Hawaiʻi - EA Hawaiian Activism Movements 1960-2010: Kānāwai

This essay examines competing narrations of the fiftieth anniversary of Hawai‘i statehood by tracing two mutually constitutive but opposing projects in the post-World War II period—the racial project seeking the liberal inclusion of Asian Americans, particularly Japanese Americans, into a U.S. national polity and a Native Hawaiian project known as the Akaka Bill that sought autonomy from the United States. Available online via Project MUSE for UHM patrons.

This essay examines the politics of the controversial proposal for US federal recognition for Native Hawaiians. It explores a range of historical and legal issues that shed light on the multiple claims that constitute the complex terrain of Hawaiian sovereignty politics. The article provides a historical overview of the events that impact the current situation and then discusses a particular set of contemporary conditions that serve as key elements in catalyzing widespread support for federal recognition. Available online via EBSCO, JSTOR and ScholarSpace.

A collection of narratives and essays from Hawaiian activist such as Kekuni Blaisdell, Kaleikoa Kāʻeo, and Noenoe Silva on the Akaka Bill. Available online via Alt-PressWatch for UHM patrons.

This article analyzes the legal discourse of native Hawaiians opposed to proposed federal recognition. Strategic maneuvering through this postcolonial legal dilemma is shown to produce new ideas of law's authority, challenging dominant notions of place and time, as well as the performance of legal recognition. Available online via HeinOnline Law Journal Library and Saga Journals for UHM patrons.

This essay examines the politics of the controversial proposal for US federal recognition for Native Hawaiians. It explores a range of historical and legal issues that shed light on the multiple claims that constitute the complex terrain of Hawaiian sovereignty politics. The article provides a historical overview of the events that impact the current situation and then discusses a particular set of contemporary conditions that serve as key elements in catalyzing widespread support for federal recognition. Available online via EBSCO, JSTOR and ScholarSpace.

Rice v. Cayetano involved a challenge to the voting qualifications for Hawai'i's Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA). Created during the 1978 Hawaiian Constitutional Convention, OHA manages lands held in trust for Native Hawaiians. To ensure OHA was representative of its constituents, voting for OHA trustees was initially restricted to Hawaiians--persons who had one ancestor in Hawai'i in 1778. In Rice, the Supreme Court held that OHA's voting restriction impermissibly used ancestry as a proxy for race in violation of the Fifteenth Amendment. Recognizing the origins of OHA calls into question the Court's decision to frame Rice as a case of racial discrimination and to evade the more complex question whether Native Hawaiians constitute a political community entitled to electoral self-governance. Available online via EBSCOhost, HeinOnline, and Nexis Uni for UHM patrons.

This dissertation examines the creation, challenges, and successes of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs during the past thirty-five years of its existence to demonstrate how the agency is uniquely poised to mediate greater forms of sovereignty and self-determination among Kānaka Maoli. Interspersed throughout this dissertation are analyses of key legal cases involving the Office of Hawaiian Affairs that have molded the arduous path toward reconciliation among the Hawaiian community, and between the federal and state governments. Available online via ProQuest for UHM patrons.

Office of Hawaiian Affairs chairman Clayton Hee discusses the affect of the Rice vs. Cayetano decision on OHA. The lawsuit, ceded land revenues, constitutional challenges to OHA, controversies surrounding Mililani Trask, and Hawaiian sovereignty are topics explored. Available online via UH Streaming Videos for UHM patrons.

This article analyzes the history of landholding in Hawai i and concludes that a different approach is necessary; the use of the ceded lands trust for the benefit of native Hawaiians should not be subject to Fourteenth Amendment equal protection scrutiny. Available online via HeinOnline, Nexis Uni, and JSTOR for UHM patrons.

The definitive resource for understanding critical legal issues affecting Native Hawaiians. This extensively revised and updated edition of the groundbreaking 1991 Native Hawaiian Rights Handbook offers a comprehensive overview and analysis of specific topics within this complex area of law. Native Hawaiian Law provides the tools to find relevant cases, statutes, and regulations impacting the rights of Native Hawaiians.

Written in partnership with Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law, this book covers ʻāina, colonization, and the history of the Islands post-Western contact, improper notice and loss of Native Hawaiian ancestral lands, and partition actions and the diminishment of Native Hawaiian ancestral lands.

This article examines Native Hawaiian legal issues and sovereignty aspirations against a backdrop of the long and unsavory history of American involvement in the Pacific islands that became our fiftieth state. Active legal issues, still unfolding in the courts and the United States Congress, are described. A selected annotated bibliography assesses scholarship in the area and provides a starting place for further research. Available online via HeinOnline Law Journal Library for UHM patrons.

For years, the Superferry and its government supporters failed to address the concerns of the Superferry opposition and failed to legitimate the importance of their concerns. This thesis contains a case study of the protest, and the factors and events motivating the decision to protest. The focal participants of the case study are four of the protesters who participated in this community action against the Superferry. Available online via ProQuest for UHM patrons.

Environmental groups' protests over the ferry's threat to whales and other sea life, and legal challenges forced the Hawaii Superferry to indefinitely suspend its operation just two days after its launch. Available online via Nexis Uni for UHM patrons.

Island insights (Television program). Guests discuss the Hawaii Superferry, environmental concerns, votes from neighbor islands, and regulation. Available online via UH Streaming Videos for UHM patrons.

Environmentalists worried about the effect on migrating humpback whales and the potential for transporting invasive species, successfully arguing that the company needed to file an environmental impact statement before launching service. Another problem is that ridership has been significantly lower than initially projected perhaps due at least in part to the publicity surrounding the cancellations and the resultant disruption to travel plans faced by stranded passengers.

Hawaii Revised Statute § 1-1 is an example of the enduring interplay between traditional law and Western law. Native Hawaiian traditional and customary rights and practices continue to persevere. Given that reality, anyone exploring business options in Hawaii must thoroughly understand applicable county, state, and federal laws and be particularly aware of distinct cultural overlays. You can help determine what the future holds for your own business ventures in Hawaii or other indigenous communities. Available online via JSTOR and EBSCOhost for UHM patrons.