Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan Special Collection: Stanley Kaizawa Collection: Brandon's Research

Collection guide to the Stanley Y. Kaizawa Collecion

Dr. James R. Brandon, UHM Department of Theatre and Dance, extensively researched the Stanley Kaizawa Collection for his articles and book on Kabuki during the War and censorship by the Allied Occupation Forces of Japan. On this page, you can see some examples of the Kaizawa Collection materials and related resources cited by Dr. James Brandon.

Asian Theatre Journal

Myth and Reality: A story of Kabuki during American Censorship, 1945-1949 vol. 23, number 1, Spring 2006

Kaizawa calhoun at akita Staff at Toho bancho manuscript Kabuki play Yuki kabuki play hitotsuya
p.13, Fig 5 SK 2-142 p. 15, Fig 6 SK 2-033 p. 28, Fig 8 eVol Kaizawa bancho.pdf Plate 4 eVol Kaizawa yuki.pdf Plate 4 eVol Kaizawa hitotsuya.pdf
    kabuki play meikun    
    Plate 4 eVol Kaizawa meikun.pdf    
  • p. 13 Interviews June 8 & June 15, 2000
  • p. 14 Interviews June 20 & September 15, 2000
  • p. 18 Interview February 2, 2002
  • p. 34 Interview November 14, 2000
  • p. 34 Interview July 22, 2001
  • p. 34 Interview July 15, 2001
  • p. 69 Interview June 20, 2000
  • p. 70 Interview June 15, 2000
  • p. 75 Interview February 2, 2002
  • p. 90 Interview June 20, 2000
  • p. 90 Interview June 15, 2000
  • p. 93 Interview December 12, 2001

See also Vol. 24, number 2, Fall 2007 An Addendum to "Myth and Reality: A Story of kabuki under American Censorship, 1945-1949  

Kabuki's Forgotten War 1931-1945

Book by James R. Brandon Kabuki's Forgotten War 1931-1945

Otani article on JTp. 321 "One week after Japan's surrender, Otani Takejiro announced that Shochiku's basic post-war policy was to perform only traditional kabuki plays."  Nippon Times, August 28, 1945, Japan Times Archives Database

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P. 322 "In Engei gaho had run a forty-page special section, "A Photo Collection of Plays of the Righteous Ako Warriors: Representing the National Spirit."

terakoya ichikawa danjuro

 

 

 

 

 

 p. 347 "The Village School (Terakoya)"  SKalb 1-047    

 

 

 

 

bancho script  p. 347 "Broken Dish (Bancho Sarayashiki)"

 

 

 

 

kanjincho  p. 350 "Subscription (Kanjincho)" SKalb 1-074    

 

 

 

 

 

 

chushingura photo  p. 350 "Royal Retainers (Chushingura)" SKalb 1-109

Other Resources related to the Censorship

Microfiche

microfiche horizontal    microform reader     fiche screen image    fiche return box

Microfilm

microfilm reader    film reader    microfilm screen