Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Home

Environmental Studies Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. The Hamilton Library Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers envrionmental studies from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have significant amounts of material on envrionmental studies for those geographic areas. The Science & Technology Collection includes information in related discplines.

Manoa MAGIS: The Library's Maps, Aerial, and GIS unit offers spatial information services including on-line viewing of aerial photography and supporting Geographic Information Systems teaching and research on campus.

Related Subjects

Selected research guides for disciplines related to environmental studies.

Environmental Studies Research Guide

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in environmental studies. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for environmental studies research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, OneSearch Manoa, or the librarians at the main reference desk.

Find BOOKS

Find JOURNAL ARTICLES

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library 1999 - present: searchable database of full text of all ASAE technical documents including journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical meetings, and books.
Biodiversity Heritage Library The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL), the digitization component of the Encyclopedia of Life, is a consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity.
The European Commission’s eContentPlus program has recently funded the BHL-Europe project, with 28 institutions, to assemble the European language literature. In addition, negotiations are being pursued with the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Atlas of Living Australia and Brazil to join the BHL consortium. These projects will work together to share content, protocols, services, and digital preservation practices.Prior to digitization, the resources housed within each BHL institution have existed in isolation, available only to those with physical access to the collections. These collections are of exceptional value because the domain of systematic biology depends – more than any other science – upon historic literature. Consequently, the relative isolation of these collections presented an antiquated obstacle to further biodiversity investigation. This problem is particularly acute for the developing countries that are home to the majority of the world’s biodiversity.

Quick REFERENCE

Dictionary of the Social Sciences (2002) (UHM users only) Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume,the entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology (2008) (UHM users only) With over 4,000 entries covering the essential vocabulary for everyday archaeological work in the English language. There is coverage of principles, theories, techniques, artifacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms.

Subject Liaison

David Brier

Contact:

Office: 808-956-2746

Fax: 808-956-5968

Email:daveb@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Library

2550 McCarthy Mall

Honolulu HI 96822

Subjects: Anthropology, Architecture, Communication, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Geography, Journalism, Law, Peace Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology, Urban & Regional Planning, Women's Studies