It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch Manoa is the library's integrated search tool. It will search the library's catalog for material in the library, including books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more. Also will search ebooks and SOME databases.
Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
Includes full text medical textbooks, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine and the Lange Textbooks. Provides complete references for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data that is updated daily.
This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.
Annual Reviews was founded as a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping scientists the world over cope
with the ever-increasing volume of scientific research and data in a growing number of disciplines. Since the
publication of the first Annual Review of Biochemistry® in 1932, Annual Reviews has brought to its readers the
best in comprehensive and affordable scientific review literature.
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology of Plants, 2nd Edition has been hailed as a major contribution to the plant sciences literature and critical acclaim has been matched by global sales success. Maintaining the scope and focus of the first edition, the second will provide a major update, include much new material and reorganise some chapters to further improve the presentation. This book is meticulously organised and richly illustrated, having over 1,000 full-colour illustrations and 500 photographs. It is divided into five parts covering: Compartments, Cell Reproduction, Energy Flow, Metabolic and Developmental Integration, and Plant Environment and Agriculture. Specific changes to this edition include: Completely revised with over half of the chapters having a major rewrite. Includes two new chapters on signal transduction and responses to pathogens. Restructuring of section on cell reproduction for improved presentation. Dedicated website to include all illustrative material. Biochemistry and Molecular Biology of Plants holds a unique place in the plant sciences literature as it provides the only comprehensive, authoritative, integrated single volume book in this essential field of study.
"Biophysical Chemistry is an outstanding book that delivers both fundamental and complex biophysical principles, along with an excellent overview of the current biophysical research areas, in a manner that makes it accessible for mathematically and non-mathematically inclined readers." (Journal of Chemical Biology, February 2009) This text presents physical chemistry through the use of biological and biochemical topics, examples and applications to biochemistry. It lays out the necessary calculus in a step by step fashion for students who are less mathematically inclined, leading them through fundamental concepts, such as a quantum mechanical description of the hydrogen atom rather than simply stating outcomes. Techniques are presented with an emphasis on learning by analyzing real data. Presents physical chemistry through the use of biological and biochemical topics, examples and applications to biochemistry Lays out the necessary calculus in a step by step fashion for students who are less mathematically inclined Presents techniques with an emphasis on learning by analyzing real data Features qualitative and quantitative problems at the end of each chapter All art available for download online and on CD-ROM
Molecular Biology: Academic Cell Update provides an introduction to the fundamental concepts of molecular biology and its applications. It deliberately covers a broad range of topics to show that molecular biology is applicable to human medicine and health, as well as veterinary medicine, evolution, agriculture, and other areas. The present Update includes journal specific images and test bank. It also offers vocabulary flashcards. The book begins by defining some basic concepts in genetics such as biochemical pathways, phenotypes and genotypes, chromosomes, and alleles. It explains the characteristics of cells and organisms, DNA, RNA, and proteins. It also describes genetic processes such as transcription, recombination and repair, regulation, and mutations. The chapters on viruses and bacteria discuss their life cycle, diversity, reproduction, and gene transfer. Later chapters cover topics such as molecular evolution; the isolation, purification, detection, and hybridization of DNA; basic molecular cloning techniques; proteomics; and processes such as the polymerase chain reaction, DNA sequencing, and gene expression screening. Up to date description of genetic engineering, genomics, and related areas Basic concepts followed by more detailed, specific applications Hundreds of color illustrations enhance key topics and concepts Covers medical, agricultural, and social aspects of molecular biology Organized pedagogy includes running glossaries and keynotes (mini-summaries) to hasten comprehension
The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology. Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all aspects of it. This is partly due to the Genome projects and the successive -omics projects which have provided comprehensive information about genes, the functions of gene products, and cellular processes. At the same time, terms from other subject areas appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The popular Dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. The entries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for selected terms from Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology. There are over 21,000 main entries, which give details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, define methods and concepts in molecular biology, and give definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. It points out pitfalls where terms are often confused. It explains the precise syntax of biochemical terms, such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are lost when searching the Internet. In addition the dictionary is illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference for biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information outside their own fields, and for those wishing to revisit fundamental principles.
Contains some 4,500 entries and about 1,000 figures, formulas, and tables. Entries include citations of recent literature. This third edition offers many new entries reflecting advances in the understanding of molecular and cell biology, metabolic pathways, and the determination of macromolecular st