Research Guides: Traditional Pacific Island Crops: Cassava

Key Web Resources for Cassava (Manihot esculenta)

The exact origins of cassava (Manihot esculenta) are not yet known, but it is thought that it arose in central Brazil. Cassava was likely domesticated between 7,000 and 9,000 years ago in the Amazon and is now grown throughout the tropical regions of the world.

Root crops are an essential part of historic Pacific island diets, but taro, sweet potato, and yam are the traditional root crops of the region. Cassava was introduced to the Pacific sometime around 1800 during the early years of European contact. It has become an important dietary staple and in some entities is produced in larger quantity than the traditional, preferred root crops. In the Pacific region, cassava is generally not produced on a large scale. It is grown in subsistence and home gardens, and is available in local markets.

IN THIS BOX are links to COMPREHENSIVE or OVERVIEW web resources on this crop.

For web resources on SPECIFIC TOPICS, select the appropriate category in the BOX BELOW.

Manihot esculenta
(James A. Duke. 1983. Handbook of Energy Crops. unpublished.) Provides brief information on nomenclature, uses, folk medicine, chemical composition, toxicity, botanical description, germplasm, distribution, ecology, cultivation, harvesting, yields and economics, energy, and pests and diseases; includes references.

Specific Topics for Cassava (Manihot esculenta)

Cassava - Crop Genebank Knowledge Base
(CGIAR) This Web site provides access to information on current practices for genebank management of cassava gathered from current genebank practices and accumulated experience from CIAT and IITA, reviews from the literature and existing web sites of major cassava genebanks (EMBRAPA, Brazil; INIA, Peru), as well as valuable information from independent cassava consultants.
Cassava In Vitro Processing and Gene Banking
(Dominique Dumet, Abigael Adeyemi, and Omena Ojuederie. International Institute of Tropical Agriculture) This is a best practices manual describing the cassava in vitro gene banking process set up by IITA. (800 Kb PDF file)
Phytozome v10.3
Joint Genome Institute and the Center for Integrative Genomics) Phytozome provides access to thirty-one sequenced and annotated green plant genomes which have been clustered into gene families at eleven evolutionarily significant nodes. Cassava is one of the crops included.
Key Access and Utilization Descriptors for Cassava Genetic Resources
(Bioversity International, CIAT. 2009) This list consists of an initial set of characterization and evaluation descriptors for cassava utilization. (70 Kb PDF file)
FAO / IBPGR Technical Guidelines for the Safe Movement of Cassava Germplasm
(E.A. Frison and E. Feliu. 1991. International Plant Genetic Resources Institute) Provides "crop-specific technical guidelines that provide relevant information on disease indexing and other procedures that will help ensure phytosanitary safety when germplasm is moved internationally." (1.2 Mb PDF file)

Starting a Cassava Farm
(Braima James, John Yaninek, et al. 2000. International Institute of Tropical Agriculture) An IPM field guide for Extension Agents in Africa. (1.6 Mb PDF file)
Rapid Multiplication of Cassava
(International Institute of Tropical Agriculture) This is the first of two training videos with step-by-step instructions for rapid multiplication of the cassava stem demonstrating how a cassava plant can produce between 60 and 100 mini stem cuttings.
Tropical Root Crop Production in Florida
(M.L. Lamberts and S.M. Olson. 2009. In: Vegetable Production Handbook for Florida, University of Florida IFAS Extension) This publication covers cassava (Manihot esculenta), taro (Colocasia esculenta), tannia (Xanthosoma sagittifolium), and tropical sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas). It provides information on planting, fertilization, irrigation, and cultural practices including pesta and disease management.

The Pacific Islands Pest List Database
(Secretary of the Pacific Community) This database contains records of pests and diseases that are currently known to affect agriculture, forestry and the environment in Pacific Island countries and territories (PICTs). Country pest lists are currently available for Samoa, Tonga, Niue, French Polynesia, Fiji, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, FSM, Palau and Marshall Islands. The database can be also be searched by crop; use either English common name or botanical name. The database contains records for all of the crops covered by this Web site.
Plant Pests and Insects Publications (Agricultural Pests of the Pacific)
(ADAP Project. 2000) Leaflet series with color photographs of insect pests and crop damage. Includes pests of banana, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, kava, pandanus, sugarcane, sweet potato, and taro. All available in PDF format.
Viruses of Plants - Known Susceptibilities of Euphorbiaceae
(A.A. Brunt, K. Crabtree, et al. 1996. Plant Viruses Online) Includes data on host range; transmission and control; geographical distribution; physical, chemical and genomic properties; taxonomy and relationships; and selected literature references.

The Commercial Storage of Fruits, Vegetables, and Florist and Nursery Stocks
(Kenneth C. Gross, et al. 2014. Agriculture Handbook HB-66. USDA, ARS.) This latest edition of Agriculture Handbook 66 (HB-66) represents a complete revision of the 1986 edition. It presents summaries of current storage requirements of fresh fruits, vegetables, cut flowers, and other horticultural crops. This highly improved and expanded version also includes information on quality characteristics, maturity indices, grading, packaging, precooling, retail display, chilling sensitivity, ethylene production and sensitivity, respiration rates, physiological disorders, postharvest pathology, quarantine issues, and suitability as fresh-cut product.
Traditional Post-harvest Technology of Perishable Tropical Staples
(Pamela A. Lancaster and D.G. Coursey. 1984. FAO Agricultural Services Bulletin No. 59) This Bulletin reviews the limited amount of information that has been recorded relating to the post-harvest technologies of the perishable, non-grain staple foods that have been developed in the traditional societies of the developing countries of the tropics. These foods are derived primarily from the tropical root crops cassava, yam, sweet potato and the various aroids; from fruit such as banana and breadfruit; and from the starches in pandanus and sago; includes references.
Cassava - Post-Harvest Operations
(Mpoko Bokanga. 1999. Information Network on Post-harvest Operations (INPhO), FAO) Cassava is an edible root that provides an important source of carbohydrates for an estimated 500 million people in Africa, Asia and the Americas. World production was 230 million tonnes in 2008, with Nigeria as the largest producer followed by Brazil, Thailand and Indonesia (FAOSTAT). Key post-harvest considerations include the rapid deterioration of roots two to three days after harvesting and the presence of cyanides, which need to be detoxified during processing to make the root safe for consumption. (0.4 Mb PDF file)
Storage and Processing of Roots and Tubers in the Tropics
(Aliou Diop and D.J.B. Calverley. 1998. FAO) This publication addresses storage and processing issues of the principal root and tuber crops of the tropics: cassava (Manihot esculenta), yam (Dioscorea spp.), sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas), potato (Solanum spp.) and edible aroids (Colocasia spp. and Xanthosoma sagittifolium). It covers factors affecting storability, principles of storage, and specific handling, storage methods, and processing for these crops.

Roots, Tubers, Plantains and Bananas in Human Nutrition
(O.L. Oke, J. Redhead and M.A. Hussain. 1990. FAO) This publication reviews the value of roots, tubers, plantains and bananas in human nutrition. It also includes information on toxins and antinutritional factors. The crops covered include bananas and plantains (Musa sp.), cassava (Manihot esculenta), sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas), cocoyam (taro - Colocasia and Xanthosoma), and yam (Dioscorea sp.). The book is intended for nutritionists, agriculturists, dieticians, community development workers, school teachers and economists. It includes some information on processing these crops.
The Pacific Islands Food Composition Tables, 2nd ed.
(Cecily Dignan, Barbara Burlingame, Shailesh Kumar and William Aalbersberg. 2004. FAO) Food tables for a large variety of foods consumed in Pacific Islands. There are 22 nutrients in the main body of the tables, which are presented in a fixed format for each record. The order of presentation is based on major nutrient categories and convention.
Chemistry of Tropical Root Crops: Significance for Nutrition and Agriculture in the Pacific
(Howard Bradbury and Warren D Holloway. 1987. ACIAR Monograph No. 6) This publication reports the results of a study on the chemical composition and nutritional status of Pacific root crops including cassava (Manihot esculenta), sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas), yams (Dioscorea sp.), giant taro (Alocasia macrorrhiza var. macrorrhiza), giant swamp taro (Cyrtosperma chamissonis), and the taros (Colcasia esculenta and Xanthosoma sagittifolium). It includes a literature review as well as the original data generated in the ACIAR project. (22.83 Mb PDF file)
Feedipedia: An On-line Encyclopedia of Animal Feeds
(FAO) Feedipedia is an open access information system on animal feed resources that provides information on nature, occurrence, chemical composition, nutritional value and safe use of nearly 1400 worldwide livestock feeds.

Pacific Islands Cookbook
(ADAP Project. 1994. Instructional Material ADAP 94-4) A collection of recipes using local foods including: coconut, green leaves and vegetables, papaya, mango, banana, breadfruit, taro, yam, sweet potato, cassava, and fish and meat. Most of the recipes have an estimated nutritional value table. (1.7 Mb PDF file)
Cassava: A Popular Plant (South Pacific foods leaflets; 5)
(South Pacific Commission. 1995) This leaflet covers nutritional value, storage, preservation, and cooking; includes recipes.

Global Cassava Market Study: Business Opportunities for the Use of Cassava
(FAO. 2004) "The objective of this study was to identify viable business opportunities for the use of cassava. The report has explored the domestic and export opportunities for the three major markets for cassava, food, starch and animal feed."
The World Cassava Economy: Facts, Trends, and Outlook
(FAO and IFAD, 2000) This publication covers production yields, utilization, and trade. It also looks at cassava biotechnology and trade.
International Agricultural Trade Statistics
(FAOSTAT) Figures are given for quantity and value of commodies imported/exported (in metric tonnes). International commodity prices are used to calculate the total value of each commodity produced by each country. Select "Countries" using the drop down menu and then use the drop down menu to select the crop product. (There may be statistics available for more than one product for a crop.) Country level statistics are available using the links in the left hand navigation bar.
International Agricultural Production Statistics
(FAOSTAT) Provides figures for area harvested, yield, and quantity produced (in metric tonnes)Use the drop down menu to select the crop. Country level statistics are available using the "Countries" drop down menu.
U.S. Census of Agriculture - 2007 Census Publications
(USDA, National Agricultural Statistics Service) The "Outlying Areas" section has links to the 2007 reports for Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. There are links to previous Census of Agriculture publications which also include American Samoa. Generally, the reports include harvest figures for banana and plantain, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, sweet potato, taro, and yam.

Pacific Crops - ACIAR
(Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research) The Pacific Crops program aims to improve the productivity, profitability and sustainability of horticultural, root and tree crop-based farming systems in Papua New Guinea, selected Pacific Island countries and Australia. It has a multidisciplinary emphasis on integrated crop management, emphasising the production, protection, postharvest handling and marketing of key crops grown in these countries.
Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC), Land Resources Division
Working in partnership with its 26 members and with regional and international agencies, SPC assists the people of the region by delivering a wide range of technical, research, educational and planning services. The Land Resources Division provides assistance and does research on a variety of Pacific crops including banana, breadfruit, cassava, kava, pandanus, sweet potato, taro and other aroids, and yam. Land Resources Division (LRD) has established an email based Helpdesk system to provide technical advisory support to Pacific Island Countries & Territories (PICTs).
International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) - Agricultural Research for Development in Africa
Research areas cover tropical agriculture, plant health, and crop improvement and management in the tropics. Crops covered include cassava, cowpea, maize, plantain/banana, soybean, and yam.
International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT)
CIAT develops technologies, methods, and knowledge that better enable farmers, mainly smallholders, to enhance eco-efficiency in agriculture. This means we make production more competitive and profitable as well as sustainable and resilient through economically and ecologically sound use of natural resources and purchased inputs. CIAT has global responsibility for the improvement of two staple foods, cassava and common bean, together with tropical forages for livestock.

AgEcon Search
(University of Minnesota and Agricultural and Applied Economics Association) AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Global Agricultural Research Archive (GARA)
(CABI) This database currently contains over 3,750 full text records from institutional partners in Malawi, Pakistan, Myanmar and the Philippines, from the 2008 IAALD conference on agricultural information and IT, and from RUFORUM.
FAO Document Repository
(FAO) The Document Repository is FAO’s online archive for collecting, preserving and disseminating digital copies of the Organization’s knowledge outputs to ensure that they are available to the widest possible audience. It contains publications, journals, official meeting documents, technical reports and information materials produced by FAO offices worldwide.
PubAg
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
(University of Hawaii at Manoa Library) ScholarSpace is UH Manoa's institutional repository. It provides free Web access to many of the University's publications. It includes both legacy publications and current research papers, journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. All are available in full text as PDF files. Try using the Advanced Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRICOLA: 1970 - present
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) Citations, most with abstracts, to journal articles, books, theses, technical reports, and other publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany. Use the Keyword Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRIS: 1975 - present
(FAO) International database covering agricultural sciences and technology containing citations for conventional and non-conventional ("grey") literature. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
PubMed (Medline): 1946 - present
(U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH) Citations with abstracts for journal articles in biology and medicine including botany and nutrition. Citations may include links to free full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
Sorting Manihot Names - Multilingual Multiscript Plant Name Database
(Snow Barlow. 2007. University of Melbourne) Lists approved botanical names and synonyms and provides common names in a number of languages.

Need More Help?

Didn't find the cassava information you were looking for?

Email your question to the reference librarian