Research Guides: Korea Collection Basic Reference Tools: Citation Guide

Important!

Word processors, certain databases, and online resources may offer automatic formatting tools for citations. However, these systems are NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE and often do not include all needed information. If you use these online tools, it is important to double check the accuracy of your citations, even those created by EndNote, against the official citation rules for that style. Know your style!

Related guides

EndNote (Desktop)
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated Oct 28, 2024 4018 views this year

Links to Tools - Citing and Referencing Sources

Use these tools to learn how to cite information sources in the bibliographic style required by your course or field of study. Note the section at the end for University of Hawaii thesis and dissertation students.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars. Includes common examples of materials cited in both styles. (The University of Chicago)
Citation Builder
Creates citations for you in APA (American Psychological Association), MLA (Modern Language Assocation), and Chicago CBE/CSE formats. (North Carolina State University Libraries and University of North Carolina University Libraries)
Citation Style Guide
A guide with useful information about citing sources. (American University Library)
EndNote
A guide to help you use EndNote to organize your research. EndNote allows you to organize bibliographic citations in your own EndNote Library, transfer references from on-line databases into your EndNote Library, and instantly build bibliographies for your papers. (UH Manoa Library)
Owl - Purdue Onine Writing Lab
Helps you learn how to conduct and use research and cite your sources using the APA, MLA, and Chicago Manual citation and format styles. (The Writing Lab & The OWL at Purdue and Purdue University)
Research & Documentation Online
This site helps you find and cite sources by offering: an extensive annotated list of specialized sources for more than 30 disciplines; guidelines for documenting print and online sources for MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE styles; sample papers with annotations in these styles; tips for evaluating print and online sources; a list of style manuals for a variety of disciplines; and a glossary of research terms. (Bedford/St. Martin's)
Son of Citation Machine
Designed to help students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Can be used to create a citation for various kinds of sources using the MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles. (David Warlick & The Landmark Project)
Turabian Quick Guide
Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two basic documentation systems, notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and parenthetical citations–reference list style (or reference list style). These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers. (The University of Chicago Press)
University of Hawai'i Style Guide
In general, preferred University of Hawai‘i style follows The Chicago Manual of Style. This style guide covers questions that are not addressed in standard references or where UH practice varies from the norm. The guidelines generally apply to all documents submitted to Creative Services, the publications office of External Affairs and University Relations. (University of Hawai‘i)
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources (books, articles, documents, etc.). Once you download the plug-in, it is integrated into the web browser itself. (Center for History and New Media)

UH Thesis and Dissertation Students
Thesis and Dissertation
Provides information for thesis and dissertation students, including a section on Style Policy. (Graduate Division, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
eTD (Electronic Thesis and Dissertation) Style & Policy Manual
Presents requirements for the format and style of a thesis or dissertation submitted in electronic format. (Graduate Division, University of Hawaii at Manoa)

Need Help?

Contact a librarian by email or phone.

Korea Collection Basic Reference Tools: Citation Guide

Important!

Related guides

Links to Tools - Citing and Referencing Sources

Need Help?

Hamilton Library