Research Guides: Traditional Pacific Island Crops: Noni

Key Web Resources for Noni (Morinda citrifolia)

Morinda citrifolia (noni or Indian mulberry) is native to the area from South East Asia to northern Australia. Noni is believed to be among the original plants that Pacific islanders brought with them in their voyaging canoes. They valued the plant for its medicine and dyes. It is now grown throughout the tropics.

Noni is grown in most parts of the Pacific and all parts of the plants have either traditional or modern uses. Although it has been used medicinally by Polynesians for thousands of years, commercial cultivation and processing of noni juice products is a recent, economically important development.

IN THIS BOX are links to COMPREHENSIVE or OVERVIEW web resources on this crop.

For web resources on SPECIFIC TOPICS, select the appropriate category in the BOX BELOW.

Noni Website
(Scot C. Nelson, CTAHR, UH Manoa) Comprehensive Web site covering botany, horticulture and production, harvesting and processing, marketing, and pests and diseases; includes links to information on the medical aspects of noni use.
Morinda citrifolia (Noni)
(S.C. Nelson. 2006. Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Comprehensive monograph on noni in the Pacific. Covers botany, genetics, growing conditions, propagation, uses and products, and agroforestry applications; includes references. (860 Kb PDF file)
Morinda citrifolia
(World Agroforestry Centre, AgroForestryTree Database) Briefly covers botany, ecology, propagation and management, uses, and pests and diseases; includes references. (420 Kb PDF file)

Specific Topics for Noni (Morinda citrifolia)

No free, full-text resources have been found for this specific topic.

In many cases, the documents linked in the Key Web Resources section above will provide some information on this topic. Additional information may also be available by searching the resources in the Databases tab.

Please email us if you know of resources for this page.

Noni Cultivation in Hawaii
(Scot C. Nelson. 2001. Fruits and Nuts F&N-4, CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa) Covers propagation from seed and cuttings, site selection, windbreaks, cultural practices such as fertilization and pruning, diseases, weeds, pests, and harvesting. (30 Kb PDF file)
Noni Seed Handling and Seedling Production
(Scot Nelson. 2005. Fruits & Nuts FN-10, CTAHR, UH Manoa) This publication describes the anatomy and properties of noni seeds, how to harvest and process them for propagation, and how to produce noni seedlings for outplanting. (915 Kb PDF file)
Propagation Protocol for Production of Container Morinda citrifolia Plants
Craig R. Elevitch and Kim M. Wilkinson. 2004. Native Plant Network) This protocol covers propagation of noni from seed.

Noni (Morinda citrifolia) Pest and Disease Image Gallery (Hawaii)
(Scot C. Nelson, CTAHR, Univeristy of Hawaii at Manoa) Online quick reference for Hawaii’s noni growers. "More than 140 digital photos of pests and diseases of noni (Morinda citrifolia) in Hawaii are provided here to help noni growers diagnose their pest or disease problems."
The Pacific Islands Pest List Database
(Secretary of the Pacific Community) This database contains records of pests and diseases that are currently known to affect agriculture, forestry and the environment in Pacific Island countries and territories (PICTs). Country pest lists are currently available for Samoa, Tonga, Niue, French Polynesia, Fiji, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, FSM, Palau and Marshall Islands. The database can be also be searched by crop; use either English common name or botanical name. The database contains records for all of the crops covered by this Web site.
Plant Disease, 1997 - present
(College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR), UH Manoa) Access to free full text in pdf format of the College's plant disease publications. The collection includes publications on diseases of banana, coconut, kava ('awa), noni, sweet potato, and taro.

No free, full-text resources have been found for this specific topic.

Please email us if you know of resources for this page.

No free, full-text resources have been found for this specific topic.

Please email us if you know of resources for this page.

No free, full-text resources have been found for this specific topic.

Please email us if you know of resources for this page.

Potential for a New Value Adding Industry for Noni Tropical Fruit Producers
(Helen Macpherson, Jeff Daniells, et al. 2009. Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation, Australian Government) In this report, "researchers examined existing literature on the plant Morinda citrifolia (noni) and its juice extract and assessed the agronomic best practices, the fermentation process and the supposed therapeutic effects. An independent market research report on the global noni juice market is included indicating market opportunities and potential returns to Australian producers." (301 Kb PDF file)

Scot C. Nelson (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Plant pathology and disease management; crop research interests include bananas, kava ('awa), and noni. Projects include: banana bunchy top and banana farming.

PubAg
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
(University of Hawaii at Manoa Library) ScholarSpace is UH Manoa's institutional repository. It provides free Web access to many of the University's publications. It includes both legacy publications and current research papers, journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. All are available in full text as PDF files. Try using the Advanced Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRICOLA: 1970 - present
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) Citations, most with abstracts, to journal articles, books, theses, technical reports, and other publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany. Use the Keyword Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRIS: 1975 - present
(FAO) International database covering agricultural sciences and technology containing citations for conventional and non-conventional ("grey") literature. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
PubMed (Medline): 1946 - present
(U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH) Citations with abstracts for journal articles in biology and medicine including botany and nutrition. Citations may include links to free full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
Sorting Morinda Names - Multilingual Multiscript Plant Name Database
(Snow Barlow. 2007. University of Melbourne) Lists approved botanical names and synonyms and provides common names in a number of languages.

Need More Help?

Didn't find the noni information you were looking for?

Email your question to the reference librarian