Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan-JPN 640: Mysteries of Modern Japanese Fiction: Japan Knowledge

Resource guide for JPN 640: Misteries of Modern Japanese Fiction-Crime, Detection and Deviance (Fall 2019)

JK logo database is a multi-purpose tool for Japanese studies research. It contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, full-text books, and journals. You need to log in with your ID & Password.

Search Functions
基本検索 (Basic Search)

JK basic search 

Basic Search. 見出し (Heading) is a default setting. You can change to 全文 (full texts) from a drop-down menu. It searches across all the databases available.

詳細検索 (Advanced Search)
JK advance search 

multiple keywords can be used. You can also select a specific database from the drop-down menu to search an individual database.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

At the initial stage of your research, checking dictionaries and/or encyclopedias provide you with additional concepts and keywords to use for your searches. For example, when you search "探偵小説" you will see a common term now is "推理小説."

Inside an article, you can toggle on and off additional functions: "Knowledge Searcher" & "引用原挿入機能 (inserting a citation)"
JK function toggle

Toggling on "Knowledge Searcher" allows searching a highlighted word within the article.
JK function knowledge searcher

When you are done, make sure to "Logout ログアウト"

JK logout