Home - Hawaiʻi - EA Hawaiian Activism Movements 1960-2010 - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Introduction

Ea; 1. n. Sovereignty, rule, independence.

2. n. Life, air, breath.

3. vi. To rise, go up, raise, become erect.

This research guide covers Hawaiian activism through movements across the pae ʻāina from 1960-2010, all in which define ea which furthermore defines how the modern Hawaiian in Hawaiʻi lives today. These critical moments that are covered all contribute to the quest for ea with every conscious kanaka awakened in these moments of history. This guide includes both battles that native Hawaiians have won and lost, and even some that are ongoing, however in each struggle our lāhui Hawaiʻi has come together to be a force against colonial institutions and a force that contributes to the complexities of ea.

This guide is not comprehensive of every single movement, struggle, and aloha ʻāina in Hawaiʻi since 1960, however it does hope to be a starting point for research about the different types of sovereignties that kānaka Hawaiʻi have and continue to exercise. These historical events have shaped the current political climate for the Hawaiian identity and has created leaders of the lāhui Hawaiʻi that have paved the way for the current and future generations of aloha ʻāina.

Timeline of Highlighted Hawaiian Movements

1968-Current UH Mānoa Ethnic Studies

1971 Kalama Valley Eviction

1975 Niumalu Eviction

1975 Heʻeia Kea Eviction

1976-1993 US Naval Bombing of Kahoʻolawe

1977 Waiāhole/Waiākane Eviction

1978 Hilo Airport Occupation

1978-1983 Hale Mohalu Eviction

1980 Sand Island Eviction

1980s-1993 H-3 Highway

1980s-1990s Wao Kele o Puna Geothermal

1983 Mākua Valley Eviction

1985 Waimānalo Eviction

1987 & 1993 Makapuʻu Occupations

1988 Honokahua Hawaiian Burials

1990 Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act

1990s Waiāhole & Waiākane Water Struggle

1990s- Current East Maui Water Struggle

1995 UH Mānoa Hawaiian Language Class Cuts

1996 Rice vs. Cayetano

1999 Forbes Caves

2006 UH Mānoa Anti-GMO Taro

2007 Superferry

2009 Akaka Bill

Search Strategies

The tabs located at the top of this page are the categories of Hawaiian social movements that shape and are shaped by moves towards ea. Because this is not a comprehensive research guide, you can further your research by using the library’s discovery layer called OneSearch (main search bar on library homepage). This is an umbrella search that looks for materials on our library shelves and in many databases we may or may not subscribe to. To help you in your search, use the timeline of highlighted Hawaiian movements, highlighted organizations, and highlighted aloha ʻāina as keywords to find additional sources for your research.

Most of the titles in this research guide can be found physically at UHM's Hawaiian Collection and online either as a freely available resource or for UHM patrons only. The Hawaiian Collection is housed on the fifth floor of Hamilton Library. If you have any questions, concerns, or need any kōkua, email hawnpac@hawaii.edu. Please note, our library still has limited services due to COVID-19. Please see updates here.

As you are searching, please keep in mind of these strategies;

Evaluate each collection of items to become more aware of the type of materials, scope, and purpose
Use quotations to search for phrases: "aloha ʻāina" vs. aloha ʻāina
Use * to truncate searches: hawaii* searches for hawaii, hawaiian, hawaiians
Use filters (e.g. date, type, subject) to narrow search results
Use the subject headings of any titles you are interested in to locate more relevant titles
Be aware of the uses of Hawaiian diacritics ie. kahakō and ʻokina. It is suggested that you do searches with both ʻokina/kahakō and without

Highlighted Organizations

Save Our Surf
Native Hawaiian Legal Council
Protect Kahoʻolawe ʻOhana
Hui Mālama Makua
Pele Defense Fund
Hui Alaloa
Hui Malama I Na Kupuna O Hawai`i Nei
Kōkua Hawaii
The ALOHA Association
Ka Paakai o ka Aina
Ke ʻAupuni Lōkahi
Ka 'Ohana O Ka Lae
Free Association
Nā Moku Aupuni o Koʻolau Hui
UH Peace Crew
Nā Maka o Ka ʻĀina
Ka Lāhui Hawaiʻi
Makeʻe Pono Lāhui Hawaiʻi

Highlighted Aloha ʻĀina

George Helm
Kimo Mitchell
Moani Akaka
Walter Ritte
Loretta Ritte
Lilikalā Kameʻeleihiwa
Haunani Kay-Trask
Mililani Trask
Kanalu Young
Kaleikoa Kāʻeo
Bumpy Kanahele
Kekailoa Perry
Skippy Ioane
Halealoha Ayau
Maxine Kahāʻulelio
Kekuni Blaisdell
John Osorio
Davianna Mcgregor
Emmett Aluli
Frenchy Desoto
Joyce Kainoa
Marion Kelly
John Kelly
George Kanahele
Pualani Kanakaʻole Kanahele
Edward Kanahele
Noenoe Silva
Ipo Nihipali
Terrilee Napua Kekoʻolani

Background Texts

Detours: A Decolonial Guide to Hawai'i by Hokulani K. Aikau (Editor); Vernadette Vicuna Gonzalez (Editor)
Call Number: DU624.5 .D486 2019
Publication Date: 2019
In this brilliant reinvention of the travel guide, artists, activists, and scholars redirect readers from the fantasy of Hawai‘i as a tropical paradise and tourist destination toward a multilayered and holistic engagement with Hawai‘i's culture and complex history. The essays, stories, artworks, maps, and tour itineraries in Detours create decolonial narratives in ways that will forever change how readers think about and move throughout Hawai‘i.
A Nation Rising: Hawaiian Movements for Life, Land, and Sovereignty
Call Number: Hamilton Hawaiian DU624.65 .N358 2014
ISBN: 9780822356950
Publication Date: 2014
A Nation Rising chronicles the political struggles and grassroots initiatives collectively known as the Hawaiian sovereignty movement. Scholars, community organizers, journalists, and filmmakers contribute essays that explore Native Hawaiian resistance and resurgence from the 1970s to the early 2010s.
Autobiography of Protest in Hawaii by Robert H. Mast
Call Number: HV98.H3 M378 1996
Publication Date: 1997
Autobiography explores Hawaii's social and economic fabric through the comments of 35 progressive activists.
The Ethnic Studies Story: politics and social movements in Hawaiʻi: essays in honor of Marion Kelly by Ibrahim G. Aoude (Editor)
Call Number: HN933 .S6 v.39
Publication Date: 1999
This volume situates the rise of ethnic studies in the context of Hawai'i's political and economic development.
Kūʻē: Thirty Years of Land Struggle by Haunani-Kay Trask; Ed Greevy
Call Number: KFH411 .T73 2004
Publication Date: 2004
A pictorial collection of photos by Ed Greevy that documented social and political events concerning eviction struggles and the development of the Hawaiian Sovereignty movement from 1971 to the 2001 with commentary by Haunani-Kay Trask.
Nā Wāhine Koa: Hawaiian women for sovereignty and demilitarization by Moanike'ala Akaka; Maxine Kahaulelio; Terrilee Keko'olani-Raymond; Loretta Ritte; Noelani Goodyear-Ka'ōpua (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 A43 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This book documents the political lives of four wāhine koa (courageous women): Moanike'ala Akaka, Maxine Kahaulelio, Terrilee Keko'olani-Raymond, and Loretta Ritte, who are leaders in Hawaiian movements of aloha 'āina. Their stories illustrate diverse roles 'Ōiwi women played in Hawaiian land struggles, sovereignty initiatives, and international peace and denuclearization movements. The centrality of women in these movements, along with their life stories, provide a portal toward liberated futures.
Islands in Captivity: The Record of the International Tribunal on the Rights of Indigenous Hawaiians by Ward Churchill, Sharon H. Venne, Lilikalā Kameʻeleihiwa (compilers, editors)
Call Number: DU624.65 .I75 2004
Publication Date: 2004
A compilation of materials gathered for and from the 1993 People's International Tribunal that examined the international and human rights of Hawai‘i's indigenous people, and how the United States unlawfully usurped the rights of native Hawaiians. The materials cover topics ranging from the collapse of the native population to the overthrow of the Hawaiian Kingdom. Documentation of the Tribunal includes testimony, findings, and recommendations. There is a useful glossary of Hawaiian terms, a comprehensive timeline, extensive table of contents and index as well as an appendix of items presented at the Tribunal.
Hawaii stories of change : Kokua Hawaii Oral History Project by Kubota, Gary T.
Call Number: HV98.H3 K83 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A collection of over 30 interviews about the activist group 'Kokua Hawaii.'
Huli : a study of Hawaii's grass-roots politics by David De Leon
Call Number: HN79.H3 D38 1978
Publication Date: 1978
Examines citizen activism in Hawaii through six case studies: the defense of Waikiki surf by a surfers' organization, Hawaiian nationalists' attempts to end the eviction of the community of Kalama Valley, efforts by environmentalists to stop a major runway project at the Honolulu International Airport, halting of H-3 highway project, and two examples of neighborhood struggles against unwanted development.
Social Process in Hawaiʻi : a reader, 3rd edition by Peter Manicas (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
In this third edition of Social Process in Hawaiʻi, this anthology covers a wide range of social, labor and an emphasis on Hawaiian movements. Contributors to this text include; Kekuni Blaisdell, Noenoe Silva, Haunani-Kay Trask and Lilikalā Kameʻeleihiwa.
Waves of Resistance by Isaiah Helekunihi Walker
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 W35 2011
Publication Date: 2011
In the last century, facing increased marginalization on land, many Native Hawaiians have found refuge, autonomy, and identity in the waves. In Waves of Resistance Isaiah Walker argues that throughout the twentieth century Hawaiian surfers have successfully resisted colonial encroachment in the po'ina nalu (surf zone).
Life of the Land : Articulations of a Native Writer by Dana Naone Hall
Call Number: DU624.5 .H35 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Explores the inexhaustible relationship of the Hawaiian people to their native land. Dana Naone Hall's writings cover more than three decades of her political and cultural engagement in public, federal, state, and county processes. As an activist with poetic sensibilities, Naone Hall demonstrates how meticulous analysis coupled with the power of the imagination can unlock new ways of seeing and relating to places that may not be immediately recognized as retaining profound Hawaiian elements.

Credit

Created by Hinaikawaihiʻilei Keala

Spring 2021

The creation of this research guide was in fulfillment of an internship under the LIS 690 course with UH Mānoa's Hawaiian Collection. Hina is a double masters student in Library and Information Sciences and Hawaiian Studies.

Hawaiʻi - EA Hawaiian Activism Movements 1960-2010: Home