Microbiology: Books

The Practical Handbook of Microbiology presents basic knowledge about working with microorganisms in a clear and concise form. It also provides in-depth information on important aspects of the field--from classical microbiology to genomics--in one easily accessible volume. This new edition retains the easy-to-use format of previous editions, with a logical presentation of frequently used reference data that enables readers to rapidly locate the information needed. New chapters have been included in this edition, including a noteworthy one on the business aspects of microbiology that has been added to address the needs of investors looking to understand the science behind companies that they are contemplating funding and scientists that are interested in commercializing their research. In addition, chapters have been added on new microorganism-based disease and pathogenic mechanisms. All chapters from the previous edition have been revised and updated. Major topics covered include almost all studied bacteria, and introductions to fungi, parasites, and viruses, as well as methods of culture collection, enumeration, and preservation of microorganisms, diagnostic medical microbiology, mechanisms of antimicrobial agents, and antibiotics and antifungal agents. Although this book will be of use to anyone interested in the subject matter, it will be of particular benefit to specialized microbiologists as well as those who simply use microbiology as an adjunct to their own discipline, in finding relevant information quickly and easily.

Written by the world's leading scientists and spanning over 400 articles in three volumes, the Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, Second Edition is a complete, highly structured guide to current knowledge in the field. Fully revised and updated, this encyclopedia reflects the key advances in the field since the first edition was published in 1999 The articles in this key work, heavily illustrated and fully revised since the first edition in 1999, highlight advances in areas such as genomics and food safety to bring users up-to-date on microorganisms in foods. Topics such as DNA sequencing and E. coli are particularly well covered. With lists of further reading to help users explore topics in depth, this resource will enrich scientists at every level in academia and industry, providing fundamental information as well as explaining state-of-the-art scientific discoveries.

Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields.

With more than 700 expert authors from 22 different countries, the Encyclopedia of Immunology, Second Edition is the largest comprehensive reference source of current immunological knowledge available. It provides a broad scope and high level of expertise to the many aspects of the field of immunology and related areas, including microbiology, virology, and parasitology. Arranged into 31 subject areas with extensive cross-referencing and subject indexes in each volume, the Encyclopedia is easy-to-use for virtually any researcher, regardless of his or her field. Concise definitions of the subject area also introduce each entry. The Second Edition includes timely and thorough updates for all articles from the First Edition, more than 60 new entries, a glossary of immunological terms in each volume, a total of 500 figures and tables, and new color plates sections.