Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UHM Library's OneSearch (Advanced Search)
UHM's discovery search that looks for materials on our library shelves, those held at other UH campuses, and in the many library databases that we may or may not subscribe to.
Ulukau (Advanced Search)
Strong collection of very useful Hawaiian-related books and journals from the 1800s to today. Also includes many specialized collections important to Hawaiian research.
Full-text search of many digitized books and periodicals. Titles under copyright are given a limited preview and those in the public domain are freely available. Use this search to find specific references to your topic. Note: titles with a limited preview may be available online or in print via OneSearch.
Collection of scholarship, including theses and dissertations, created by UHM students, faculty, and staff. Items are findable by department, title, author, and are full-text searchable.
Collection of scholarship and important research materials published by organizations and individuals not part of UHM. Items are findable by communities, title, author, and are full-text searchable.
Dissertations & Theses Specific
Dissertations & Theses
Over 750,000 doctoral and selected master's theses from now to 1997 are available for PDF download. Includes citations of titles from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
Index to over 140 journals and magazines published in Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Once you find an article citation, you will need to use OneSearch to request a scan of the article unless it is already available online.
Ka Wai Ola
Covers issues of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs monthly newspaper Ka Wai Ola. Issues from October 1980 to September 2017 (410 issues).
Papakilo's Nūpepa Search
Collection of digitized Hawaiian language from 1843-1948 and Hawaiian-related newspapers such as OHA's newsletter, Ka Wai Ola o OHA.
Full-text articles from historic Hawaiʻi and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922 including newspapers from Maui, Kauaʻi and Hawaiʻi island. Also includes some Hawaiian language articles in the Hawaii Holomua newspapers.
Current "Mainstream" News
Current "Nonprofit" News
Dedicated to cultivating an informed body of citizens, all striving to make Hawaii a better place to live ... through investigative and watchdog journalism, in-depth enterprise reporting, analysis and commentary that gives readers a broad view on issues of importance to our community.
Primary Resource Collections
Save Our Surf (SOS) archives by
Call Number: MANUSCRIPT H00065
Publication Date: 1960-2000, bulk 1970-1989
Consists of self-published materials such as flyers, pamphlets, newsletters, posters, and photos created by SOS and other grassroots organizations that document SOS's campaigns and the larger narrative of Hawaiʻi's activism in the latter half of the twentieth century. Also contains SOS's unpublished materials including notes, correspondence, and research materials that document the inner workings of the organization. Many items in this archive are available in this digital collection
George Helm Papers by
Call Number: Hawn Rare Manuscript H00002
Publication Date: 1970s-1980s
This very rare collection has photocopies of written materials by George Helm himself along with documents from the Protect Kahoʻolawe ʻOhana, formerly the Protect Kahoʻolawe Association. To view please submit a request with the HawaiianCollection.
Ed Greevy's Photograph Collection
Digital collection of photos from Ed Greevys career on capturing native Hawaiian voices throughout many Hawaiian movements across the pae ʻāina.
Moving image archive of Hawaiʻi that has video raw footage from various documentaries, organizations, and individuals. Descriptions of footage are keyword searchable and a short preview clip is given. Must sign up as a researcher to stream full clips of footage.
Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices
Collection contains over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Best to search Hawaiian history or Hawaiian sovereignty to find relevant videos.
ʻŌiwi Television produces top-quality documentaries, news and multimedia content from a uniquely Hawaiian perspective. The wisdom, beauty and power of Hawai‘i are the backdrop to the most important and interesting narratives of our generation.
If researching contemporary issues, you may find interviews, testimony, media coverage. If they are more historical, you may find educational videos about them. Some notable collections: Na Maka o ka ʻĀina, Victoria Keith, Voices of Truth Hawaii.
Will have some overlap with YouTube. If researching contemporary issues, you may find interviews, testimony, media coverage. If they are more historical, you may find educational videos about them. A notable collection is Center for Hegemony Studies.
Nā Maka o ka ʻĀina
Joan Lander and Puhipau (1937-2016) of Nā Maka o ka ‘Āina (“The Eyes of the Land”), an independent video production team that, since 1974, has focused on the land and people of Hawai‘i and the Pacific. Documents and give voice and face to traditional and contemporary Hawaiian culture, history, language, art, music, environment and the politics of independence and sovereignty. Our over 100 documentary and educational programs
Websites of Interest
Kamakako’i is a cutting edge tool that leverages technology to engage, inform, activate and rally the Hawaiʻi community around voices on the cutting edge of community issues. Get informed, take action, and spread the word. Produced and maintained by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs, this website covers current Hawaiian activist movements with historical information and how to get involved.
Hawaiʻi Peoples Fund
Hawaiʻi Peopleʻs Fund has helped to support, build capacity, and amplify the impact of grassroots social change movements in Hawaiʻi since 1972. Hawai‘i People’s Fund supports passionate, grassroots community groups working for social justice in Hawai‘i.
Kuaʻāina Ulu ʻAuamo
Founded in 2003, Kuaʻāina Ulu ʻAuamo (KUA) is a “backbone organization” that supports creative and collective community-based solutions to problems stemming from environmental degradation in Hawai’i. KUA empowers communities to improve their quality of life through caring for their biocultural (natural and cultural) heritage.
Kanaeokana seeks to strengthen the lāhui and nurture the next generations of aloha ‘āina leaders by collaboratively developing and growing a Native Hawaiian education system built on a strong ʻōlelo Hawai‘i and ʻike Hawai‘i foundation.