Digital Collections & Repository Program
Desktop Network Services
University of Hawaii at Manoa
The mission of the Digital Collections and Repository Program (D-CARP) is to further the strategic goals of the University of Hawaii Library that relate to digitization and open access: to "build distinctive and unique Hawaiian, Pacific, and Asian collections that benefit the University, the people of Hawai‘i, the region, and the world".
- focuses on developing library digital collections and services to support the research, learning, and scholarly communication activities of the campus
- facilitates creation and management of digital content; supports discovery and delivery systems for web-accessible digital collections
- supports the infrastructure for collection and dissemination of digital objects in various digital manifestations
- manages storage, backup and coordinates digital preservation support for digital collections and the library institutional repository.
Faculty and staff in D-CARP seek to partner with researchers and scholars to share new knowledge using digital technologies to provide the widest access to the special and unique research materials in the library collections and to make the most of scholarly communication.
- Increase digital resources availablity and accessibility for faculty and students;
- Provide digital library services and supporting technologies that are sustainable, scaleable, compatible with the university's technology infrastructure, and interoperable with national and international digital library initiatives;
- Promote and support the scholarly use of digital content and networked information resources;
- Digitize and provide web access to unique and rare collections of materials from the library;
- Collaborate with faculty and researchers in the development of open access publications and digital resources;
- Participate in the digital library community worldwide, through project partnerships and contributions to digital archives and repositories.
Strategic Areas of Program Focus
1. Collaborate with faculty and librarians on digital collection/digitization projects.
2. Explore scholarly communication and open access needs of faculty and develop systems and services to meet those needs.
3. Offer consultation and advisory services to faculty and staff in the areas of:
* Digital project development and implementation
* Digital preservation and digitization-related grant applications
* Digitization of text, images, audio, and video
* Metadata creation and encoding
4. Explore collaborative partnerships for digitization services for and with cultural heritage organizations
* Host digital content and metadata
* Provide digitization workshops and training
* Encourage cross-institutional projects
5. Support digitization services
* Work with collection development officer to implement a collection digitization plan
* Explore the digitization of published resources
6. Explore partnership with UH Press and support for electronic open access publishing
7. Expand and promote the active use of the institutional repository
8. Support a sustainable number of standards-compatible open source systems for the creation and use of digital content and metadata
9. Improve funding and staffing resources for the digital library infrastructure
10. Enhance preservation of digital collections and metadata
* Develop plans to insure the preservation of created digital content and metadata
* Lead efforts to implement these plans
* Explore and test methods of digital preservation
* Seek and participate in regional and/or trusted repository consortia
11. Improve communication about the services, collections, and research of D-CARP