Research Guides: PACS601/602/603: Researching Oceania: Creative and Conventional Methods of Inquiry: Online Resources

Sources of Inter-Library Loan / Document Delivery

If you have a citation for a work and it does not appear to be held by UH-Mānoa (or the UH system libraries), you can request that it be sent to the library via Inter-Library Loan (used primarily for books, films or other items that require physical delivery) or Document Delivery (for journal articles, which are usually delivered to you electronically). Mouse over the links below for more information. Interlibrary loan and document delivery services are free to fee-paying UH-Mānoa students, as well as faculty and staff.

WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

Institutions that hold Pacific collections

Alele Museum, Library and Archives
Archives nationales d'outre-mer
These are the colonial archives of France.
Auckland Libraries
This library system has significant Pasifika collections and programming.
Auckland University of Technology Library
Auckland War Memorial Museum Research Library
Australian National University Library
Belau National Museum Research Library
Bibliothèque nationale de France
The national library of France holds extensive materials related to the French Pacific (New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna, French Polynesia, and Vanuatu).
Bibliothéque Bernheim
Bishop Museum Library & Archives
The library and archives of the Bishop Museum are internationally know for their excellent Pacific holdings. The catalog is online, but access to the material is by appointment only.
Brigham Young University - Hawaii Library
The Joseph F. Smith Library. They have a Pacific Collection and an online catalog.
Centre Culturel Jean-Marie Tjibaou Mediatheque
Although more well known as a museum, the Center also has an excellent Library with a collection focused on Kanak (indigenous) culture. They do have an online catalog.
Centre de Recherche et de Documentation sur l'Océanie centre de documentation
Located in Marseille, France, this is a research center dedicated to the study of the Pacific region. They have an online catalog.
Centre Hospitalier Territorial de Nouvelle-Caledonie Centre de documentation
CNMI Archives
Housed at Northern Marianas College as part of NMC's Library Programs and Services
College of Micronesia Library
The main campus of COM is in Pohnpei, but there are also campuses in Yap, Chuuk, and Kosrae, each with its own library. The main library has an online catalog, a Pacific Collection, and also maintains the archive of the college.
College of the Marshall Islands Library
The CMI library does not yet have an online catalog. The library also houses the Nuclear Institute.
Cook Islands National Library - Runanga Puka
East-West Center library
Feleti Barstow Public Library
This is the main library of American Samoa and they have a Samoa / Pacific Collection and digital photo collection. Their online catalog is also accessible within the American Samoa library consortium.
Fiji National University Library
The FNU library has an online catalog and a Pacific Collection.
Hawaiʻi State Archives
Hawaiʻi State Archives holds the operational records of the kingdom, republic, territory and state of Hawaiʻi and their various departments and agencies.
Hawaiian Historical Society Library
Hawaiian Mission Houses Library
The general focus of the Library's collections is on the history of Hawaiʻi from 1778 to 1900. Houses original Hawaiian-language publications, many of which were printed at the Mission Houses Printing House. HMCS Library has the most extensive collection of Hawaiian-language publications in the world. HMCS Library also has the largest collection of missionary correspondence, journals, and reports.
Hawaiʻi State Library
Musée du Quai Branly
National Archives of Fiji
Established in 1954 as the Central Archives of Fiji and the Western Pacific High Commission. It also includes a library collection. Many of the indexes and finding aids are available online, although there is not central database.
National Library of Australia
The NLA has an extensive Pacific Collection mostly focused in those parts of the Pacific that were or are territories of Australia. There is an online catalog as well as the Trove database for online resources. NLA holdings are also findable in worldcat.
National Library of New Zealand - Te Puna Mātauranga O Aotearoa
The NLNZ has a wonderful Pacific Collection with strong holdings related to Māori and NZ-affiliated Pacific Islands. There is an online catalog and many resources available online. NLNZ holdings are also findable in worldcat.
National University of Samoa Library
NUS Library has an excellent Samoan and Pacific Collection. There is an online catalog, but at last attempt it wasn't functional.
Northern Marianas College Library
Pacific Community / Communaute du Pacifique Library
The SPC has a library that serves the needs of SPC staff but has a few hours it is open to the public. The focus of the collection is technical documents. It has an online catalog. The corporate archives are accessible at the Service des Archives de Nouvelle-Calédonie.
Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat Library
PIFS is an intergovernmental NGO located in Suva, Fiji. The library and archives serve the needs of the Secretariat and can be consulted by appointment. There is not online catalog.
Pacific Manuscripts Bureau (PAMBU)
The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau copies archives, manuscripts and rare printed material relating to the Pacific Islands. The aim of the Bureau is to help with long-term preservation of the documentary heritage of the Pacific Islands and to make it accessible.
Palau Community College Library
PCC library has an online catalog and a Micronesia-Pacific Collection.
Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme Library
SPREP has a private library, but available to the public. Online catalog available.
Service des Archives de Nouvelle-Calédonie
The archives of the territory of New Caledonia. Does have an online database.
Solomon Islands National University Library
Although not mentioned on the website, the library does have a dedicated Solomon Islands / Pacific Collection. It also has an online catalog.
UCSD Tuzin Archive for Melanesian Anthropology
The library holds the Tuzin Archive for Melanesian Anthropology which also includes a significant collection of published material about Melanesia. There is an online catalog.
United Nations ESCAP Library
Located in Bangkok, Thailand.
University of Adelaide Library
University of Auckland Library
The UA library has a very significant Pacific Collection and they hold the Western Pacific Commission Archives which were transferred from the UK in 2002.
University of Canterbury Library
University of Guam Library
Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Library at UOG. First strength is Micronesia, but also collects Melanesian and Polynesian material.
University of Guam Micronesia Area Research Center (MARC)
Includes collections of archival maps, photographs, texts and cultural materials
University of Hawaiʻi Libraries
Most of the libraries in the UH system have significant collections of Hawaii material supplemented by collections of material from the wider Pacific region.
UH Mānoa Library
UH Hilo Library
UH West Oʻahu Library
Honolulu Community College Library
Kapiʻolani Community College Library
Kauaʻi Community College Library
Leeward Community College Library
UH Maui College Library
Windward Community College Library
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Otago Library
University of Papua New Guinea Library
The library has a special collection which collects comprehensively about Papua New Guinea. There is no online catalog.
University of St. Andrews Library
Supports St. Andrews' Centre for Pacific Studies (https://cps.wp.st-andrews.ac.uk/).
University of the South Pacific Emalus Campus Library
The focus of this collection is on Law.
University of the South Pacific Library
Searches holdings of the main USP campus library in Suva, Fiji, as well as other smaller collections on this campus. The main strengths of this library are in Melanesia and Polynesia, but it does also hold Micronesian material.
Université de la Nouvelle-Calédonie Bibliothèque
Although not highlighted, the UNC library does have a collection related to the Pacific and New Caledonia, although most likely biased towards French-language material.
Université de la Polynésie Française Bibliothèques
UPF has an excellent Collection focused on French Polynesia as well as the rest of Polynesia. An online catalog is available.
Vanuatu Cultural Centre
The VCC includes the national library, archives and museum. The library collection has a focus on Vanuatu and the wider Pacific. No online catalog is available.
Victoria University of Wellington Library
Wellington City Libraries
The William Mulloy Library (Biblioteca William Mulloy)
ʻUluʻulu Moving Image Archives

Other Useful Resources

(Mouse over link for a description of its contents)

Acessing Full-Text (video)
A short online video detailing steps to accessing full-text journal articles using UH-Mānoa library resources.
Citation Guides & Style Manuals
Links to a variety of guides and manuals, compiled by the UHM library.
Endnote Users Guide
A variety of resources related to using this bibliography tool.
Graduate Student Services
A basic outline to doing graduate-level research in Hamilton Library.
Hawaiian Collection Bibiliographies and Assignment Guides
Research information on a wide variety of Hawaiʻi-specific topics.
Hawaiian Diacritical Marks (via Hale Kuamo'o)
Go here for help on getting Hawaiian diacritical marks to display in your paper.
Using Hawaiian Diacritical Marks
An online guide to use of Hawaiian diacritical marks, including UH-Mānoa's Style Guide.

Pacific-related library guides

These guides were created either for specific courses or on specific subjects.

HIST482: Histories of Oceania II
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 27, 2025 25 views this year
AmSt 353 - Indigenous Lands and Waters
by Jodie Mattos Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 12 views this year
AMST/ARCH 474 - Preservation: Hawaii, Asia, and the Pacific- Spring 2023
by Jodie Mattos Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 41 views this year
Climatological Data: Hawai‘i and Pacific
by Gwen Sinclair Last Updated Sep 9, 2024 22 views this year
ENG380: Folklore, Wonder Tales, and Oral Traditions
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 33 views this year
ENG474: Studies in Pacific Literature: Children’s Literature in Oceania
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 17 views this year
Ergebnisse der Südsee-Expedition 1908-1910 = Results of the South Pacific-Expedition 1908-1910
by Eleanor Kleiber Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 47 views this year
Ethnic Studies 320 - Hawaiʻi & the Pacific
by Jodie Mattos Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 1 views this year
Festival of Pacific Arts
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 24 views this year
Gender Identity and Sexual Identity in the Pacific and Hawai'i
by Eleanor Kleiber Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 213 views this year
Hawaiian and Pacific Resources Online
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 52 views this year
HIST 296: Post-War Pacific
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 21 views this year
HIST288: Biography and Historiography in the Pacific
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Oct 31, 2023 8 views this year
HIST288: Survey of Pacific Islands History
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 27, 2025 5 views this year
HIST366: Women in Oceania
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Oct 31, 2023 5 views this year
HIST493: Library Treasures
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated May 1, 2024 122 views this year
History 483 - The United States in the Pacific
by Jodie Mattos Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 10 views this year
HWST 675: Polynesian temples - Society Islands
by Eleanor Kleiber Last Updated Jan 27, 2025 1 views this year
Ke Au Hou - Generations of Pacific librarianship
by Eleanor Kleiber Last Updated Mar 17, 2022 3 views this year
Librarianship and Archives in Hawaiʻi and the Pacific
by Eleanor Kleiber Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 44 views this year
Literature of the Pacific
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 39 views this year
Micronesians in Hawaiʻi
by Gwen Sinclair Last Updated Oct 24, 2024 285 views this year
MUS 670C: Music of Oceania
by Eleanor Kleiber Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 4 views this year
Pacific Linguistics
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 11 views this year
PACS 108: Pacific Worlds
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 60 views this year
PACS 401: Pacific Islands Studies Capstone
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 10 views this year
PACS601/602/603: Researching Oceania: Creative and Conventional Methods of Inquiry
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 11 views this year
POLS/SUST 387: Politics of the Ocean
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 11 views this year
Teaching Oceania: Open Access Resources
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 43 views this year
TPSS 652 - Information Research Skills
by Jodie Mattos Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 7 views this year
Traditional Pacific Island Crops
by Patricia Brandes Last Updated Jul 20, 2022 843 views this year
Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands Archives
by Eleanor Kleiber Last Updated Jan 13, 2025 83 views this year
Web Archiving Project of the Pacific Islands
by Stu Dawrs Last Updated Mar 1, 2022 26 views this year

Sources of Inter-Library Loan / Document Delivery

Borrow It Now
Borrow It Now searches across the holdings of 31 research libraries that are members of the Greater Western Libraries Association (aka GWLA), of which UH is also a member. If you find a book or other item in Borrow It Now and it is not already held by the UH system, you can request it directly from here.

WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

PACS601/602/603: Researching Oceania: Creative and Conventional Methods of Inquiry

Digital Repositories

Online Bibliographies

Sources of Inter-Library Loan / Document Delivery

Institutions that hold Pacific collections

Other Useful Resources

Pacific-related library guides

Sources of Inter-Library Loan / Document Delivery