Science & Technology Reference Department: Science & Technology Databases

A searchable database of ASTM standards, active and historical, in full-text and pdf, and ASTM journals and symposia.

1965 - Present Citations with abstracts for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and books from science, social science, and humanities. About half of the records link directly to full text. Video Tutorial

A full-text database of ACM journals and conference proceedings that includes current and archival content.

1970 - Present
Citations, most with abstracts, for publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany.

Alt-HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports, proceedings as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt-HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

1999 - Present
Searchable database of full text of all ASABE technical documents including journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical meetings, and books.

via ProQuest 1971 - Present: Citations with abstracts for publications in science, technology and management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments. ASFA LibGuide

Premier index of astronomical and astrophysical literature. Citations with abstracts and links to full-text journal articles (some free archival material, other articles from licensed e-journals). Logging into the UHM Library proxyserver will allow you to download journal articles from licensed journals via the E link in ADS records. The direct URL to ADS without going through the proxyserver is http://adsabs.harvard.edu/ads_browse.html.

1969 - Present: Citations with abstracts for journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences dealing with animals (including humans), plants and microorganisms. Print volumes go back to 1926 and are located at QH 301.B37 in SciTech Reference. Biological Abstracts LibGuide

Collection of full-text bioscience research journals published by scientific societies and non-commercial publishers; focuses on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

1910 - Present Citations with abstracts to international literature in the agricultural sciences, including tropical agriculture, and related areas of applied biology. CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts) Guide

Crystallography data from the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre.

1983 - Present Citations with abstracts for nursing and allied health journal articles, books and other publications.Comprehensive CINAHL Guide

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) includes the full text of the reviews of randomized controlled trials often combined with meta-analysis.

1861 - Present
A database that includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and masters work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts. Full-text is available for dissertations from 1997 on.

A point-of-care reference tool designed to provide the best available evidence to support clinical decision-making. DynaMed provides clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2000 topics. Summaries are organized both alphabetically and by category. Access provided by JABSOM Health Sciences Library.

eagle-i is an open-access directory for discovering biomedical resources, like biological specimens, instruments, and protocols, available at participating universities. Researchers and investigators can use eagle-i to accelerate their research and to do more with less.

Ebook Central is the new home for e-books from EBL and ebrary.

Search and view the full text of eBooks purchased by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library, as well as those included in the eBook Public Library Collection.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

1965 - Present EBSCOhost is a multi-database system containing article abstracts from nearly 4,000 magazines and journals; complete text of articles is available for about half of these titles. The database Academic Search Complete covers many areas of scientific study. More specific science databases include Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Computer Source, Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.

Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.

eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives.

FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering.

Allows you to search Google and retrieve only scholarly literature. To find a specific article, or search on a phrase, enter the title or phrase in quotes, e.g. "title of article". Going through the Library's link will allow you to access the full-text using the Fulltext @ My Library link. Public access is available at http://scholar.google.com.

GreenFILE, a free database from EBSCO, indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well. UHM users should go through the Library's link for access to licensed journals. Public access is available at http://www.greeninfoonline.com.

1985-Present
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
HaPI Field Guide

The IEEE/IET Electronic Library provides full-text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings from 1872 to present, plus active IEEE standards.

2004 - Latest update
Journal Citation Reports is a unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the main source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

JoVE publishes videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe. UH Manoa has access to the following sections:
Video Journal: Cancer Research, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, Neuroscience
Science Education: Basic Biology, Clinical Skills

This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.

JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles in many disciplines including general science, ecology, mathematics and statistics scholarly journal literature.

Global Plants from JSTOR is a "community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world."

Premier English language review index for mathematics; all reviews printed in Mathematical Reviews are now online.

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier citation and abstract database for biomedical literature. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.

1950 - Present
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier citation and abstract database for biomedical literature. Old Medline provides coverage from 1950-1965, Medline covers 1966 to the present.

1950 - Present
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier citation and abstract database for biomedical literature. Old Medline provides coverage from 1950-1965, Medline covers 1966 to the present.

Includes peer-reviewed clinical review articles covering virtually every known disease and condition; patient education articles; MultiMedia Library of illustrations, images, and photographs; drug database of more than drugs and indication-specific drug tables; clinical eTools – Interactive algorithms, calculators, decision rules, diagrams, and scores; Differential Diagnosis Generator; Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and more.

Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, acute care and alternative medicine. A resource to safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with Pediatric and Neofax® evidence-based drug information. RedBook® provides daily access to drug pricing and descriptive information for more than 200,000 active and deactivated FDA-approved prescriptions. Helps you make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.

1981 - Present
Citations and abstracts covering worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish-water environments.

1887 - Present
Citations and abstracts, and many full-text articles covering international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

Full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.

Provides free access to citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view the citations with UHM links, select "Abstract" from the "Format" drop-down menu.

1995 - Present
Provides searchable full-text access to hundreds of Elsevier Science journals in science, mathematics, medicine, and technology as well as social sciences and humanities.

1907 - Present SciFinder Scholar provides access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907 to the present and covers all areas of chemistry and chemical engineering. You must create a free personal account to use the Web version of SciFinder Scholar. After clicking on the above link, follow the instructions on the Electronic Resources page to create your personal account. In order to do searches after you created your account, you must use the Electronic Resources' SciFinder Scholar link to access SciFinder Scholar. NOTE: Access to SciFinder Scholar is restricted to UH Mānoa students and faculty. Comprehensive SciFinder Scholar Guide

1990 - Present
The SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.

Formerly the Physical Education Index, this database features a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

The Turfgrass Information File (TGIF) provides bibliographic and descriptive records of all types of works related to turfgrass culture. TGIF was established in 1983 by the United States Golf Association (USGA) Turfgrass Research Committee and the Michigan State University Libraries, and is now maintained by the Turfgrass Information Center, a division of MSU Libraries. The ultimate goal of TGIF is to provide access to all published materials reporting on aspects of turfgrass and its maintenance.

1980 - Present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. Allows searching to find papers that have cited a particular citation, as well as searching by topic or author.
Search Guide (pdf) | Cited Reference Search Guide (pdf) | Comprehensive Web of Science Guide

1978 - Present
Citations with abstracts for publications covering all aspects of zoology. Earlier print volumes (1864-1994) are shelved at call number Z7991 .Z76 in SciTech Reference.