Microbiology: Websites

ASM Promotes & Advances the Microbial Sciences. With over 30,000 members, including researchers, educators and health professionals, ASM is one of the largest life science societies in the world.

The Microbiology Society is a membership charity for scientists interested in microbes, their effects and their practical uses.
It is one of the largest microbiology societies in Europe with a worldwide membership based in universities, industry, hospitals, research institutes and schools.

CDC Health Information for International Travel (commonly called the Yellow Book) is published every two years as a reference for health professionals providing care to international travelers and is a useful resource for anyone interested in staying healthy abroad. The fully revised and updated CDC Yellow Book 2018 codifies the U.S. government's most current travel health guidelines, including pretravel vaccine recommendations, destination-specific health advice, and easy-to-reference maps, tables, and charts.

The 13th Edition Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, a.k.a. the “Pink Book,” provides physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and others with the most comprehensive information on routinely used vaccines and the diseases they prevent.

Six appendices contain a wealth of reference materials including: vaccine minimum ages and intervals, current and discontinued vaccines, vaccine contents, foreign vaccine terms, and more.

CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.

CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.

The Saccharomyces Genome Database (SGD) provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms.

Our knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice. This dream is becoming a reality through the Encyclopedia of Life.

The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

Each page contains information about a particular group, e.g., salamanders, segmented worms, phlox flowers, tyrannosaurs, euglenids, Heliconius butterflies, club fungi, or the vampire squid. ToL pages are linked one to another hierarchically, in the form of the evolutionary tree of life. Starting with the root of all Life on Earth and moving out along diverging branches to individual species, the structure of the ToL project thus illustrates the genetic connections between all living things.

Pathogen Safety Data Sheets (PSDSs) (previously titled Material Safety Data Sheets for infectious substances) are technical documents that describe the hazardous properties of a human pathogen and provide recommendations for work involving these agents in a laboratory setting. These documents have been produced by the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) as educational and information resources for laboratory personnel working with infectious substances.

This blog shares the excitement of unexpected and unusual stories of the microbial world.

It is difficult for students not familiar with the names of bacteria to pronounce them. This sound station contains links to sound files of these bacteria.

Discussions with researchers in the field of infectious diseases. microTalk is hosted by Karl Klose and colleagues from the South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases (STCEID).

TWiM is for everyone who wants to learn about the science of microbiology in a casual way.

Meet the Microbiologist is a podcast hosted by Julie Wolf, Ph.D., that showcases the people behind the scientific discoveries. Each guest introduces their research in one of the cutting-edge areas of the microbial sciences: genomics, antibiotic resistance, synthetic biology, emerging infectious diseases, microbial ecology, public health, probiotics, and more!

BacterioFiles, the podcast for microbe lovers, dedicated to promoting the exploration of the mostly-invisible world that is all around us.

If you want to learn about viruses in a relaxing way, then TWiV is for you.

Linscott's Directory has been connecting biotech researchers with reagent suppliers since 1980. Our search engine will help you find antibody suppliers for thousands of specific antibodies. Plus locate sources for ELISA assay kits, cytokines, enzymes, recombinant proteins, siRNAs, tissues, organs, custom antibody services and more. We currently have more than 2,500,000 different listings in our antibody section, and more than 1,000,000 listings of other products and services available from hundreds of different commercial and governmental sources worldwide, and more are being added each week. Use this excellent resource to connect directly to the companies and institutions that provide the products and services you need.

Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains protocols contributed by worldwide researchers as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites. The data is stored in a MySql relational database. Protocol Online also hosts discipline specific discussion forums (BioForum), and provides a free PubMed search and alerting service (PubAlert). This site was created in June 1999 and is maintained by Dr. Long-Cheng Li.

This is the new home for ASM's Image Gallery, Laboratory Protocols, Curriculum Archive, and Visual Media Briefs, which were previously available at MicrobeLibrary.org. All collections feature free, original, open-access content submitted and peer-reviewed by members of the microbiology educator community. The mission of the Resource Library is to promote good pedagogy in microbiology, foster scholarly teaching, and enhance understanding about the microbial world.

Protocol Exchange is an open repository of community-contributed protocols sponsored by Nature Protocols.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. All protocols are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.