ONLINE - FILIPINA/X/O AMERICANS IN HAWAI'I FROM THE SAGE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF FILIPINA/X/O AMERICAN STUDIES, https://sk.sagepub.com/reference/the-sage-encyclopedia-of-filipinx-american-studies
Alcántara, R. R. (1981). Sakada: Filipino adaptation in Hawaii. University Press of America.
Alexander , W. D. (1892). The relations between the Hawaii-Islands and Spanish America in early times. Papers of the Hawaiian Historical Society , (No.1), 1–10.
Brown, P. A. (2014). Filipinas!: Voices from the daughters and descendants of Hawaii’s plantation era (1st ed.). CreateSpace Independent Publishing.
Cachola, E. (2020, February 29). Researching Census Information on Filipinos in
Hawai'i: 1850-2017. Retrieved from
https://library.law.hawaii.edu/2020/02/28/researching-census-information-on-filipin
os-in-hawaii-1850-2017 (This website no longer exists, but please consult the Family Search Database Hawaii, Naturalization Records, 1838-1991 that has digitized and created searchable metadata on naturalization records created during the Hawaiian Kingdom to the State of Hawaiʻi.)
Cariaga, R. R. (1936). The Filipinos in Hawaii: A survey of their economic and social conditions. R & E Research Associates (Reprint).
Clariza, E. Filipinos in Hawaii Resource Guide. Philippines Subject Guide, University of Hawaii. https://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/c.php?g=105238&p=687369
Compoc, K. (2019). Emergent allies: Filipinx in Hawai’i and contemporary visions of
decolonizaion [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Hawai’i.
Kerkvliet, M. T. (2002). Unbending cane: Pablo Manlapit, a Filipino labor leader in Hawai’i. Office of Multicultural Student Services, University of Hawai’i at Mānoa.
Labrador, R. N. (2015). Building Filipino Hawai’i. University of Illinois Press.
Manalo-Camp, A. K. (2019, August 26). Shared histories between Filipinos and Hawaiians. Honolulu Civil Beat. Retrieved February 9, 2023, from https://www.civilbeat.org/2019/08/filipino-experience-similar-to-that-of-kanaka-maoli/
Okamura, J. (2021). Filipino American ethnicity, education and diaspora in Hawai’i. http://hdl.handle.net/10125/76524
Peterson , A. (2014). Making the first global trade route: The Southeast Asian Foundation of the Acapulco-Manila Galleon Trade, 1519-1650 [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Hawai’i. https://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/server/api/core/bitstreams/53dde233-9831-4ffb-b9e5-4f808135af45/content (p. 259)
Teodoro, J. (1981). Out of this struggle: The Filipinos in Hawaii. University of Hawaii Press.
GENEOLOGICAL RECORDS OF FILIPINOS IN HAWAI'I
Researching Census Information on Filipinos in Hawai'i:1850-2017
By Ellen-Rae Cachola, Evening Supervisor and Archives Manager, University of Hawai'i Law Library
Filipinos have been immigrating to Hawai’i since the Hawaiian Kingdom into the present. Evidence of this can be found in databases that collected census information during the different Hawaiian government jurisdictions–the Constitutional Monarchy of the Hawaiian Kingdom (1840-1893), the Territory of Hawaiʻi (1900-1959) and the State of Hawaiʻi (1959-present). These databases could be used to research population statistics of other ethnic groups in Hawaiʻi.
The Family Search Database Hawaii, Naturalization Records, 1838-1991 has digitized and created searchable metadata on naturalization records created during the Hawaiian Kingdom to the State of Hawaiʻi. (Retrieved on 5-7-19 at https://manoa-hawaii.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=105238&p=687369.
Filipino Laborers Collection (https://lib.byu.edu/collections/filipino-laborers-collection/)
The Records of the Hawaii Sugar Planter’s Association at the Joseph F. Smith Library Archives and Special Collections include: approximately 100,000 labor records, passenger lists for vessels transporting workers between Honolulu and Manila, and a small collection of photographs from the Philippines. The collection was created and managed jointly by the Hawaii Sugar Planter’s Association and the U.S. Department of Labor to document and manage the labor contracts of Filipinos arriving as contract workers in Hawaiian sugar plantations between 1906 and 1949.
The card records contain information on contract workers and their dependents, including name, age, sex, date of arrival and/or departure, and plantation assignment. In addition, some cards contain fingerprint records, information regarding special conditions or changes in contract, and village or region of origin. A special “Dependents” class of card records contains information about spouses and children of contract workers, including dates and places of birth, and dates of arrival and/or departure. Passenger lists are arranged chronologically, tagged by month and vessel.
The collection is in the process of being completely digitized and accessible online, but portions of the collection that are currently complete are being made available as they are finished. The project is scheduled for completion in June 2012.
DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHS
Filipinos in Hawaii, 1926
"Photographs in Connection with the Investigation of Working Conditions of Filipino Laborers on Hawaiian Sugar Plantations, 1926," by Lt. Colonel Robert A. Duckworth-Ford, Aide-de-Camp to Governor-General of the Philippines Leonard Wood. This collection is from Alex Ford of California, grandson of Lt. Colonel Duckworth-Ford. Titles are taken from typed captions present on each photograph.
