University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Getting the Most out of CINAHL: Organizing Citations

An overview of using CINAHL to find information on nursing and allied health disciplines.

Organizing Citations for Research & Writing

Reference or bibliographic management tools are software programs will help you organize the citations you find for papers and projects.

These tools store your references in one place on your computer, which makes retrieving these items easy. You should also look for a tool that has these other features as well:

  • Imports citations from databases, like CINAHL
  • Stores figures and PDFs on your computer
  • Works with your preferred word processing program, like Microsoft Word, Apple Pages and Open Office, to insert in-text citations and compose bibliographies with just a few mouse clicks

EndNote and Mendeley are two reference management tools that you may want to consider using.

Exporting Citations from CINAHL

If you use a reference management tool, you will need to download your results to a text file before importing them into your library.

When viewing an individual citation or a folder of citations, you can download the citation information for your reference management tool.

Click on the Export button link located on the right side bar to open the Export Manager panel.

Export Manager panel

Select the file format for the citations depending on what reference management tool you use. Click on the yellow Save button.

If you saved the citations in Direct Export format and a reference management tool (e.g., EndNote) is installed on your computer, that software should automatically open. You should be able to indicate whether to add the citations in the export.txt file to a new or existing citation library.

If you saved your citations in a format that can be uploaded to bibliographic management software, the articles and citations are displayed in your browser window.

  • Save from your browser window
  • Enter the path where the file should be saved (for example, C:\ProjectResearchInfo)
  • Save the citation as an HTML or text file
  • Click on the Save button.

EndNote Information

EndNote helps you organize your research. It also allows you to organize bibliographic citations in your own EndNote Library, transfer references from on-line databases into your EndNote Library, and instantly build bibliographies for your papers. For current and potential EndNote users alike, here are some links to get more information about EndNote:

Mendeley Information

Mendeley is a free reference manager that allows you to organize references and to create citations and bibliographies. Mendeley includes a PDF viewer which allows you highlight, annotate, and organize research papers all in one place. For current and potential Mendeley users alike, here are some links to get information about Mendeley:

Need More Help?

Sci/Tech Librarians
Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech
Reference
Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday, 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays
All library hours

Sci/Tech
Reference Desk Phone:

(808) 956-8263