Research Guides: Russian Collection Research Guide: History 296: WWII &amp; Its Legacies in Asia/Pacific

Print Resources

G-2 Periodic Report, Vols. 1(1945)-7(1949) by United States. Army. Forces in Korea. Headquarters. G-2.; Hallim Taehak (Korea). Asia Munhwa Yŏn'guso
Call Number: Asia Folio (Library Use Only) DS917.5.G2
Publication Date: 1988
G-2 Weekly Summary, Vols. 1(1945)-5(1948) by United States. Army. Forces in Korea. Headquarters. G-2.; Hallim Taehakkyo (Korea). Asia Munhwa Yŏn'guso.
Call Number: East Asia Folio (Library Use Only) DS917.5.G23
Publication Date: 1990
Intelligence Summary Northern Korea, Vols. 1-4 by United States. Army. Forces in Korea. Headquarters. G-2.; Hallim Taehakkyo (Korea). Asia Munhwa Yŏn'guso.
Call Number: East Asia Folio (Library Use Only) DS916.6.I584
Publication Date: 1989
Mi kunjŏnggi chŏngbo charyojip. Simin soyo, yŏron chosa pogosŏ, 1945. 9-1948. 6 美軍政期情報資料集. 시민소요・여론조사보고서, 1945. 9-1948. 6 / [편집, 발행翰林大學校아시아 文化研究所] by Hallim Taehakkyo (Korea). Asia Munhwa Yŏn'guso.
Call Number: East Asia Folio DS917.5.M56 1995
Publication Date: 1995
USSR Information Bulletin by Washington, Embassy of the Union of the Soviet Socialist Republics
Call Number: Email polansky@hawaii.edu
Publication Date: 1941-1952
Soviet Press Translations by University of Washington. Far Eastern and Russian Institute.
Call Number: Email polansky@hawaii.edu
Publication Date: 1946-1953

The Cold War in East Asia, 1945-1991 by Tsuyoshi Hasegawa (Editor) The Cold War in East Asia studies Asia as a second front in the Cold War, examining how the six powers--the United States, the Soviet Union, China, Japan, and North and South Korea--interacted one another and forged the conditions that were distinct from the Cold War in Europe. The contributors are among the foremost historians of the new Cold War history, and this book draws on a wide array of newly available archival information in many languages, with particular strength in the use of Russian and Chinese archival material. The Cold War in East Asia shows how as a second front the Cold War in East Asia influenced the shape of the Cold War's first front--the East-West confrontation centering in Europe--and third front in the developing world.Each chapter, while focused on particular countries and particular timespans, situates its story within a broad overview. And the volume stresses the uniqueness of the region's historical experience and explains how it serves as the background to some of the key conflicts in East Asia today.
Call Number: Asia DS518.1.C588 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The End of the Pacific War by Tsuyoshi Hasegawa (Editor) Over sixty years after the end of the Pacific War, the United States and Japan have still not come to terms with the consequences; despite their postwar alliance, memories of Pearl Harbor and Hiroshima-Nagasaki continue to remind that the decision to drop the bomb remains a contentious issue. While many Americans believe the bombing directly influenced Japan's decision to surrender, the bombing's impact on Japan's decision making, as well as the role of the Soviet Union, have yet to be fully explored. This book offers state-of-the-art reinterpretations of the reasons for Japan's decision to surrender: Which was the critical factor, the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, or the Soviet Union's entry into the war? Writing from the perspective of three different nationalities and drawing on newly available documents from Japan, the United States, and the former Soviet Union, five distinguished historians review the evidence and the arguments--and agree to disagree. The contributors are Barton J. Bernstein, Richard Frank, Sumio Hatano, Tsuyoshi Hasegawa, and David Holloway.
Call Number: Asia D813.J3 E64 2007
Publication Date: 2007
From Stalin to Kim Il Song by Andrei Lankov To understand how North Korea has survived as the worlds last Stalinist regime despite international isolationand at enormous human costs to its peopleone must look at how its political system was created. The countrys foundations were laid in the late 1940s and 1950s as a result of interaction between the Soviet Stalinist model, imposed from outside, and local traditions. Andrei Lankov traces the formation of the North Korean state and the early years of Kim Il Sungs rule, when the future "Great Leader" and his entourage were consolidating their power base. Surveying the situation in North Korea after 1945, Lankov explores the internal composition of the ruling elite, the role of the Soviets, and the uneasy relations between various political groups. He also focuses on how in 1956 Kim Il Sung defeated the only known attempt to oust him and thereby established absolute personal rule beyond either Soviet or Chinese control. The book is based on previously secret Soviet documents from Russian archives, as well as interviews with Russian and Korean participants.
Call Number: Asia DS935.5.L36 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The Kuril Islands: Russo-Japanese Frontier in the Pacific by John J. Stephan
Call Number: Asia DS895.3.K86.S73
Publication Date: 1974
The Northern Territories Dispute and Russo-Japanese Relations, Vols. 1-2 by Tsuyoshi Hasegawa v. 1. Between war and peace, 1696-1985 -- v. 2. Neither war nor peace, 1985-1997.
Call Number: Main DK771.K79 H37 1998
Publication Date: 1998
The Origins of the Cold War in Asia by Yonosuke Nagai (Editor); Akira Iriye (Editor)
Call Number: Main DS35.O63
Publication Date: 1977
Russia and Japan: An Unresolved Dilemma Between Distant Neighbors by Tsuyoshi Hasegawa (Editor); Jonathan Haslam (Editor); Andrew Kuchins (Editor)
Call Number: Asia JX1577.Z7 R965 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Sakhalin: A History by John J. Stephan
Call Number: Asia DK771.S2.S7 1971
Publication Date: 1971
Soviet Aims in Korea and the Origins of the Korean War, 1945-1950: New Evidence from Russian Archives by Kathryn Weathersby
Call Number: Main D843 .W634 no.8
Publication Date: 1993
Available Online

в борьбе за свободу: к 70-летию пазгрома милитаристской Японии и окончания второй мировой войны by Чэнь Мэй; Александр Яковец; Константин Лобков
Call Number: Email polansky@hawaii.edu
Publication Date: 2015
Contains images from various Russian archives.
Энциклопедия Победы : Приморье и приморцы в Великой Отечественной войне,1941-1945 гг. by А.П. Яковец
Call Number: Email polansky@hawaii.edu
Publication Date: 2020

Online Resources

Cold War International History Project Working Papers

Wilson Center Digital Archive

The Wilson Center Digital Archive "contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy." You can search this collection by either using the search box, or by browsing the documents by location, date, common subjects, themes, or collection. The following slides will show you how to search for documents related to the Soviet Union.

Librarian

Patricia Polansky

Contact:

Hamilton Library
University of Hawaii at Manoa
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 956-6308
Fax: (808) 956-5968
E-mail: polansky@hawaii.edu
Room: 309-310

Subjects: Russia General, Russia in Asia and Pacific

Librarian

Karen Kadohiro Lauer

Email Me

Contact:

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Hamilton Library

Map

Map of Manchuria and Japan [Soviet invasion map]