Research Guides: Astronomy & Astrophysics: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. For login via UH proxy server, use link below.

NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
NOTE: UHM students, faculty and staff with ADS accounts should use this link to set up direct linking to full-text articles where available. Access to most of the astronomical/planetary sciences/solar physics literature and a large part of the Physics and Instrumentation literature.
For most astronomy journals, coverage of the reference information extends back to volume 1. For the Instrumentation and Physics journals, coverage of the reference information is typically back to 1975.
Web of Science
via Web of Science: 1980 - present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Guide to Web of Science
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles in many disciplines, including astronomy, physics, and mathematics.

arXiv.org
A rich source of preprints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. The astro-ph archive covers the area of Astrophysics.
HEP Search : High Energy Physics Literature Database
A database of particle physics literature maintained and run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center. Many citations are to preprints or e-prints hosted at SLAC.
Solar Physics E-Print Archive
An on-line, searchable archive of links to on-line preprints and unpublished work of broad interest to researchers in solar and heliospheric physics.

Astronomy and astrophysics.
Print format 1974 - 2009; Electronic format 1996 - present
Icarus
Print format 1962 - 1993; Electronic format 1995 - present
Monthly notices of the Royal Astronomical Society
Print format 1931 - 1995; Electronic format 1996 - present
Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Print format 1964 -2008; Electronic format 1963 - present
The Astronomical Journal
Print format 1966 - 2010; Electronic format 1998 - present
The Astrophysical Journal
Print format 1950 - 2008; Electronic format 1995 - present
Also see Astrophysical Journal Letters and Astrophysical Journal Supplement Series.
Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific
Print format 1975 - 2008; Electronic format 1998 - present
Solar Physics
Print format 1980 - 1993; Electronic format 1997 - present

Journals
Databases
A-Z list of databases
Science & Technology Databases
Browse a list of databases for finding articles and other research literature; covers all science subject areas

ScholarSpace at University of Hawaii at Manoa
Digital repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community.
Dissertations & Theses Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Sci/Tech Librarians Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu

Journals in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.

Astronomy call numbers start with QB

Physics call numbers start with QC