Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating a Bibliography List
You can use EndNote to create an independent and fully formatted bibliography without using the CWYW features. There are currently three ways to create stand-alone bibliographies without the CWYW feature. They are Copy Formatted/Pasted Method, Export Method, and Subject Bibliography Method.
The tutorials on this page demonstrate the three methods to make a bibliography list.
From The Experts
When creating a bibligraphy in this way, the references are sorted and formatted according to the style selected in the library.
The bibliography list is plain text - you can change any part of the list using the typical edit commands in Word but you can not use the CWYW commands to change the style.
Copy Formatted/Paste Method
- Select the records that you want in your bibliography list
- Change the citation style at the top of the bar with a drop-down menu
In EndNote 20, go to References → Copy Formatted Reference
In EndNote X9, go to Edit → Copy Formatted
- You can then paste the references into a Word document
Note: This list is text only and can not be edited in Word using the EndNote tools. To change the style of the list, go back to your EndNote library and select the style you wish to use, and repeat the process.
- Select the records you would like to have in your bibliography
- Then go to File → Export…
- Select location to save the file
- Afterward, choose the citation style you want under Output style. You will also need to select which file type you want the bibliography to be exported as under Save as type
- Finally, select Save to download the file in chosen location
Subject Bibliography Method
Subject Bibliography Method allows you to select references based on subject fields and keywords. The steps for the Subject Bibliography Method are:
- You will need to choose your selected citation style (APA, MLA, etc.) for your bibliography
- Then you will need to go to Tools → Subject Bibliography...
- From Subject Bibliography, you will need to select the subject fields to create a list of records using the fields
- From the list of records, select the ones you would like to be in your bibliography
- After finalizing your bibliography, select OK to create the bibliography list
- Next, the option Layout will allow you to modify and make changes to the format of your bibliography
- You will then need to save your bibliography list as a text file, RTF file, or in HTML.