Skip to main content

Finding Hawaiʻi Congressional Papers: Home

Guide to the locations of the papers of Hawai`i`s Congressional delegates, representatives, and senators.

Related Guides

Government Documents - Congress, Laws, and Legislation: This guide provides information about how to find laws, legislative history, U.S. Congressional publications, and the publications of Congressional agencies.

Government Documents - A Guide to the Collections: Government Documents Collection home page, with links to guides about our holdings of U.S. and intergovernmental publications and related electronic resources.

Congressional Papers Collections in Other States (UCF): This guide provides links to institutions that hold Congressional papers in other states.

Research Tips on Using Congressional Collections (U. of Mississippi): Introduction to doing research in Congressional papers collections.

Finding Materials in the State Archives

The Hawai‘i State Archives holds the papers of many pre-Statehood congressional delegates. Many finding aids are available in print onsite or in PDF upon request. Contact archives@hawaii.gov for more information.

About this Guide

Photograph of Hawai'i delegation holding pineapples, 1964. L to R: unknown, Spark Matsunaga, Hiram Fong, Patsy Mink, Dan Inouye.

Hawaiʻi has been sending a delegate to the United States Congress since 1899. This guide will connect you with relevant papers in the Hawaiʻi Congressional Papers Collection at the UH Mānoa Library, the Hawaiʻi State Archives, and other repositories.

About Your Librarian

Photo of Dawn SueokaAloha! I’m Dawn Sueoka, archivist for the Hawai‘i Congressional Papers Collection. You can learn a little bit about who I am and where I’m from here.

 

Students, faculty, and the general public are all welcome to do research in the collection. The HCPC can be accessed in the John Troup Moir Jr. & Gertrude M.F. Moir Archives Reading Room in Hamilton Library. Please contact me ahead of time if possible, so that I can learn more about your areas of interest and better prepare for your visit.

 

Instructors, I am available to support your students’ learning and scholarship through instruction in archival research, through introductions to the collections, or by helping you to build use of the collections into your courses.

 

MAY 2020 UPDATE: The University Archives & Manuscripts Department is currently closed due to COVID-19.

 

Dawn Sueoka

sueokad@hawaii.edu

(808)956-6995

Authors

This guide was created by Megan Higuchi and Mericia Palma Elmore for LIS 618, Government Documents & Archives. It is maintained by librarians in the Government Documents & Maps Department and the Archives and Manuscripts Department.