Research Guides: Traditional Pacific Island Crops: Bananas

Key Web Resources for Bananas and Plantains (Musa spp.)

Bananas, including the type commonly called plantains, are in the genus Musa. Musa species are native to the Indo-Malesian, Asian, and Australian tropics. Bananas were carried throughout the Pacific by the earliest indigenous voyagers.

Bananas have always been an essential part of Pacific island life. In addition to the fruit, every part of the plant is useful. They are still an important part of home and subsistence gardens in the region. In the Pacific islands, bananas are also grown commercially on a relatively small scale, mostly for local consumption.

IN THIS BOX are links to COMPREHENSIVE or OVERVIEW web resources on this crop.

For web resources on SPECIFIC TOPICS, select the appropriate category in the BOX BELOW.

Musa Species (Bananas and Plantains)
(S.C. Nelson, R.C. Ploetz, and A.K. Kepler. 2006. Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Comprehensive monograph on banana and plantain growing in the Pacific. Covers botany, genetics, growing conditions, propagation, pests and diseases particularly those found in the Pacific, uses and products, and agroforestry applications; includes references. (1.9 Mb PDF)
Banana
(Julia F. Morton. 1987. Fruits of Warm Climates) Covers horticulture of the banana; propagation, culture, pests, and diseases; also includes harvesting, yield, food uses, and nutritional value.
Banana Growing in the Florida Home Landscape
(Jonathan H. Crane, Carlos F. Balerdi, and Ian Maguire. 2008. Florida Cooperative Extension Service) General overview of the banana including introduction, history and distribution, uses, plant description, environmental factors, soils, propagation, varieties, spacing, planting, fertilization, irrigation, cultivation, pruning, harvesting, and disease, insect, and nematode problems. Dowloadable PDF file available.
Banana Guide for the CNMI
(Dilip Nandwani, Anthoy Tudela,and Isidoro T. Cabrera. 2010. Northern Marianas College) This publication covers plant cultural practices and pests and diseases with specific reference to the Northern Marianas Islands. It includes color photographs of both local and introduced banana varieties. (5.7 Mb PDF file)
Bananas
(Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, Queensland, Australia) Access to numerous reports for banana growers covering all aspects of crop management and marketing.
Growing Banana and Plantain in the Virgin Islands
(Christopher Ramcharan and Clinton George. 1999. University of the Virgin Islands, Farmers Bulletin No. 11) Covers cultivars recommended for the Virgin Islands, management practices, pests and their control, nutritive value, and information on costs and return in the Virgin Islands.
History of Banana Domestication
(Special Issue - Ethnobotany Research and Applications, Volume 7, 2009) Ethnobotany Research and Applications is an electronic, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary journal. This issue contains twelve articles by leading scholars on the state of scientific knowledge about the origin, history and dispersal of bananas. Available in PDF format.
Tropical Fruit Gallery: Banana
(International Tropical Fruits Network) In depth information on botany, cultivaton, processing, nutritive value, etc.; includes references.

Specific Topics for Bananas and Plantains (Musa spp.)

Banana and Plantain - An Overview with Emphasis on Pacific Island Cultivars
(R.C. Ploetz, A.K. Kepler, J. Daniells, and S.C. Nelson. 2007. Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Focuses on the genetics of Pacific Island cultivars; many color photos of cultivars. (1.7 Mb PDF file)
Cultivar Recognition in Micronesia: Banana, Breadfruit, Giant Swamp Taro and Pandanus
(Lois Englberger, Maureen H. Fitzgerald, et al. 2005. Plant Genetic Resources Newsletter 142:1-9) This paper reports on a study that was carried out in FSM to explore community cultivar recognition of selected staple foods that may represent familiarity with these foods and could potentially contribute to a healthy diet. The study focused on banana, breadfruit, giant swamp taro and pandanus, the FSM staple foods with the greatest carotenoid potential.
Illustrated Guide to the Identification of Banana Varieties in the South Pacific
(Jeff Daniells. 1995. ACIAR Monograph No. 33) This guide provides keys, descriptions, lists and photographs of the banana varieties in the South Pacific and those being introduced for disease screening. It covers both indigenous varieties and later introductions. (12.5 Mb PDF file)
Banana Cultivar Checklist
(ProMusa) The banana cultivar checklist is a list of cultivar names and the groups into which they are classified. The main goal of the checklist is to arrive at an internally coherent list of names indicating which ones are synonyms (different names that refer to the same cultivar) and homonyms (similar names that refer to different cultivars).
Banana Improvement: Cellular, Molecular Biology, and Induced Mutations
(S. Mohan Jain and Rony Swennen. 2004. FAO) This HTML publication presents "the results from the FAO/IAEA Coordinated Research Project entitled “Cellular biology and biotechnology including mutation techniques for creation of new useful banana genotypes”. The book also contains several review papers providing up-to-date information on biotechnological tools that can be used to produce new Musa varieties with desirable characters in a more rapid and efficient way."
Global Musa Genomics Consortium
"The Global Musa Genomics Consortium (GMGC) is an international network of scientists who are applying genomics tools to the banana to ultimately improve its breeding and management. The consortium currently brings together expertise from various institutions in different countries."
Key Access and Utilization Descriptors for Banana Genetic Resources
(Bioversity International. 2009) This list consists of an initial set of characterization and evaluation descriptors for banana uutilization. (122 Kb PDF file)
Musaceae: An Annotated List of the Species of Ensete, Musa and Musella
(David Constantine and Gerda Rossel, last updated 2008) Discusses and documents the list of extant species in the family and also provides a list of published names cross-referenced to the currently accepted names.
Musa spp. FAO / IPGRI Technical Guidelines for the Safe Movement of Germplasm, 2nd ed.
(Diekmann, M.; Putter, C.A.J. (eds.), 1996, International Plant Genetic Resources Institute (IPGRI)) Provides "crop-specific technical guidelines that provide relevant information on disease indexing and other procedures that will help ensure phytosanitary safety when germplasm is moved internationally." (732 Kb PDF file)
Musa Germplasm Information System
"The Musa Germplasm Information System (MGIS) contains key information on Musa germplasm diversity, including passport data, botanical classification, morpho-taxonomic descriptors, molecular studies, plant photographs and GIS information on accessions managed in collections around the world."
Descriptors for Banana (Musa spp.)
(IPGRI, INIBAP, CIRAD. 1996) Descriptors used for documenting and managing genebank accessions and germplasm collection. (444 kb PDF file)
Catalogues of Musa Germplasm
(MusaNet) Descriptions and links to several publications documenting banana species and cultivars. Available in PDF format.
Banana - Crop Genebank Knowledge Base
(CGIAR) This Web site provides access to information on current practices for genebank management of banana gathered from available literature and web sites as well as from current practices and accumulated experience from major banana collection genebanks and laboratories. Emphasizes conservation, characterization, ans safety duplication. (Bioversity International, IITA, CIRAD and EMBRAPA genebanks).

Improved Plantain Production
(E. Lionelle Ngo-Samnick. 2011. CTA and ISF) This 24 page booklet provides a step-by-step description of the main stages for producing plantain from stem fragments. It also gives recommended steps for growing plantains. Written for farmers and extension workers. (link to PDF file on this page)
IPM Crop Profiles
(Western Integrated Pest Management Center, USDA) Crop Profiles are descriptions of crop production and pest management recommendations compiled by state or commodity. Crops are listed by state and entity including these in the Pacific: American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, Northern Mariana Islands, and Palau. Includes profiles for bananas and plantains, sugarcane, sweet potatoes, and taro. Available only in PDF format.
Technical Reports and Brochures - American Samoa
(American Samoa Community College) A collection of technical papers and brochures based on research conducted by the ASCC staff since 1985. The reports cover all aspects of agriculture in American Samoa and include a number on cultivation, pests and diseases, and processing of banana and taro. Available in PDF format.
Growing Bananas (Video)
(Scot C. Nelson. June 2009. CTAHR, UH Manoa) Covers most aspects of banana farming in Hawaii.

Banana (Musa sp.) Pest and Disease Image Gallery
(Scot Nelson, College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR), UH Manoa) Online quick reference for Hawaii’s banana growers of digital photos of more than 30 pest and disease problems of bananas in Hawaii and the Pacific.
The Pacific Islands Pest List Database
(Secretary of the Pacific Community) This database contains records of pests and diseases that are currently known to affect agriculture, forestry and the environment in Pacific Island countries and territories (PICTs). Country pest lists are currently available for Samoa, Tonga, Niue, French Polynesia, Fiji, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, FSM, Palau and Marshall Islands. The database can be also be searched by crop; use either English common name or botanical name. The database contains records for all of the crops covered by this Web site.
Insect Pests, 1997 - present
(College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR), UH Manoa) Access to free full text in pdf format of the College's insect pest publications. The collection currently includes publications on insect pests of banana and taro.
Plant Disease, 1997 - present
(College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR), UH Manoa) Access to free full text in pdf format of the College's plant disease publications. The collection includes publications on diseases of banana, coconut, kava ('awa), noni, sweet potato, and taro.
Banana Bunchy Top Disease in Hawaii
(Scot Nelson. 2006. CTAHR, UH Manoa) Covers symptoms and diagnosis, banana aphids, and disease management; many images and a video are included.
Report Document on Diagnosis of Banana, Yam and Other Diseases in Pohnpei
Scot C. Nelson and Flordeliza B. Javier. 2001. Cooperative Research and Extension, College of Micronesia - FSM) Reports on the identification of a fungal disease of banana, yam rust disease, and phytophthora fruit rot of breadfruit; includes many color photographs of disease symptoms. (1.7 Mb PDF file)
Plant Pests and Insects Publications (Agricultural Pests of the Pacific)
(ADAP Project. 2000) Leaflet series with color photographs of insect pests and crop damage. Includes pests of banana, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, kava, pandanus, sugarcane, sweet potato, and taro. All available in PDF format.
Technical Reports and Brochures - American Samoa
(American Samoa Community College) A collection of technical papers and brochures based on research conducted by the ASCC staff since 1985. The reports cover all aspects of agriculture in American Samoa and include a number on cultivation, pests and diseases, and processing of banana and taro. Available in PDF format.
Production of Virus-Free Banana Plantlets in Taiwan
(Shin-Chuan Hwang and Hong-Ji Su. 1998. Food & Fertilizer Technology Center for the Asian and Pacific Region) This Bulletin discusses the use of banana plantlets produced by tissue culture in Taiwan. The tissue culture program for banana was begun in 1983. Originally started to produce plantlets free of fusarium wilt, the program is now also used to ensure that banana planting materials are free of virus. A total of 26 million plantlets have been produced under the program. The advantages of TC plantlets are discussed, and also their disadvantages, such as their susceptibility to herbicide damage and occasional rooting problems. Finally, the Bulletin describes a series of cultural methods to protect disease-free plantlets from virus reinfection in the field.
BBTV, CMV and Other Viruses Affecting Banana in Asia and the Pacific
(L.V. Magnaye and R.V. Valmayor. 1995. INIBAP Asia and the Pacific Network) Covers history, distribution, economic importance, symptoms, transmission, vectors, host range, and control of regionally important banana viruses. (link to PDF file also available)
Mitigating the Threat of Banana Fusarium Wilt: Final Report
(Agustin B. Molina. 2010. ACIAR) Fusarium wilt disease is a major banana production constraint in Indonesia. varieties. Since the early 1990s, the disease has caused multi-million dollar losses. It is a serious threat to nearby Papua New Guinea where bananas are important source of foods. This project aimed to reduce the spread and damage of Foc by understanding the distribution of its various races and developing mitigation measures. (link to 1.52 Mb PDF file)
Viruses of Plants - Known Susceptibilities of Musaceae
(A.A. Brunt, K. Crabtree, et al. 1996. Plant Viruses Online) Includes data on host range; transmission and control; geographical distribution; physical, chemical and genomic properties; taxonomy and relationships; and selected literature references.

The Commercial Storage of Fruits, Vegetables, and Florist and Nursery Stocks
(Kenneth C. Gross, et al. 2014. Agriculture Handbook HB-66. USDA, ARS.) This latest edition of Agriculture Handbook 66 (HB-66) represents a complete revision of the 1986 edition. It presents summaries of current storage requirements of fresh fruits, vegetables, cut flowers, and other horticultural crops. This highly improved and expanded version also includes information on quality characteristics, maturity indices, grading, packaging, precooling, retail display, chilling sensitivity, ethylene production and sensitivity, respiration rates, physiological disorders, postharvest pathology, quarantine issues, and suitability as fresh-cut product.
Traditional Post-harvest Technology of Perishable Tropical Staples
(Pamela A. Lancaster and D.G. Coursey. 1984. FAO Agricultural Services Bulletin No. 59) This Bulletin reviews the limited amount of information that has been recorded relating to the post-harvest technologies of the perishable, non-grain staple foods that have been developed in the traditional societies of the developing countries of the tropics. These foods are derived primarily from the tropical root crops cassava, yam, sweet potato and the various aroids; from fruit such as banana and breadfruit; and from the starches in pandanus and sago; includes references.
Banana: Recommendations for Maintaining Postharvest Quality
(Postharvest Technology, UC Davis) Covers maturity and quality indices; optimum storage conditions; responses to postharvest treatments; physiological and pathological disorders; includes photos.
Banana and Plantain Postharvest Publications
(Postharvest Technology, UC Davis) Full text publications on post harvest handling of bananas. Publications are available in PDF format from this page.
Estimating the Per-pound Cost of a Dried or Condensed Food Based on Process Yield and Farm-gate Price
(James R. Hollyer and Alvin S. Huang. 1999. Entrepreneur's Toolbox ET-2, CTAHR, UH Manoa) Outlines the economics of drying and/or condensing food products; includes tables to calculate costs based on farm gate price per pound and yield after processing and refuse, and dehydration percentages for bananas, coconut, and taro. (28 Kb PDF file)
Plantain - Post-Harvest Operations
(J. Tchango Tchango, A.Bikoï, et al. 1999. Information Network on Post-harvest Operations (INPhO), FAO) Plantain is a staple food and major source of carbohydrates for millions of people in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, and the Pacific. The fruit is predominantly used for human consumption and is generally cooked by boiling or frying when mature (green) or ripened. There is great potential for the crop in improved production methods and post-harvest techniques. (1.5 Mb PDF file)

Hawaii Foods
(University of Hawaii at Manoa) Searchable and browseable database of nutrient information for a variety of foods and ingredients. Also provides access to an online dietary assessment tool, recipes, and full-text publications.
Roots, Tubers, Plantains and Bananas in Human Nutrition
(O.L. Oke, J. Redhead and M.A. Hussain. 1990. FAO) This publication reviews the value of roots, tubers, plantains and bananas in human nutrition. It also includes information on toxins and antinutritional factors. The crops covered include bananas and plantains (Musa sp.), cassava (Manihot esculenta), sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas), cocoyam (taro - Colocasia and Xanthosoma), and yam (Dioscorea sp.). The book is intended for nutritionists, agriculturists, dieticians, community development workers, school teachers and economists. It includes some information on processing these crops.
Community Food System Data Tables - Mand, Pohnpei
(Centre for Indigenous Peoples' Nutrition and Environment, McGill University) The data presented in the Pohnpei Datatable (available as a pdf file) are on nutrient content for a selection of Pohnpei foods that have been analyzed and identified as rich sources of nutrients. A focus was made on those foods and varieties having cultural importance. These included seeded and unseeded breadfruit, giant swamp taro, banana, pandanus, and several kinds of fish. Click on the link in the Notes on food components section to download the PDF file.
The Pacific Islands Food Composition Tables, 2nd ed.
(Cecily Dignan, Barbara Burlingame, Shailesh Kumar and William Aalbersberg. 2004. FAO) Food tables for a large variety of foods consumed in Pacific Islands. There are 22 nutrients in the main body of the tables, which are presented in a fixed format for each record. The order of presentation is based on major nutrient categories and convention.
Feedipedia: An On-line Encyclopedia of Animal Feeds
(FAO) Feedipedia is an open access information system on animal feed resources that provides information on nature, occurrence, chemical composition, nutritional value and safe use of nearly 1400 worldwide livestock feeds.

Pacific Islands Cookbook
(ADAP Project. 1994. Instructional Material ADAP 94-4) A collection of recipes using local foods including: coconut, green leaves and vegetables, papaya, mango, banana, breadfruit, taro, yam, sweet potato, cassava, and fish and meat. Most of the recipes have an estimated nutritional value table. (1.7 Mb PDF file)
Banana: A Tropical Treat (South Pacific foods leaflets; 7)
(South Pacific Commission. 1983) This is an earlier edition of the SPC leaflets, but with different recipes. Also covers nutritional value, preparation, and preservation.
Dessert Banana (Pacific Foods Leaflet No. 1)
Healthy Pacific Lifestyles Section, SPC. 2006) Includes nutrient analysis, preparation, and recipes for dessert bananas. (2.0 Mb PDF file)
Cooking Banana (Pacific Foods Leaflet No. 2)
(Healthy Pacific Lifestyles Section, SPC. 2006) Includes nutrient analysis, preparation, and recipes for cooking bananas. (2.0 Mb PDF file)
The Fruits We Eat
(Mele’ofa Malolo, Tai’ora Matenga-Smith, and Jimaima Tunidau-Schultz. 2001. Secretariat of the Pacific Community. SPC Handbook) This handbook provides information on selection, storage, preparation, food values, and recipes for commonly available fruits in the Pacific. (2.33 Mb PDF file)
What's Cooking? USDA Mixing Bowl
(USDA) Results of search on "banana"
Plantain (Florida Food Fare)
(Mary King. 2007. University of Florida, IFAS) This article provides information on selection, nutritional value, preparation, and several recipes. (61 Kb PDF file)
Bananas (Florida Food Fare)
(Mary King and Mary Jo Oswald. 2007. University of Florida, IFAS) This article provides information on selection, nutritional value, preparation, and several recipes. (37 Kb PDF file)

U.S. Census of Agriculture - 2007 Census Publications
(USDA, National Agricultural Statistics Service) The "Outlying Areas" section has links to the 2007 reports for Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. There are links to previous Census of Agriculture publications which also include American Samoa. Generally, the reports include harvest figures for banana and plantain, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, sweet potato, taro, and yam.
Federated States of Micronesia - Merchandise Trades Statistics
(Federated States of Micronesia, Division of Statistics) Provides dollar value of exports for banana, kava, betel nuts, copra, and root crops for 2000 through 2006.
Banana Statistics - Hawaii
(USDA, NASS) Use the box to search for "bananas" and get links to PDF files reports including: Number of Farms, Acreage, Yield, Utilization, Price, and Value
International Agricultural Trade Statistics
(FAOSTAT) Figures are given for quantity and value of commodies imported/exported (in metric tonnes). International commodity prices are used to calculate the total value of each commodity produced by each country. Select "Countries" using the drop down menu and then use the drop down menu to select the crop product. (There may be statistics available for more than one product for a crop.) Country level statistics are available using the links in the left hand navigation bar.
International Agricultural Production Statistics
(FAOSTAT) Provides figures for area harvested, yield, and quantity produced (in metric tonnes)Use the drop down menu to select the crop. Country level statistics are available using the "Countries" drop down menu.

Promusa - Mobilizing Banana Science for Sustainable Livelihoods
"ProMusa brings together scientists and other stakeholders working on banana, with the ultimate goal to help banana farmers make a better living and ensure that bananas–in all their diversity–continue to thrive in a healthy environment."
Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC), Land Resources Division
Working in partnership with its 26 members and with regional and international agencies, SPC assists the people of the region by delivering a wide range of technical, research, educational and planning services. The Land Resources Division provides assistance and does research on a variety of Pacific crops including banana, breadfruit, cassava, kava, pandanus, sweet potato, taro and other aroids, and yam. Land Resources Division (LRD) has established an email based Helpdesk system to provide technical advisory support to Pacific Island Countries & Territories (PICTs).
Island Food Community of Pohnpei
Island Food Community of Pohnpei aims to increase self-reliance through traditional food production whilst at the same time protecting the environment through small-scale agroforestry. They provide information resources on Micronesian cultivars of banana, breadfruit, pandanus, and taro and other edible aroids.
International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) - Agricultural Research for Development in Africa
Research areas cover tropical agriculture, plant health, and crop improvement and management in the tropics. Crops covered include cassava, cowpea, maize, plantain/banana, soybean, and yam.
Global Musa Genomics Consortium
"The Global Musa Genomics Consortium (GMGC) is an international network of scientists who are applying genomics tools to the banana to ultimately improve its breeding and management. The consortium currently brings together expertise from various institutions in different countries."
International Tropical Fruits Network
International Tropical Fruits Network (TFNet) is an independent and self-financing global network established under the auspices of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). It has a mandate and role to promote sustainable global development of the tropical fruit industry in relation to production, consumption and trade.
Musacontacts
(ProMusa) ProMusa maintains a database providing access to the contact details and main expertise of its members and other people working on banana. You can search the database or add your details to the database if you are not yet registered.
Alvin S. Huang (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Food chemist; crop research interests include bananas, breadfruit, kava, and taro.
John Hu (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Plant virologist; crop research interests include banana bunchy top virus.
Scot C. Nelson (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Plant pathology and disease management; crop research interests include bananas, kava ('awa), and noni. Projects include: banana bunchy top and banana farming.

Musalit
(Bioversity International for ProMusa) MusaLit is a bibliographic database containing more than 13,000 references and abstracts, of documents on bananas and plantains, in English, French and Spanish. Many articles are from Pacific Island researchers or about banana production in the Pacific. Limited links to full text.
PubAg
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
(University of Hawaii at Manoa Library) ScholarSpace is UH Manoa's institutional repository. It provides free Web access to many of the University's publications. It includes both legacy publications and current research papers, journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. All are available in full text as PDF files. Try using the Advanced Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AgEcon Search
(University of Minnesota and Agricultural and Applied Economics Association) AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Global Agricultural Research Archive (GARA)
(CABI) This database currently contains over 3,750 full text records from institutional partners in Malawi, Pakistan, Myanmar and the Philippines, from the 2008 IAALD conference on agricultural information and IT, and from RUFORUM.
FAO Document Repository
(FAO) The Document Repository is FAO’s online archive for collecting, preserving and disseminating digital copies of the Organization’s knowledge outputs to ensure that they are available to the widest possible audience. It contains publications, journals, official meeting documents, technical reports and information materials produced by FAO offices worldwide.
Musarama
(Bioversity International for ProMusa) Searchable image bank on "all things banana"
AGRICOLA: 1970 - present
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) Citations, most with abstracts, to journal articles, books, theses, technical reports, and other publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany. Use the Keyword Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRIS: 1975 - present
(FAO) International database covering agricultural sciences and technology containing citations for conventional and non-conventional ("grey") literature. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
PubMed (Medline): 1946 - present
(U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH) Citations with abstracts for journal articles in biology and medicine including botany and nutrition. Citations may include links to free full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.

Need More Help?

Didn't find the bananas and plantains information you were looking for?

Email your question to the reference librarian