Research Guides: New Nursing Student Orientation: Finding Information

Where can I start searching?

OneSearch searches almost everything in UHM Library's collection. It searches through multiple databases and the library catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

What if the item is not available in the library?

Sign in to OneSearch Manoa using your UH ID and password.
If the book is checked out use the How to Get > REQUEST: Physical Item link to recall the book to the library so that you can check it out.
If the book is held by another library in the UH system use the How to Get > Request any copy from other UH System Libraries link to request the book from another UH System library.
If the item isn't available through any of the UH libraries, request the book, book chapter, or article through Interlibrary Loan. Our Interlibrary Loan service will usually be able to get a copy for you from another library.

What if I need more information?

Consult the Nursing LibGuide to see a wide range of resources available to nursing students.

Where do I find journal articles for my assignment?

The two databases below are the best place to start your search for journal articles.

CINAHL with Full Text
Citations with abstracts for English language nursing and allied health journal articles, books and other publications.
Getting the Most Out of CINAHL with Full Text
PubMed Medline
Provides free access to citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view the citations with UHM links, select "Abstract" from the "Format" drop-down menu.

Where can I get help with searching for journal articles?

The resources below provide assistance with searching CINAHL and PubMed.

Getting the Most Out of CINAHL
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated Jun 26, 2024 2174 views this year
Getting the Most out of PubMed Medline
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated May 13, 2024 10846 views this year
Boolean Operators
by SciTech Reference Last Updated Aug 25, 2022 7155 views this year

I found citations and abstracts, but how do I get the articles?

Click on the button which will direct you to the following:

A page with a link to an electronic version of the article if it is available from UH Manoa Library
A page with a link to a request form to get the item through Interlibrary Loan if the article is not available

If you are using CINAHL, you can also use the or links. If those links are not available, click on the button.

If you do not have a button readily available (e.g., citation listed in a printed bibliography), click on the Journals on the Library's home page. You then can search for your specific journal.