1. New EndNote Library2. Managing Preferences3. Choosing Styles4. Entering a Reference5. Direct Export6. Importing With a Filter
1. Journal Names2. Edit Styles3. Connect to UH Voyager4. Remove Field Codes
1. Adding Citations (Method 1)2. Adding Citations (Method 2)3. Editing Citations4. Formating Bibliographies5. Other Word Processors
1. Groups2. EndNote Web Integration3. Creating a Bibliography List4. Find Full Text
This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

EndNote  

Use this guide to get started using EndNote.
Last Updated: Mar 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EndNote Versions

The most current version of EndNote is:

EndNote X7

 

EndNote X-what?

Every so often, EndNote releases new versions of the software.  They named version 10 "EndNote X" making version 11 "EndNote X1" and so on.  These new versions generally improve upon earlier versions, fix common bugs, add a few new features.  The new versions are not "updates" or "patches" -- to keep up to date, you must purchase the newest version (much like when you purchase the newest Windows or Mac OS).

For the most part, EndNote 8 and later are compatible.  However, if you or a colleague are using EndNote 7 or earlier, you may run into some trouble.  Go here to learn about how to troubleshoot Endnote version problems.

 

UH Voyager Connection File

 

What is EndNote?

Welcome to the UH Manoa Library's EndNote Guide

Use the tabs across the top to learn more about EndNote. Here's what you will find:

  • Keep reading this page to learn more about EndNote, what it is, why it's helpful and where to get it.

  • Getting Started goes through the essential EndNote functions step-by-step

  • Advanced Topics and Hints and Tips get a little deeper and point out fixes to some common problems.

  • More EndNote Help points out other places to go for help with EndNote.

What is EndNote?

Briefly, EndNote is a software program that helps you organize your research. Some of EndNote's many features allow you to: organize bibliographic citations in your own EndNote Library, transfer references from on-line databases into your EndNote Library, and instantly build bibliographies for your papers.

Where to get EndNote

UH Manoa students, faculty and staff can purchase a copy of EndNote at a discounted rate through UH Information Technology Services (ITS). Visit the ITS Endnote Site License Program page to learn how to order your copy.

EndNote is also available to UHM faculty, staff, and students on two computers near the Science & Technology Reference Desk.

Why should I use EndNote?

Whether you're a student, researcher or professor, EndNote is an extremely valuable tool when doing research and composing papers. The program stores your references, figures and PDFs all in one place on your computer, which makes retrieving these items easy. EndNote also works with Microsoft Word, Apple Pages and Open Office to insert in-text citations and compose bibliographies with just a few mouse clicks.

How do I use EndNote?

Use this Endnote Support Site to learn more about how EndNote works and look up where to get extra help!  The company's video tutorials are excellent, and of course there are always many user-created "how-to" videos on YouTube, with many created by librarians around the country.  Try some of ours by clicking on the tabs above or checking out the EndNote training page at http://endnote.com/training

 

Using This Guide

Think of this guide as your own personal online EndNote workshop!  

Naturally, the Getting Started tab is the best place to start. From there, use the drop down menu on the tab or the Getting Started Topics links on the page to go step-by-step through getting your EndNote library up and running. Then, just repeat with the rest of the tabs along the top as you need them!

EndNote Links

Here are some important EndNote links:

  • EndNote Site License Program
    Go here to purchase your up-to-date, discounted copy of EndNote through UH ITS.
  • EndNote Basic
    LibGuide for EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web), an online version of EndNote. This is a separate program from the desktop version of EndNote. It is a free version of EndNote available for institutions which subscribe to ISI Databases, like Web of Science.
  • EndNote.com
    This site has some great tutorials as well as an extensive FAQ list for troubleshooting. It will also connect you with EndNote customer service and technical support.

Looking for something else?

Are you interested in an EndNote alternative?  Check out our guide on Mendeley:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip