 2008 Thursday). Chilicious. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4SFW-GCC0-TX4W-217V-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (September 6, 2005, Tuesday). Region V gears up for annual Gayon Bicol festivities. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4H1W-10N0-00JS-90PC-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. Supetran, B. L. (2015, Sep 12). Spice and everything nice in albay. Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/spice-everything-nice-albay/docview/1711711220/se-2?accountid=27140 

  4. (August 18, 2019 Sunday). Bicol, Que Rica!. Business Mirror (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WVH-RGK1-JCH9-G4G6-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. Camille Erika R. Sarte. (June 20, 2013 Thursday). Beyond chillies (Bicol food fest features flavors other than spicy hot). BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:58PD-S3R1-DYTJ-G009-00000-00&context=1516831. 


 

Food from the islands of the Visayas

Filipino food by Region: Visayas

This box contains the following bibliographies from the places listed below. Scroll down for the island of Mindanao. 

Negros Occidental 

Cebu 

Bacolod 

Roxas City 

Iloilo City 

Leyte 

 

Negros Occidental

Databases/Scholarly Articles

Nexics Uni

  1. (January 28, 2021 Thursday). Dining In/Out. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61W1-SG91-DYTJ-G3YM-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (April 23, 2017 Sunday). Best of Negros Occidental in Panaad. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5ND1-TFG1-F00C-62C0-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (June 12, 2020 Friday). Casa A. Gamboa: The Negros ancestral house with a culinary pedigree. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:6047-NNG1-F00C-60YY-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. Jacqueline Chio-Lauri. (May 1, 2019 Wednesday). 'The New Filipino Kitchen' cookbook: Recipes from shrimp and vegetable stew to bitter melon omelette; As a complex cuisine that's still gaining traction around the world, the cuisine otherwise known as Pinoy food is all about salty meat, rich seafood flavours and hearty stews. The Independent (United Kingdom). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5W29-NWY1-F021-6028-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (July 22, 2019 Monday). Bacolod's first-ever rum festival to highlight Negrense cuisine. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WMH-4H11-F12F-F2VT-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Cebu

Print

  1. Alix, L., Rebayla, G., & Alix, R. (2013). Hikay : the culinary heritage of Cebu . University of San Carlos Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9951063858405682 

Location: Asia TX724.5.P5 A45 2013 

 

Databases/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni

  1. (April 30, 2019 Tuesday). 'Borders on poverty porn': Erik Matti slams Netflix series 'Street Food'. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5W0W-0M61-F00C-61DC-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (January 4, 2018 Thursday). 'Ngohiong,' 'mariscos,' 'lechon' belly-authentic Cebuano cooking in QC. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5RBN-P0B1-F00C-6441-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. Johanna D. Poblete. (January 21, 2010 Thursday). Leveling up Cebuano fare. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:7XKR-VW71-2R6R-M4F9-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (April 30, 2019 Tuesday). WATCH: Where is the best lechon in Cebu?. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5W0W-0M61-F00C-61DT-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (April 26, 2019 Friday). 'Never been featured': How Cebu was handpicked for Netflix's 'Street Food' series. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5VYY-N8M1-JCH9-G2WR-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (April 29, 2019 Monday). Who's who: Cebuano chefs featured in 'Street Food'. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5W0N-18G1-F00C-6346-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  7. (January 19, 2021 Tuesday). How to enjoy Sinulog, Dinagyang festivals 2021 at home. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61T6-VVJ1-F00C-62YJ-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  8. Edilberto Alegre. (June 10, 2008 Tuesday). PINOY NA PINOY; My Cebu - 2. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4SPX-BV60-TX4W-20J7-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  9. Edilberto Alegre. (June 10, 2008 Tuesday). PINOY NA PINOY; My Cebu - 2. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4SPX-C000-TX4W-210F-00000-00&context=1516831.

  10. (May 23, 2015 Saturday). Cebu food: When flavors meet humility. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5G2V-1BC1-F0FB-T1MH-00000-00&context=1516831.  

Bacolod

Databases/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni

  1. (July 24, 2019 Wednesday). Bacolod holds 1st rum festival. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WN0-CPT1-F12F-F0WM-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. Ted Lerner. (September 15, 1998, Tuesday). Hey, Joe; A brief taste of Bacolod. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3W95-J0S0-00JS-91ST-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (June 14, 2018 Thursday). Guide to Bacolod eats-from steamed oyster mushrooms in banana leaves to squid fat, Korean beef ribs. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5SKP-50B1-F00C-636H-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (October 8, 2018 Monday). Bacolod basks in celebration of MassKara Festival. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5TFP-SYM1-F12F-F3V3-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (September 27, 2018 Thursday). Bacolod City unveils 2018 MassKara Festival logo, theme. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5TC1-FXM1-F12F-F0JN-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (May 6, 2018 Sunday). Bacolod festival showcases 'original, best' chicken. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5S89-C251-F12F-F2BP-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  7. (November 9, 2017 Thursday). Bacolod showcases Fil-Indian culture thru Diwali Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5PXH-NNC1-F12F-F1H6-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  8. (August 18, 2014 Monday). Bacolod mayor promises better Korean festival next year. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5CXX-3C21-JDKC-R4SS-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  9. (January 26, 2017 Thursday). Bacolod City police intensifies security alert for 3-day BacoLaodiat Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5MRB-VVT1-JDKC-R0JB-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Roxas City

Databases/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni

  1. (December 22, 2019 Sunday). ADD SALT TO TASTE. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XVP-YP31-JDKC-R0KD-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (December 7, 2019 Saturday). DOT's Kain Na! promotes W. Visayan cuisine. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XP0-XCH1-JDKC-R12S-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. Michelle Anne P. Soliman. (April 4, 2019 Thursday). Nat’l fest celebrates Pinoy cuisine. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5VT7-47F1-JCBG-S1N7-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (December 6, 2020 Sunday). Cardinal Advincula to officiate pontifical mass for Sinadya Festival. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61FT-9CH1-JDKC-R0VD-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (April 21, 2017 Friday). Capiztahan Festival kicks off today. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5NC7-DM71-F12F-F01D-00000-00&context=1516831. 

 

Iloilo City 

Print

  1. Posadas, B., Ty, N., & Seraspe, E. (1985). Fish consumption in Iloilo : a consumer profile and behavior study . College of Arts and Sciences, University of the Philippines in the Visayas. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9936528434605682 

Location: Asia TX385 .P67 1985 

  1. Barth, G. (1983). Street foods : informal sector food preparation and marketing . Equity Policy Center. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9910546484605682 

Location: Asia HD9016.P52 B37 1983 

Ebook

  1. Tinker, I. (1998). Street foods : urban food and employment in developing countries . Oxford University Press https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9910848999805681 

 

Databases/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni

  1. Johanna D. Poblete. (September 24, 2009 Thursday). Mainstreaming Iloilo cuisine. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:7WPC-FBR0-Y9NT-B0GV-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. Teresa Defensor. (January 22, 2004, Thursday). Promoting Ilonggo cuisine in Manila. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4BHD-8C70-00JS-90HP-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (January 24, 2021 Sunday). Dinagyang Festival held 'virtually' for first time. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61VG-MHK1-F00C-604T-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (January 19, 2021 Tuesday). How to enjoy Sinulog, Dinagyang festivals 2021 at home. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61T6-VVJ1-F00C-62YJ-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (August 25, 2019 Sunday). Street Eats And Iloilo. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WWT-Y9H1-F12F-F411-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (May 24, 2015 Sunday). Full and fulfilled in Iloilo. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5G2S-CPH1-F0FB-T1N6-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  7. (January 28, 2021 Thursday). Dining In/Out. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:61W1-SG91-DYTJ-G3YM-00000-00&context=1516831.

  8. (January 22, 2016 Friday). Dinagyang food fest offers authentic Ilonggo cuisine. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5HX8-B8N1-JDKC-R51M-00000-00&context=1516831.

  9. (January 31, 2019 Thursday). The Dinagyang rendezvous. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5V9W-FR31-F12F-F3GB-00000-00&context=1516831.

  10. (December 15, 2019 Sunday). Western Visayas cuisine highlighted in Iloilo leg of DOT's 'Kain Na!'. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XRR-10J1-F12F-F46V-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  11. (December 7, 2019 Saturday). DOT promotes Panay's farm, culinary tourism. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XNY-F8N1-JDKC-R1K4-00000-00&context=1516831.

  12. (August 19, 2019 Monday). Wanderlust | Namit Gid!. Mindanao Times (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WVH-RGM1-JCH9-G0T7-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  13. (April 25, 2016 Monday). DOT proposes street food jamboree in Western Visayas. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5JMF-87F1-JDKC-R3M3-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Leyte

Database/Scholarly Articles

  1. Edilberto Alegre. (March 15, 2001, Thursday). Pinoy na Pinoy; Getting to know Waray culture via their cuisine. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:42K0-J9N0-00JS-91MN-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. Edilberto Alegre. (January 24, 2001, Wednesday). Pinoy na Pinoy; Polysemy, cuisine, genetics: Our rich antiqueness. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:426B-FGM0-00JS-932H-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (November 27, 2019 Wednesday). Philippines: Leyte town stages first culinary fest. Thai News Service. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XKN-1371-DXMS-8407-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. Edilberto Alegre. (August 12, 2003, Tuesday). Pinoy na Pinoy; The Tacloban food scene after 13 years - 2. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:498N-BCF0-00JS-92G1-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Food from the island of Mindanao

Filipino food by Region: Mindanao

 

Sulu 

Davao City 

Zamboanga 

Cagayan De Oro 

Cotabato City 

Marawi City 

 

Sulu 

Print

  1. Abdulla, N. (1989). The food & culture of the Tausug. CEU Research and Development Center, Centro Escolar University. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma995941274605682 

Location: Asia DS666.T33 A33 1989 

Databases/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni 

  1. (June 7, 2018 Thursday). Strange but wonderful Tausug chicken dish. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5SHB-FFF1-JCH9-G2MS-00000-00&context=1516831.

  2. Dureza, Jesus. (October 22, 2019 Tuesday). Cultural Potpourri | A Taste of Tausug Cuisine. Mindanao Times (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XBC-TTN1-JCH9-G22X-00000-00&context=1516831.

  3. Ma. Lourdes Veneracion-Rallonza, Phd. (March 8, 2016 Tuesday). BLUEBOARD; Tales from the `Margins:' A Tausug girl and Sulu coffee. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5J7Y-Y1P1-JCBG-S2VD-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (August 25, 2019 Sunday). A call to explore Muslim cuisine. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5WX5-9NB1-F00C-6131-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. Dureza, Jesus. (January 10, 2019 Thursday). Wanderlust: Cuisine from the people of the current. Mindanao Times (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5V5M-9271-F00C-6350-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (June 22, 2007 Friday). PORK-LESS CUISINE FROM THE SOUTH. Manila Times (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4P7M-FGC0-TXJV-24PX-00000-00&context=1516831.

Davao City

Database/Scholarly Articles

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. WSJ BLOG/SE asia real time: Food fridays: Crocodile's on the menu in davao city. (2012, Feb 09). Dow Jones Institutional News Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/wire-feeds/wsj-blog-se-asia-real-time-food-fridays/docview/2129077459/se-2?accountid=27140 

Nexis Uni

  1. (February 15, 2020 Saturday). Philippines : Showcasing Davao Cuisine. TendersInfo. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5Y6Y-BR21-F11P-X0D7-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. Maya M. Padillo. (July 18, 2014 Friday). WEEKENDER: Travel; Indigenous cuisines of Davao showcased in Singapore festival. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5CP3-PCG1-DYTJ-G1SG-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (September 30, 2019 Monday). Wanderlust | Davao cuisine shines at 2nd 'Kain Na! Food and Travel Fest. Mindanao Times (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5X5G-H9V1-F00C-6194-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (October 30, 2019 Wednesday). Refined Davao flavors in a beautiful, Historic Setting. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XD1-CJ51-JCH9-G1J2-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (October 30, 2019 Wednesday). Refined Davao flavors in a beautiful, Historic Setting. The Philippine Star. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XD1-CJ51-JCH9-G1J2-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (June 6, 2020 Saturday). Cultural Potpourri | Dusit Thani Davao's stimulating takeaway Thai Cuisine. Mindanao Times (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:6035-SNT1-JCH9-G19W-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  7. Raoul J. Chee Kee. (March 9, 2000, Thursday). Home cooking Davao-style. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:3YS6-N2T0-00JS-9191-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  8. (July 26, 2018 Thursday). Bamboo 'liurot,' 'takway na moro-moro,' and other tongue-twisting Davao flavors. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5SWT-2011-F00C-62NK-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  9. (October 29, 2020 Thursday). WANDERLUST | Davao del Sur to promote culinary tourism. Mindanao Times (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:615V-T1F1-F00C-62C1-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  10. Joseph Emmanuel L. Garcia. (August 20, 2020 Thursday). From Pinoy shaman’s cacao to Indian temple cuisine: Maximum Foodie explores Asia. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:60MK-03G1-JCBG-S00B-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  11. (February 21, 2018 Wednesday). Philippines: Davao gears up for Summer Festival 2018. Thai News Service. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5RP9-7FV1-DXMS-818G-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  12. (May 26, 2018 Saturday). Davao Norte gears up for 51st Kadagayaan Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5SDJ-39V1-JDKC-R14D-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  13. (April 9, 2015 Thursday). Visit Davao Fun Sale to feature 'Pomelo Festival'. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5FPS-MBV1-JDKC-R4P9-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  14. (September 10, 2014 Wednesday). Cacao industry leaders hold first Davao Chocolate Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5D3V-RFH1-JDKC-R38N-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  15. (December 31, 2013 Tuesday). All systems ready for Davao City's Torotot Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5B5V-SYV1-F12F-F1BY-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Zamboanga

Database/Scholarly Articles

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. Food fridays: Why Filipinos love this crabby 'cockroach' -- WSJ blog. (2014, Mar 13). Dow Jones Institutional News Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/wire-feeds/food-fridays-why-filipinos-love-this-crabby/docview/2080777783/se-2?accountid=27140 

  2. A taste of zamboanga at the mandarin. (1996). BusinessWorld, , 24. Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/trade-journals/taste-zamboanga-at-mandarin/docview/234035589/se-2?accountid=27140 

  3. Millennials dominate vibrant food scene in zamboanga. (2017, Apr 27). Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/millennials-dominate-vibrant-food-scene-zamboanga/docview/1892666682/se-2?accountid=27140 

  4. Philippines: Zamboanga city jail sets banana festival. (2018, Oct 01). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-zamboanga-city-jail-sets-banana/docview/2114353041/se-2?accountid=27140 

  5. Philippines: Virtual celebration set for zamboanga hermosa festival. (2020, Sep 28). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-virtual-celebration-set-zamboanga/docview/2446371293/se-2?accountid=27140

  6. Philippines: Zamboanga city gears for 'fiesta pilar' celebration. (2018, Sep 19). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-zamboanga-city-gears-fiesta-pilar/docview/2108436738/se-2?accountid=27140 

Nexis Uni

  1. Edilberto Alegre. (March 22, 2005, Tuesday). Pinoy na Pinoy; Resonances from a quotidian life: Washing dishes. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4FS1-S9D0-00JS-917F-00000-00&context=1516831.

  2. (October 9, 2003, Thursday). Sardine, tuna festival. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:49R1-F8C0-00JS-9242-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (November 28, 2019 Thursday). CDO fair shows off Mindanaoan cuisine. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XM0-5201-JCBG-S4FG-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Cagayan De Oro

Print

  1. Food map of region II (Cagayan Valley region). (1983). Regional Development Council, Region II. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9910261434605682 

Locations: Asia HD9016.P53 C346 1983 

  1. De la Cruz, R., & Magcase, T. (2017). Ballesteros on my mind : my hometown in the Philippines. Carayan Press. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9945559774605682 

Location:  Asia DS688.C3 D41 2016 

Database/Scholarly Articles 

Nexis Uni

  1. Ellen P. Red. (September 24, 2004, Friday). Cagayan de Oro holds food festival. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4DCW-7BN0-00JS-91H9-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. Erwin V. Li. (September 11, 2003, Thursday). Visitors feast during Cagayan de Oro culinary festival. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:49H2-8S40-00JS-94X0-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3.  Michael D. Banos. (April 26, 2007 Thursday). SLERS chicharon: Cagayan's new twist on an old favorite. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4NK8-8Y20-TX4W-22HP-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. Raoul J. Chee Kee. (March 15, 2001, Thursday). Food festival focuses on Northern cuisine. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:42K0-J9N0-00JS-91MJ-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. Johanna D. Poblete. (September 11, 2008 Thursday). Food Showdown: Round 2. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4TDR-MKR0-TX4W-2039-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. Johanna D. Poblete. (May 8, 2008 Thursday). Dining, CDO-style. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4SFW-GCC0-TX4W-217T-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  7. (December 15, 2019 Sunday). Western Visayas cuisine highlighted in Iloilo leg of DOT's 'Kain Na!'. Manila Bulletin. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XRR-10J1-F12F-F46V-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  8. Geefe P. Alba. (July 31, 2007 Tuesday). Foundation takes over Kagay-an Festival in Cagayan de Oro City. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4P9R-K1T0-TX4W-2419-00000-00&context=1516831. 

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. Philippines: 1K people share 'pancit batil patung' in cagayan food fest. (2019, Oct 02). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-1k-people-share-pancit-batil-patung/docview/2299488584/se-2?accountid=27140 

  2. Domingo, L. C. (2017, Sep 01). Cagayan valley peanut industry gets support. TCA Regional News Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/wire-feeds/cagayan-valley-peanut-industry-gets-support/docview/1934027866/se-2?accountid=27140 

  3. Chee Kee, R.,J. (2001). BUSINESSWORLD (PHILIPPINES): A bit of ostrich meat and mindanao cuisine. BusinessWorld, , 1. Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/trade-journals/businessworld-philippines-bit-ostrich-meat/docview/233878974/se-2?accountid=27140 

  4. Philippines: Native dishes highlight CEZA culinary fest in cagayan. (2019, Feb 28). Asia News Monitor Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/philippines-native-dishes-highlight-ceza-culinary/docview/2186605060/se-2?accountid=27140 

  5. Valdez, E. (2013, Mar 02). The bambanti festival: Unraveling the beauty and magic of isabela. McClatchy - Tribune Business News Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/wire-feeds/bambanti-festival-unraveling-beauty-magic-isabela/docview/1314006950/se-2?accountid=27140 

 

 

Cotabato City 

Databases/Scholarly Articles

Nexis Uni 

  1. (May 21, 2017 Sunday). Discovering the charms of South Cotabato. Business Mirror (Philippines). https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5NM1-3HV1-F00C-62B1-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. Edilberto Alegre. (January 24, 2001, Wednesday). Pinoy na Pinoy; Polysemy, cuisine, genetics: Our rich antiqueness. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:426B-FGM0-00JS-932H-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (August 27, 2018 Monday). N. Cotabato guv opens Kalivungan Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5T4C-J101-JDKC-R0YX-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (December 16, 2018 Sunday). Cotabato City starts week-long Shariff Kabunsuan Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5V02-9V91-F12F-F554-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (December 12, 2012 Wednesday). Prime crabs to highlight Cotabato's 14th Shariff Kabunsuan Festival. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5781-0911-JDKC-R14R-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  6. (July 13, 2016 Wednesday). S. Cotabato steps up crowd management, security measures at T'nalak fest. Philippines News Agency. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5K72-NJ31-JDKC-R25K-00000-00&context=1516831. 

Marawi City

Print

  1. Gania, Z. (1990). The art of Maranao cookery . University Research Center, Mindanao State University. https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/11uc19p/alma9916514234605682 

Database/Scholarly Articles 

ABI/INFORM Global

  1. Rebuilding marawi one dish at a time. (2018, Jan 24). Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/rebuilding-marawi-one-dish-at-time/docview/1990825153/se-2?accountid=27140 

  2. Alegre, E. (2001). BUSINESSWORLD (PHILIPPINES): Pinoy na pinoy: Polysemy, cuisine, genetics: Our rich antiqueness. BusinessWorld, , 1. Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/trade-journals/businessworld-philippines-pinoy-na-polysemy/docview/233894655/se-2?accountid=27140 

  3. Gunting, A. G. (2015, Jun 26). Culture, food, arts highlight muslim holy month in ARMM. Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/culture-food-arts-highlight-muslim-holy-month/docview/1691408266/se-2?accountid=27140 

  4. The maranao festival and the empowerment of muslim women. (2015, Apr 18). Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/maranao-festival-empowerment-muslim-women/docview/1674197278/se-2?accountid=27140 

  5. Hilotin, J. (2019, May 13). One dish, one wish: Muslim filipinos in the UAE mark ramadan. Gulf News Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/one-dish-wish-muslim-filipinos-uae-mark-ramadan/docview/2223799439/se-2?accountid=27140 

  6. NorthMin spells food and fun. (2019, Dec 05). Business Mirror Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/northmin-spells-food-fun/docview/2333692412/se-2?accountid=27140 

  7. Hilotin, J. B. (2018, Jun 03). Inside a filipino muslim home in UAE. Gulf News Retrieved from http://eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/newspapers/inside-filipino-muslim-home-uae/docview/2048888588/se-2?accountid=27140 

Nexis Uni

  1. Michael D. Banos. (January 25, 2007 Thursday). A whiff of Istanbul in Northern Mindanao. BusinessWorld. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:4MWW-0T90-TX4W-2226-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  2. (August 27, 2016 Saturday). Cool weather, rich culture and exquisite cuisine await you in Marawi. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5KK8-SXS1-JD09-30H6-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  3. (September 16, 2016 Friday). Philippines : 76th Marawi City Charter Day showcases Meranao culture. TendersInfo. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5KR5-JH41-JDJN-62T5-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  4. (December 14, 2017 Thursday). 'Fish pater'-and other delights of 'Moro' cooking. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5R61-PTF1-JCH9-G1KB-00000-00&context=1516831. 

  5. (January 9, 2020 Thursday). Books on food both old and new. Philippines Daily Inquirer. https://advance-lexis-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XY7-P4Y1-F00C-62G8-00000-00&context=1516831. 

UH Seal

An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Use of this site implies consent with our Usage Policy.

Terms of Use | UH System | UH Mānoa

Quick Links

© University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library