Research Guides: Traditional Pacific Island Crops: Taro

Key Web Resources for Taro (Colocasia esculenta) and other Edible Aroids

The name taro is generally used to refer to Colocasia esculenta, one of several major root crops in the Araceae family (aroids). Taro probably originated in southeast Asia or southern Asia. It is believed to be one of the earliest crops to be domesticated with several centers of domestication, one being in New Guinea.

Early Pacific voyagers carried taro with them throughout the Pacific. Taro is still one of the most important staple food items in the region. Besides its importance as a subsistence crop, taro is also produced as a cash crop, mostly for sale in local markets. Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Fiji all produce significant amounts of taro. In addition to being a staple food, taro often has tremendous cultural significance to Pacific islanders.

While taro is the most widely grown aroid throughout the Pacific, there are several related crops that are also grown in the region and which may be more important in certain locations. These are giant swamp taro (Cyrtosperma chamissonis or Cyrtosperma merkusii), giant taro (Alocasia macrorrhiza), and cocoyam (Xanthosoma sagittifolium). All of these aroids are important crops throughout the tropical regions of the world. Because of this, each of these aroids has many common names and, confusingly, some common names can refer to more than one of them.

IN THIS BOX are links to COMPREHENSIVE or OVERVIEW web resources on this crop.

For web resources on SPECIFIC TOPICS, select the appropriate category in the BOX BELOW.

Farm and Forestry Production and Marketing Profile for Taro (Colocasia esculenta)
(Harley I. Manner and Mary Taylor. 2010. Specialty Crops for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Covers cultivation, harvest, processing, nutrient composition, economics and marketing; includes references. (2.24 Mb PDF file)
Farm and Forestry Production and Marketing Profile for Tannia (Xanthosoma spp.)
(H.I. Manner. 2010. Specialty Crops for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Covers cultivation, harvest, processing, nutrient composition, economics and marketing; includes references. (1.17 Mb PDF file)
Farm and Forestry Production and Marketing Profile for Giant Taro (Alocasia macrorrhiza)
(H.I. Manner. 2010. Specialty Crops for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Covers cultivation, harvest, processing, nutrient composition, economics and marketing; includes references. (1.56 Mb PDF file)
Farm and Forestry Production and Marketing Profile for Giant Swamp Taro (Cyrtosperma chamissonis)
(H.I. Manner. 2010. Specialty Crops for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Covers cultivation, harvest, processing, nutrient composition, economics and marketing; includes references. (1.31 Mb PDF file)
Taro Cultivation in Asia and the Pacific
(Inno Onwueme. 1999. RAP Publication 1999/16, FAO) Comprehensive monograph covering botany and ecology, general cultivation, diseases and pests, and composition and utilization. Includes specific information regarding production in many Asia and Pacific entities. Also available in PDF format.

Specific Topics for Taro (Colocasia esculenta) and other Edible Aroids

Taro Varieties in Hawaii
(UH Manoa, CTAHR) The information in this online catalog is extracted from the book titled "Taro Varieties in Hawaii." First published in 1939, it contains detailed descriptions of 84 varieties of taro then found in Hawaii.
Hawaiian Kalo Varieties (image database)
(UH Manoa Library) This collection of images is based on the slide images and research material produced and gathered by Lisa Schattenburg-Raymond in 1983. The original material consists of a 3-ring binder of slides and text titled A Pictorial Illustration of Hawaiian Kalo Varieties at Lyon Arboretum with descriptions from Taro Varieties in Hawaii.
Hawaiian Kalo: An Identification Guide for Taro in the Hawaiian Islands
Hawaii Biological Survey, Bishop Museum) "This key was created to help assist the general public, farmers, and horticulturalists alike to identify kalo (taro - Colocasia esculenta) horticultural varieties and other closely related species found in the Hawaiian Islands. As of February, 2006, the key assists in the identification of 97 horticultural varieties of taro." This identification key uses Lucid3 software.
Taro Varieties in the CNMI
(Dilip Nandwani and Anthony Tudela. 2010. Northern Marianas College) This publication provides brief information on growing taro, but mostly consists of color photographs and descriptions of varieties of taro being grown in CNMI. (6.86 Mb PDF file)
Guam Taro Guide
(George C. Wall and Alicja T. Wiecko. 2013. Western Pacific Tropical Research Center, Plant Pathology Laboratory, University of Guam) Photos and descriptions of taro varieties from the islands of Micronesia in the collection at the University of Guam. (11 Mb PDF file)
Cultivar Recognition in Micronesia: Banana, Breadfruit, Giant Swamp Taro and Pandanus
(Lois Englberger, Maureen H. Fitzgerald, et al. 2005. Plant Genetic Resources Newsletter 142:1-9) This paper reports on a study that was carried out in FSM to explore community cultivar recognition of selected staple foods that may represent familiarity with these foods and could potentially contribute to a healthy diet. The study focused on banana, breadfruit, giant swamp taro and pandanus, the FSM staple foods with the greatest carotenoid potential.
Taro Improvement and Development in Papua New Guinea - A Success Story
(Abner Yalu, Davinder Singh, and Shyam Singh Yadav. 2009. Asia Pacific Association of Agricultural Research Institutions (APAARI) This publication is about the implementation of a south Pacific regional project on taro conservation and utilization (TaroGen), and how the threat of taro leaf blight disease was successfully addressed; provides information on four high yielding leaf blight resistant taro varieties that have been released to the farmers. (1.3 Mb PDF file)
Regeneration Guidelines for Major Aroids (Crop Genebank Knowledge Base)
(CGIAR) The information on this page was extracted from: G.V.H. Jackson. 2008. Regeneration Guidelines: Major Aroids. In: Crop Specific Regeneration Guidelines. The major aroids covered are taro (Colocasia esculenta), Xanthosoma species and swamp taro (Cyrtosperma merkusii, C. chamissonis). 0.4 Mb PDF file available for download.
Global Diversity of Taro: Ethnobotany and Conservation
(R.V. Ramanatha, P.J. Matthews, P.B. Eyzaguirre, D. Hunter, eds. 2010. Bioversity International) Taro is a staple crop for several hundred million small farmers and planters throughout the tropical world. This book explores the diversity of taros and their uses as well as the status of taro genetic resources in all the major geographic regions where it is grown. (link to 3.4 Mb PDF file)
TaroGen Publications
(Secretariat of the Pacific Community) The TaroGen project was designed to assist Pacific Island countries in the collection and conservation of taro germplasm and in the use of the genetic resources in plant improvement programmes. The project commenced in June 1998 and ran through December 2003. The publications available from this page cover germplasm conservation and crop improvement and breeding. All available in pPDFformat.
Key Access and Utilization Descriptors for Taro Genetic Resources
(Bioversity International. 2009) This list consists of an initial set of characterization and evaluation descriptors for taro utilization. (96 Kb PDF file)
Descriptors for Taro (Colocasia esculenta)
(IPGRI. 1999) Descriptors used for documenting and managing genebank accessions and germplasm collection. (634 Kb PDF file)
Taro Varieties in Hawaii
(Leo D. Whitney, F.A.I. Bowers, and M. Takahasi. 1939. Bulletin No. 84, Hawaii Agricultural Experiment Station, University of Hawaii) The study contains detailed descriptions of 84 varieties of taro found in Hawaii in 1939. It includes a taxonomic key based on vegetative characteristics and descriptions of the varieties as well as all information that was available on origin, distribution, and use. (28 Mb PDF file)
Taro Breeding
(Jill E. Wilson. 1990. University of the South Pacific, Institute for Research, Extension and Training in Agriculture (IRETA), Publication 3/89) Detailed information on taro crossing, seed production, cultivar selection, and evaluation; includes line drawings. (531 Kb PDF file)
FAO / IBPGR Technical Guidelines for the Safe Movement of Edible Aroid Germplasm
(F.W. Zettler, G.V.H. Jackson, and E.A. Frison, eds. 1989 International Plant Genetic Resources Institute) Provides "crop-specific technical guidelines that provide relevant information on disease indexing and other procedures that will help ensure phytosanitary safety when germplasm is moved internationally." (646 Kb PDF file)
A Guide to Documenting Taro Varieties
(Jerry Konanui, 2014) In this video, Jerry Konanui gives an overview of how to document taro varieties using the list of plant descriptors found in “Descriptors for Taro – Colocasia esculenta,” published by the International Plant Genetic Resources Institute.

Tropical Root Crop Production in Florida
(M.L. Lamberts and S.M. Olson. 2009. In: Vegetable Production Handbook for Florida, University of Florida IFAS Extension) This publication covers cassava (Manihot esculenta), taro (Colocasia esculenta), tannia (Xanthosoma sagittifolium), and tropical sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas). It provides information on planting, fertilization, irrigation, and cultural practices including pesta and disease management.
IPM Crop Profiles
(Western Integrated Pest Management Center, USDA) Crop Profiles are descriptions of crop production and pest management recommendations compiled by state or commodity. Crops are listed by state and entity including these in the Pacific: American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, Northern Mariana Islands, and Palau. Includes profiles for bananas and plantains, sugarcane, sweet potatoes, and taro. Available only in PDF format.
Technical Reports and Brochures - American Samoa
(American Samoa Community College) A collection of technical papers and brochures based on research conducted by the ASCC staff since 1985. The reports cover all aspects of agriculture in American Samoa and include a number on cultivation, pests and diseases, and processing of banana and taro. Available in PDF format.
Research on Root and Tuber Crops (1995-2003)
(Alfred E. Hartemink) A brief description of Hartemink's research on taro and sweet potato in Papua New Guinea. The Publications section provides links to PDF files of his recent research papers on nutrient management in sweet potato and taro.
Taro Industry Development in Australia: The First Steps
Jeff Daniells, Mike Hughes, et al. 2009. Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation, Australian Government) "This publication addresses several issues that were considered to be hampering development of the Australian taro industry. It assesses the current state of the industry and explores the agronomy of taro, including cropping strategies, pest and disease issues and the accessibility of existing technical information." (2.2 Mb PDF file)
Taro Production Mechanisation and Industry Development
(Craig D. Lemin. 2006. Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation, Australian Government) This report examines mechanization of planting, harvesting, and washing/cleaning in the Australian taro industry; it principally evaluates technology currently being used by farmers in Australia. (906 Kb PDF file)
Taro Planting Material
(Jill E. Wilson and Linda S. Hamilton. 1987. University of the South Pacific, Institute for Research, Extension and Training in Agriculture (IRETA), Publication 14/87) Discusses type and size of planting material as well as how to select disease free propagation material; includes line drawings. (321 Kb PDF file)
Sustainable Taro Culture in the Pacific: The Farmer's Wisdom
(Lisa Ferentinos, ed. 2000. Taro Production Systems in the American Pacific, Low-input Sustainable Agriculture Taro Project) Methods of soil conservation, soil fertility, and weed, insect, and disease management in American Samoa, Hawaii, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Yap, Ulithi, and Pohnpei. (748Kb PDF file)

TaroPest: An Illustrated Guide to Pests and Diseases of Taro in the South Pacific
(A. Carmichael, R. Harding, G. Jackson, et al. 2008. ACIAR) Taro (Colocasia esculenta), which is a major food crop in the South Pacific, is subject to significant losses from pests and diseases. TaroPest has been developed as a guide to the pests and diseases of taro in the South Pacific. TaroPest consists of a field guide and a self-running CD-ROM, which is interactive and contains information additional to that presented in the manual. The field guide is designed to be a portable printed version to be used in conjunction with the CD-ROM. (2.08 Mb PDF file)
Insect Pests, 1997 - present
(College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR), UH Manoa) Access to free full text in pdf format of the College's insect pest publications. The collection currently includes publications on insect pests of banana and taro.
Plant Disease, 1997 - present
(College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR), UH Manoa) Access to free full text in pdf format of the College's plant disease publications. The collection includes publications on diseases of banana, coconut, kava ('awa), noni, sweet potato, and taro.
Nutrient Deficiences and Excesses in Taro
(Susan C. Miyasaka, Randall T. Hamasaki, and Ramon S. de la Pena. 2002. CTAHR, UH Manoa) The publication provides a key to taro nutrient disorders, identifies the leaf to sample for nutrient analysis, gives nutrient concentrations associated with deficiency, sufficiency, and toxicity, and illustrates symptoms of nutrient deficiencies and toxicities in taro leaves and roots. (737 Kb PDF file)
Plant Pests and Insects Publications (Agricultural Pests of the Pacific)
(ADAP Project. 2000) Leaflet series with color photographs of insect pests and crop damage. Includes pests of banana, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, kava, pandanus, sugarcane, sweet potato, and taro. All available in PDF format.
The Pacific Islands Pest List Database
(Secretary of the Pacific Community) This database contains records of pests and diseases that are currently known to affect agriculture, forestry and the environment in Pacific Island countries and territories (PICTs). Country pest lists are currently available for Samoa, Tonga, Niue, French Polynesia, Fiji, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, FSM, Palau and Marshall Islands. The database can be also be searched by crop; use either English common name or botanical name. The database contains records for all of the crops covered by this Web site.
Technical Reports and Brochures - American Samoa
(American Samoa Community College) A collection of technical papers and brochures based on research conducted by the ASCC staff since 1985. The reports cover all aspects of agriculture in American Samoa and include a number on cultivation, pests and diseases, and processing of banana and taro. Available in PDF format.
Viruses of Plants - Known Susceptibilities of Araceae
(A.A. Brunt, K. Crabtree, et al. 1996. Plant Viruses Online) Includes data on host range; transmission and control; geographical distribution; physical, chemical and genomic properties; taxonomy and relationships; and selected literature references.

Taro: Postharvest Quality-Maintenance Guidelines
(Robert E. Paull and Ching Cheng Chen. 2015. Vegetable and Root Crops VC-5, CTAHR, UH Manoa) Covers storage conditions, physiological disorders, and postharvest pathology.
The Commercial Storage of Fruits, Vegetables, and Florist and Nursery Stocks
(Kenneth C. Gross, et al. 2014. Agriculture Handbook HB-66. USDA, ARS.) This latest edition of Agriculture Handbook 66 (HB-66) represents a complete revision of the 1986 edition. It presents summaries of current storage requirements of fresh fruits, vegetables, cut flowers, and other horticultural crops. This highly improved and expanded version also includes information on quality characteristics, maturity indices, grading, packaging, precooling, retail display, chilling sensitivity, ethylene production and sensitivity, respiration rates, physiological disorders, postharvest pathology, quarantine issues, and suitability as fresh-cut product.
Edible Aroids - Post-Harvest Operations
(Linus U. Opara. 2003. Information Network on Post-harvest Operations (INPhO), FAO) Edible aroids are root crops grown widely in tropical and sub-tropical countries. Taro also known as cocoyam and tannia is the most common species. The short storage life of aroids at ambient temperatures of only 2 to 6 weeks is a limiting factor in their use. (0.6 Mb PDF file)
Traditional Post-harvest Technology of Perishable Tropical Staples
(Pamela A. Lancaster and D.G. Coursey. 1984. FAO Agricultural Services Bulletin No. 59) This Bulletin reviews the limited amount of information that has been recorded relating to the post-harvest technologies of the perishable, non-grain staple foods that have been developed in the traditional societies of the developing countries of the tropics. These foods are derived primarily from the tropical root crops cassava, yam, sweet potato and the various aroids; from fruit such as banana and breadfruit; and from the starches in pandanus and sago; includes references.
Storage and Processing of Roots and Tubers in the Tropics
(Aliou Diop and D.J.B. Calverley. 1998. FAO) This publication addresses storage and processing issues of the principal root and tuber crops of the tropics: cassava (Manihot esculenta), yam (Dioscorea spp.), sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas), potato (Solanum spp.) and edible aroids (Colocasia spp. and Xanthosoma sagittifolium). It covers factors affecting storability, principles of storage, and specific handling, storage methods, and processing for these crops.
Estimating the Per-pound Cost of a Dried or Condensed Food Based on Process Yield and Farm-gate Price
(James R. Hollyer and Alvin S. Huang. 1999. Entrepreneur's Toolbox ET-2, CTAHR, UH Manoa) Outlines the economics of drying and/or condensing food products; includes tables to calculate costs based on farm gate price per pound and yield after processing and refuse, and dehydration percentages for bananas, coconut, and taro. (28 Kb PDF file)
Technical Reports and Brochures - American Samoa
(American Samoa Community College) A collection of technical papers and brochures based on research conducted by the ASCC staff since 1985. The reports cover all aspects of agriculture in American Samoa and include a number on cultivation, pests and diseases, and processing of banana and taro. Available in PDF format.
Commercial Taro Chip Development Using Agri-chain Partnerships: A Processing, Marketing and Financial Analysis
(Vic O'Keefe, Greg Mason, et al. 2005. Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation, Australian Government) "This report is a detailed analysis of the processing, marketing and economic potential of producing a salty snack made from taro Colocasia esculenta. The objectives of this study were to determine the feasibility of establishing a taro chip processing industry in North Queensland." (1 Mb PDF file)
Processing Taro Chips
(James Hollyer, Robert Paull, and Alvin Huang, 2000, Food Manufacturing and Technology FMT-1, University of Hawaii at Manoa CTAHR) The taro cultivar 'Bun Long', grown under non-flooded conditions, is considered the best for making into chips. Guidelines for commercial-scale chip production are given. Describes frying methods, handling, packing, and equipment requirements. (26 Kb PDF file)

Hawaii Foods
(University of Hawaii at Manoa) Searchable and browseable database of nutrient information for a variety of foods and ingredients. Also provides access to an online dietary assessment tool, recipes, and full-text publications.
Roots, Tubers, Plantains and Bananas in Human Nutrition
(O.L. Oke, J. Redhead and M.A. Hussain. 1990. FAO) This publication reviews the value of roots, tubers, plantains and bananas in human nutrition. It also includes information on toxins and antinutritional factors. The crops covered include bananas and plantains (Musa sp.), cassava (Manihot esculenta), sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas), cocoyam (taro - Colocasia and Xanthosoma), and yam (Dioscorea sp.). The book is intended for nutritionists, agriculturists, dieticians, community development workers, school teachers and economists. It includes some information on processing these crops.
The Pacific Islands Food Composition Tables, 2nd ed.
(Cecily Dignan, Barbara Burlingame, Shailesh Kumar and William Aalbersberg. 2004. FAO) Food tables for a large variety of foods consumed in Pacific Islands. There are 22 nutrients in the main body of the tables, which are presented in a fixed format for each record. The order of presentation is based on major nutrient categories and convention.
Chemistry of Tropical Root Crops: Significance for Nutrition and Agriculture in the Pacific
(Howard Bradbury and Warren D Holloway. 1987. ACIAR Monograph No. 6) This publication reports the results of a study on the chemical composition and nutritional status of Pacific root crops including cassava (Manihot esculenta), sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas), yams (Dioscorea sp.), giant taro (Alocasia macrorrhiza var. macrorrhiza), giant swamp taro (Cyrtosperma chamissonis), and the taros (Colcasia esculenta and Xanthosoma sagittifolium). It includes a literature review as well as the original data generated in the ACIAR project. (22.83 Mb PDF file)
Community Food System Data Tables - Mand, Pohnpei
(Centre for Indigenous Peoples' Nutrition and Environment, McGill University) The data presented in the Pohnpei Datatable (available as a pdf file) are on nutrient content for a selection of Pohnpei foods that have been analyzed and identified as rich sources of nutrients. A focus was made on those foods and varieties having cultural importance. These included seeded and unseeded breadfruit, giant swamp taro, banana, pandanus, and several kinds of fish. Click on the link in the Notes on food components section to download the PDF file.
Feedipedia: An On-line Encyclopedia of Animal Feeds
(FAO) Feedipedia is an open access information system on animal feed resources that provides information on nature, occurrence, chemical composition, nutritional value and safe use of nearly 1400 worldwide livestock feeds.

Pacific Islands Cookbook
(ADAP Project. 1994. Instructional Material ADAP 94-4) A collection of recipes using local foods including: coconut, green leaves and vegetables, papaya, mango, banana, breadfruit, taro, yam, sweet potato, cassava, and fish and meat. Most of the recipes have an estimated nutritional value table. (1.7 Mb PDF file)
Taro (Pacific Foods Leaflet no. 5)
(Healthy Pacific Lifestyles Section, SPC. 2006) Covers all four types of taro used in the Pacific: Colocasia, Cyrtosperma, Alocasia, and Xanthosoma. Includes nutrient analysis, preparation, and recipes. (2.3 Mb PDF file)
Taro: A South Pacific Speciality (South Pacific foods leaflets; 1)
South Pacific Commission, 1992) This is an earlier edition of the SPC leaflet, but with different recipes. Also covers nutritional value, storage, and preparation.
Malanga (Xanthosoma) (Florida Food Fare)
(Mary King and Jean Meadows. 2007. University of Florida, IFAS) This article provides information on selection, nutritional value, preparation, and several recipes. (37 Kb PDF file)
Marshallese Food Preservation Projects
(Julia M. Alfred. 2003. Household Nutrition Education Program, Republic of the Marshall Islands) Instruction for traditional preparations of breadfruit, coconut, and taro; in Marshallese and English.

Developing Sustainable, Green and Inclusive Agricultural Value Chains in the Caribbean and the Pacific Islands
(M.J. Westlake, 2014, CTA FAO) Using evaluations of nine case studies in seven countries, this insightful book aims to draw comparisons between value chains in the Caribbean and the Pacific; includes a chapter about taro on Taveuni, Fiji (5.12 Mb PDF file available on this page)
Select Markets for Taro, Sweet Potato and Yam
(Grant Vinning. 2003. Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation) This report presents information concerning potential export markets in Japan and the U.S. for three Australian grown root crops: sweet potato, taro, and yam. It also presents information on the Australian production and marketing scene. It also examines some export competitors such as China for sweet potato and Fiji and Samoa for taro. (1.4 Mb PDF file)
International Agricultural Trade Statistics
(FAOSTAT) Figures are given for quantity and value of commodies imported/exported (in metric tonnes). International commodity prices are used to calculate the total value of each commodity produced by each country. Select "Countries" using the drop down menu and then use the drop down menu to select the crop product. (There may be statistics available for more than one product for a crop.) Country level statistics are available using the links in the left hand navigation bar.
International Agricultural Production Statistics
(FAOSTAT) Provides figures for area harvested, yield, and quantity produced (in metric tonnes)Use the drop down menu to select the crop. Country level statistics are available using the "Countries" drop down menu.
U.S. Census of Agriculture - 2007 Census Publications
(USDA, National Agricultural Statistics Service) The "Outlying Areas" section has links to the 2007 reports for Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. There are links to previous Census of Agriculture publications which also include American Samoa. Generally, the reports include harvest figures for banana and plantain, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, sweet potato, taro, and yam.

Alvin S. Huang (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Food chemist; crop research interests include bananas, breadfruit, kava, and taro.
Susan C. Miyasaka (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Agronomist; crop research interests include sweet potato and taro. Current projects include: sustainable cropping systems for tropical root crops and evaluation of sweet potato cultivars for fuel alcohol production.
Janice Y. Uchida (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Plant pathologist; crop research interests include disease management in taro.
International Network for Edible Aroids
INEA is a five-year project using edible aroids as a model to improve clonally propagated root and tuber crops of tropical countries. INEA has been set up with three main aims: to help countries access plants of varied genetic backgrounds; to assist with breeding strategies; and to demonstrate the effective use of modern technologies. INEA is led by the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC), Fiji, and the Centre de Cooporation Internationale en Recherche Agronomique pour le Developpement (CIRAD), France and Vanuatu.
Pacific Crops - ACIAR
(Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research) The Pacific Crops program aims to improve the productivity, profitability and sustainability of horticultural, root and tree crop-based farming systems in Papua New Guinea, selected Pacific Island countries and Australia. It has a multidisciplinary emphasis on integrated crop management, emphasising the production, protection, postharvest handling and marketing of key crops grown in these countries.
Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC), Land Resources Division
Working in partnership with its 26 members and with regional and international agencies, SPC assists the people of the region by delivering a wide range of technical, research, educational and planning services. The Land Resources Division provides assistance and does research on a variety of Pacific crops including banana, breadfruit, cassava, kava, pandanus, sweet potato, taro and other aroids, and yam. Land Resources Division (LRD) has established an email based Helpdesk system to provide technical advisory support to Pacific Island Countries & Territories (PICTs).
Island Food Community of Pohnpei
Island Food Community of Pohnpei aims to increase self-reliance through traditional food production whilst at the same time protecting the environment through small-scale agroforestry. They provide information resources on Micronesian cultivars of banana, breadfruit, pandanus, and taro and other edible aroids.
Taro Security & Purity Task Force
The Taro Security and Purity Task Force was established with the passage of Act 211 by the 2008 Hawaii State Legislature. It directs the task force to seek solutions to the challenges facing taro, taro farmers, and taro markets in the State of Hawaii.

Global Agricultural Research Archive (GARA)
(CABI) This database currently contains over 3,750 full text records from institutional partners in Malawi, Pakistan, Myanmar and the Philippines, from the 2008 IAALD conference on agricultural information and IT, and from RUFORUM.
PubAg
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
(University of Hawaii at Manoa Library) ScholarSpace is UH Manoa's institutional repository. It provides free Web access to many of the University's publications. It includes both legacy publications and current research papers, journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. All are available in full text as PDF files. Try using the Advanced Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRICOLA: 1970 - present
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) Citations, most with abstracts, to journal articles, books, theses, technical reports, and other publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany. Use the Keyword Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRIS: 1975 - present
(FAO) International database covering agricultural sciences and technology containing citations for conventional and non-conventional ("grey") literature. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
PubMed (Medline): 1946 - present
(U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH) Citations with abstracts for journal articles in biology and medicine including botany and nutrition. Citations may include links to free full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
Hawaiian Kalo Varieties (image database)
(UH Manoa Library) This collection of images is based on the slide images and research material produced and gathered by Lisa Schattenburg-Raymond in 1983. The original material consists of a 3-ring binder of slides and text titled A Pictorial Illustration of Hawaiian Kalo Varieties at Lyon Arboretum with descriptions from Taro Varieties in Hawaii.
Sorting Colocasia Names - Multilingual Multiscript Plant Name Database
(Snow Barlow. 2005. University of Melbourne) Lists approved botanical names and synonyms and provides common names in a number of languages.

Need More Help?

Didn't find the taro information you were looking for?

Email your question to the reference librarian