Research Guides: Microbiology: Data

Data

Dryad
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.
Data Repositories
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
Search for Microbiology Data Repositories

AudioVisual

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
JoVE publishes videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe. UH Manoa has access to the following sections:
Video Journal: Cancer Research, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, Neuroscience
Science Education: Basic Biology, Clinical Skills

This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.

Databases - Historical and Regional

Bioline International
Bioline International is a not-for-profit electronic publishing service committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.
BI's goal of reducing the South to North knowledge gap is crucial to a global understanding of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases, epidemiology, emerging new diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development. With peer-reviewed journals from Brazil, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Kenya, South Africa, Uganda, Zimbabwe and more to come, BI provides a unique service by making bioscience information generated in these countries available to the international research community world-wide.
HathiTrust Digital Library
To access HathiTrust as a University of Hawaii student, faculty or staff member, click on the yellow Log In button to the right of the screen and search partner institution for University of Hawaii. You can then log in with your UH username and password if you have not yet logged in today before continuing to HathiTrust as a UH member.

HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all.
HathiTrust was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Page images of works in the public domain in HathiTrust are open to all researchers - whoever and wherever they may be.
Hawaii Newspaper Index
Index to the Honolulu Advertiser, the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, and the Honolulu Star-Advertiser from 1989 to present. The Index is a service of the Hawaii State Public Library System (HSPLS). The Hawaii Newspaper Index can be searched by subject or by keyword(s).
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
HPJI is searchable in OneSearch. To search, click the link above, replace the "Hawaii" with your keywords, and then click "Search."
HPJI is a citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL), the digitization component of the Encyclopedia of Life, is a consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity.
The European Commission’s eContentPlus program has recently funded the BHL-Europe project, with 28 institutions, to assemble the European language literature. In addition, negotiations are being pursued with the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Atlas of Living Australia and Brazil to join the BHL consortium. These projects will work together to share content, protocols, services, and digital preservation practices.Prior to digitization, the resources housed within each BHL institution have existed in isolation, available only to those with physical access to the collections. These collections are of exceptional value because the domain of systematic biology depends – more than any other science – upon historic literature. Consequently, the relative isolation of these collections presented an antiquated obstacle to further biodiversity investigation. This problem is particularly acute for the developing countries that are home to the majority of the world’s biodiversity.