Research Guides: Business: Home: Ratios and Benchmarks

Industry Ratios and Benchmarks

eStatement Studies
eStatement Studies includes two classic RMA publications: Financial Ratios Benchmarks and the Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures. Data derived directly from financial statements. Covers more than 750 industries using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes.
BizMiner
BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
IBISWorld
UH Manoa Library subscription includes the Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, US Specialized Industry Reports, Global Industry Reports, and China Industry Reports. Identifies business operating risks and opportunities within 700 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level. U.S. reports are fully updated three times per year on average.

Mergent Online
Comprehensive global company database with custom reporting features. 15,000 U.S. public companies. 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations, representing 95% of the non-U.S. global market capitalization. Basic information on approximately 1 million global private companies, including up to four years of full financial information on over 400,000 firms. 20+ years of U.S. and International HSD Equity Pricing. Note: Only 12 users allowed at one time.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a source of business and investment information with extensive financials and analysis on more than 10,000 public companies. Basic data for 85,000 private companies. Includes industry surveys, stock reports, and more.

Open Mergent Online in a separate window.

Create your own custom ratio lists using Mergent Online.

Create a "Company Analysis List" of up to 500 companies.
In the "My Mergent Tools" menu (upper right corner), click on the Company Analysis List to open the report builder.
Select the "Company Comparison Report" link.
Move your selected companies over to the Company Comparison Report box on the right.
Report Type: "List by Item." (default)
Select Data Items. Expand the Ratios menu and move selected ratios to the Report Items box on the right.
Click the "Include Averages" checkbox.
Select appropriate years of reporting.
Select a format (HTML, PDF, Word, Excel) and click the "Create Report" button.

The report will provide the selected ratios for each individual company and "peer averages" in the column header.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Call Number: HF5343 .I64
Data source is financial statements in the D&B Financial Information Database. Includes data from "U.S. corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers." Current volume in reference; 25+ years of back issues are housed in the 2nd floor general collection.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Call Number: HF5681.B2 R6
Data sources are the commercial banking community and RMA (the association of lending and credit risk professionals). Over 500 lines of business with comparative historical data. 25+ years of back issues are housed in the 2nd floor general collection. Note: Current data via eStatement Studies.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: HF5681 .R25 T68
Ceased publication. Last edition in Hamilton Library is 2017. Data source is tax returns filed with the IRS. Fifty (50) performance indicators per industry. Approximately 180 lines of business. 2017 edition in reference collection; 30+ years of back issues are housed in the 2nd floor general collection.