Research Guides: Russian Collection Research Guide: Russian History

One Search Mānoa

OneSearch searches almost everything in UHM Library's collection. It searches through multiple databases and the library catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Select Databases Relevant to Russian History

ABSEEES (American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies)
NOTE: ABSEES became ABSEEES (American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies) on June 30, 2021.
Covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) has been compiled continuously since 1956 under the auspices of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies (AAASS) and with the support at various times of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the U.S. State Department's Title VIII program, the International Research and Exchanges Board (IREX), and the Center for Russian and East European Studies at the University of Pittsburgh. The bibliography is currently based at the University of Illinois Library at Urbana-Champaign.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Select Print Journals

Kritika
Call Number: Main (Library Use Only) Z2506.K7
Publication Date: 1964-1984
The Russian Review
Call Number: Main (Library Use Only) DK1.R82
Publication Date: 1975-2006
Sibirica
Call Number: Main (Library Use Only) DK751.S422
Publication Date: 1993-present
Slavic Review
Call Number: Main (Library Use Only) D377.A1 S52
Publication Date: 1964-1928

Select Online Journals

Ab Imperio
Publication Date: 2000-present
Kritika
Publication Date: 2000-present
Russian History
Publication Date: 1974-present
The Russian Review
Publication Date: 1941-present
Sibirica
Publication Date: 2002-present
Slavic Review
Publication Date: 1961-2017
The Soviet and Post-Soviet Review
Publication Date: 1974-present

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Books in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers. Most of the Russian Collection books and serials can be found on the second floor of Hamilton Library.

DK1 - DK949.5: History of Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics
DK33 - DK 35.5 Ethnography
DK36 - DK293 History
     DK70 - DK112.42 History: Earliest to 1613
          DK70 - DK99.7 Rus'
          DK99.8 - DK112.42 Muscovy
     DK112.8 - DK264.8 House of Romanov, 1613-1917
     DK265 - DK265.95 Revolution, 1917-1921
     DK266 - DK292 Soviet Regime, 1918-1991
     DK293 1991-
DK500 Regions Not Limited to One Republic, A-Z
DK501 - DK949.5 Local History and Description
     DK503 - DK503.95 Estonia
     DK504 - DK504.95 Latvia
     DK505 - DK505.95 Lithuania
     DK507 - DK507.95 Belarus. Byelorussian S.S.R. White Russia
     DK508 - DK508.95 Ukraine
     DK509 Southern Soviet Union
     DK509.1 - DK509.95 Moldova. Moldovan S.S.R. Bessarabia-
     DK510 - DK651 Russia (Federation). Russian S.F.S.R.
          DK541 - DK579 Saint Petersburg. Leningrad. Petrograd.
          DK588 - DK609 Moscow
     DK670 - DK679.5 Georgia (Republic)
     DK680 - DK689.5 Armenia (Republic)
     DK690 - DK699.5 Azerbaijan. Azerbaijan S.S.R.
     DK751 - DK781 Siberia and the Russian Far East
     DK845 - DK860 Soviet Central Asia. West Turkestan
     DK901 - DK909.5 Kyrgyzstan. Kirghiz S.S.R. Kirghizia
     DK921 - DK929.5 Tajikistan. Tajik S.S.R. Tadzhikistan
     DK931 - DK939.5 Turkmenistan
     DK941 - DK949.5 Uzbekistan

Hamilton Library Floor Plans

Hamilton Library Floor Plans

Select Books

History of the Russian Revolution by Leon Trotsky; Ahmed Shawki (Introduction by) "During the first two months of 1917 Russia was still a Romanov monarchy. Eight months later the Bolsheviks stood at the helm. They were little known to anybody when the year began, and their leaders were still under indictment for state treason when they came to power. You will not find another such sharp turn in history especially if you remember that it involves a nation of 150 million people. It is clear that the events of 1917, whatever you think of them, deserve study.” --Leon Trotsky, from History of the Russian Revolution Regarded by many as among the most powerful works of history ever written, this book offers an unparalleled account of one of the most pivotal and hotly debated events in world history. This book reveals, from the perspective of one of its central actors, the Russian Revolution’s profoundly democratic, emancipatory character. Originally published in three parts, Trotsky’s masterpiece is collected here in a single volume. It serves as the most vital and inspiring record of the Russian Revolution to date. "[T]he greatest history of an event that I know.” --C. L. R. James "In Trotsky all passions were aroused, but his thought remained calm and his vision clear.... His involvement in the struggle, far from blurring his sight, sharpens it.... The History is his crowning work, both in scale and power and as the fullest expression of his ideas on revolution. As an account of a revolution, given by one of its chief actors, it stands unique in world literature.” --Isaac Deutscher
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2008
A History of Women in Russia from Earliest Times to the Present by Barbara Evans Clements Synthesizing several decades of scholarship by historians East and West, Barbara Evans Clements traces the major developments in the history of women in Russia and their impact on the history of the nation. Sketching lived experiences across the centuries, she demonstrates the key roles that women played in shaping Russia's political, economic, social, and cultural development for over a millennium. The story Clements tells is one of hardship and endurance, but also one of achievement by women who, for example, promoted the conversion to Christianity, governed estates, created great art, rebelled against the government, established charities, built the tanks that rolled into Berlin in 1945, and flew the planes that strafed the retreating Wehrmacht. This daunting and complex history is presented in an engaging survey that integrates this scholarship into the field of Russian and post-Soviet history.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012
Russia's Entangled Embrace: The Tsarist Empire and the Armenians, 1801-1914 by Stephen Badalyan Riegg Analyzing the complexities of this imperial relationship--beyond the reductive question of whether Russia was a friend or foe to Armenians--allows us to study the methods of tsarist imperialism in the context of diasporic distribution, interimperial conflict and alliance, nationalism, and religious and economic identity.
Call Number: Main DK34.A75 R54 2020
Publication Date: 2020
The Russian Far East: A History by John J. Stephan "Wedged between China, Korea, Japan, and the United States, the Russian Far East has for centuries been a meeting ground for Eurasian and American peoples and cultures. Conventionally regarded as a perimeter, it is in fact a collage of overlapping borderlands with a distinct historical identity. Based on a quarter-century of research by a leading authority on the area, this is a monumental survey of Pacific Siberia from prehistoric times to the present." "Drawing from political, diplomatic, economic, geographical, social, and cultural evidence, the book reveals that this vast, rugged, and supposedly insular land has harbored vibrantly cosmopolitan lifestyles. For over a millennium, Chinese culture found expression in Tungus, Mongol, and Korean politics. Russian penetration in the seventeenth century eventually turned the region into a colony sustained by state subsidies, foreign enterprise, and a mosaic of Ukrainian, Estonian, Finnish, German, Chinese, Korean, and Japanese communities. Tsarist and Soviet penal policies contributed to the diversity and volatility of Far Eastern society. Regional aspirations articulated by Siberian intellectuals, disingenuously institutionalized in a Far Eastern Republic (1920-22), survived lethal bouts of economic and demographic engineering to come to life again in the post-Soviet era." "The Russian Far East today reverberates with autonomist rhetoric, but if the region is no longer an appanage, it is still far short of independence. For the time being, the robust tradition of cosmopolitanism is reinventing itself under the banner of capitalism. Reexamining twentieth-century history through a Far Eastern prism, the book offers fresh and often provocative perspectives on imperial rivalries, colonialism, revolution, civil war, and utopianism gone awry in Northeast Asia."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: Main DK771.D3 S74 1994
Publication Date: 1994

Reference Books

Modern Encyclopedia of Russia and Soviet History (MERSH), Vols. 1- 56 by Joseph L. Wieczynski (Editor)
Call Number: Main Reference (Library Use Only) DK14.M6
Publication Date: 1976 -
Encyclopedia of Russian History, Vols. 1-4 by James R. Millar Providing a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion and social systems, the "Encyclopedia of Russian History complements the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. With approximately 1,600 entries and 500 illustrations, this four-volume set spans the time from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.
Call Number: Main Reference (Library Use Only) DK14 .E53 2004
Publication Date: 2004

Russian Collection Research Guide: Russian History