Research Guides: Traditional Pacific Island Crops: Breadfruit

Key Web Resources for Breadfruit (Artocarpus altilis) and other Pacific Artocarpus species

Breadnut (Artocarpus camansi) is native to New Guinea and possibly parts of Indonesia and the Philippines. It is the wild, ancestral form of breadfruit (Artocarpus altilis). Apparently, Pacific islanders did not carry breadnut on their early voyages, and it is currently not commonly grown in the Pacific other than on its native islands. Breadfruit, on the other hand, was spread throughout the region beginning around 3,000 years ago.

Breadfruit continues to be an important staple crop and a central part of traditional Pacific agroforestry systems. Breadfruit is cultivated on most Pacific islands as a home garden or subsistence crop. It is also sold in local markets either as a fresh fruit or processed into chips.

IN THIS BOX are links to COMPREHENSIVE or OVERVIEW web resources on this crop.

For web resources on SPECIFIC TOPICS, select the appropriate category in the BOX BELOW.

Artocarpus camansi (Breadnut)
(Diane Ragone. 2006. Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Comprehensive monograph on breadnut production in the Pacific. Covers botany, growing conditions, propagation, uses and products, and agroforestry applications; includes references. (700 Kb PDF file)
Artocarpus altilis (Breadfruit)
(Diane Ragone. 2006. Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Comprehensive monograph on breadfruit production and uses in the Pacific. Covers botany, genetics, growing conditions, propagation, uses and products, and agroforestry applications; includes references. (1.1 Mb PDF file)
Artocarpus mariannensis (Dugdug)
(Diane Ragone and Harley I Manner. 2006. Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Comprehensive monograph on breadnut production in the Pacific. Covers botany, growing conditions, propagation, uses and products, and agroforestry applications; includes references. (820 Kb PDF file)
Hawaiian Breadfruit: Ethnobotany, Nutrition, and Human Ecology
(Brien A. Meilleur, Richard R. Jones, C. Alan Titchenal, and Alvin S. Huang. 2004. CTAHR, UH Manoa) This book summarizes some of the available ethnographic and ethnohistorical information about Hawaiian breadfruit. It includes information on food value as well as seasonality, reproduction, and yield. (link to 9.7 Mb PDF file)
Farm and Forestry Production and Marketing Profile for Breadfruit (Artocarpus altilis)
(D. Ragone. 2009. Specialty Crops for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Covers cultivation, harvest, processing, nutrient composition, economics and marketing; includes references. (1.4 Mb PDF file)
Breadfruit
(Julia F. Morton. 1987. Fruits of Warm Climates) Covers horticulture of breadfruit; propagation, culture, pests, and diseases; also includes harvesting, yield, food uses, and nutritional value.
Artocarpus altilis
(World Agroforestry Centre, AgroForestryTree Database) Briefly covers botany, ecology, propagation and management, uses, and pests and diseases; includes references. (565 Kb PDF file)
Artocarpus heterophyllus
(World Agroforestry Centre, AgroForestryTree Database) Briefly covers botany, ecology, propagation and management, uses, and pests and diseases; includes references. (490 Kb PDF file)
Artocarpus mariannensis
(World Agroforestry Centre, AgroForestryTree Database) Briefly covers botany, ecology, propagation and management, uses, and pests and diseases; includes references. (250 Kb PDF file)
Artocarpus camansi
(World Agroforestry Centre, AgroForestryTree Database) Briefly covers botany, ecology, propagation and management, uses, and pests and diseases; includes references. (665 Kb PDF file)
Artocarpus heterophyllus (Jackfruit)
(Craig R. Elevitch and Harley I. Manner. 2006. Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry) Comprehensive monograph on breadfruit production and uses in the Pacific. Covers botany, genetics, growing conditions, propagation, uses and products, and agroforestry applications; includes references. (1 Mb PDF file)
Breadfruit: Artocarpus altilis (Parkinson) Fosberg
(Diane Ragone. 1997. International Plant Genetic Resources Institute) Covers botany, origins, uses, genetics, breeding, ecology and agronomy. (6.3 Mb PDF file)

Specific Topics for Breadfruit (Artocarpus altilis) and other Pacific Artocarpus species

Breadfruit Variety Database
(Breadfruit Institute, National Tropical Botanical Garden) Searchable database of the breadfruit varieties in the National Tropical Botanical Garden breadfruit collection. Each variety record includes photos of fruit and leaves, collection location, and detailed descriptions of fruits, leaves, and male flowers.
Cultivar Recognition in Micronesia: Banana, Breadfruit, Giant Swamp Taro and Pandanus
(Lois Englberger, Maureen H. Fitzgerald, et al. 2005. Plant Genetic Resources Newsletter 142:1-9) This paper reports on a study that was carried out in FSM to explore community cultivar recognition of selected staple foods that may represent familiarity with these foods and could potentially contribute to a healthy diet. The study focused on banana, breadfruit, giant swamp taro and pandanus, the FSM staple foods with the greatest carotenoid potential.
Key Access and Utilization Descriptors for Breadfruit Genetic Resources
(Bioversity International, National Tropical Botanical Garden. 2009) This list consists of an initial set of characterization and evaluation descriptors for breadfruit utilization. (109 Kb PDF file)
Regeneration Guidelines for Breadfruit (Crop Genebank Knowledge Base)
(CGIAR) The information on this page was extracted from: D. Ragone. 2008. Regeneration guidelines: breadfruit. In: Crop specific regeneration guidelines. Also available in PDF format.

Breadfruit Production Guide: Recommended Practices for Growing, Harvesting, and Handling. 2nd edition
(Craig Elevitch, Diane Ragone and Ian Cole. 2014. Breadfruit Institute and Hawaii Homegrown Food Network) "This guide is important because it is a practical, extensively illustrated primer to growing, harvesting, and handling breadfruit." This second edition adds kitchen handling tips, nutritional information, and descriptions for three important breadfruit varieties.
Propagation Protocol for Production of Container Artocarpus mariannensis Plants
(Craig R. Elevitch and Kim M. Wilkinson. 2003. Native Plant Network) This protocol covers propagation of seeded breadfruit (dugdug) from seed.
Propagation Protocol for Vegetative Production of Container Artocarpus altilis Plants
(Craig R. Elevitch and Kim M. Wilkinson. 2004. Native Plant Network) This protocol covers vegetative propagation of breadfruit by root cuttings.

The Pacific Islands Pest List Database
(Secretary of the Pacific Community) This database contains records of pests and diseases that are currently known to affect agriculture, forestry and the environment in Pacific Island countries and territories (PICTs). Country pest lists are currently available for Samoa, Tonga, Niue, French Polynesia, Fiji, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, FSM, Palau and Marshall Islands. The database can be also be searched by crop; use either English common name or botanical name. The database contains records for all of the crops covered by this Web site.
Plant Pests and Insects Publications (Agricultural Pests of the Pacific)
(ADAP Project. 2000) Leaflet series with color photographs of insect pests and crop damage. Includes pests of banana, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, kava, pandanus, sugarcane, sweet potato, and taro. All available in PDF format.
Report Document on Diagnosis of Banana, Yam and Other Diseases in Pohnpei
Scot C. Nelson and Flordeliza B. Javier. 2001. Cooperative Research and Extension, College of Micronesia - FSM) Reports on the identification of a fungal disease of banana, yam rust disease, and phytophthora fruit rot of breadfruit; includes many color photographs of disease symptoms. (1.7 Mb PDF file)

Breadfruit: Recommendations for Maintaining Postharvest Quality
(Postharvest Technology, UC Davis) Covers maturity and quality indices; optimum storage conditions; responses to postharvest treatments; physiological and pathological disorders; includes photos.
Traditional Post-harvest Technology of Perishable Tropical Staples
(Pamela A. Lancaster and D.G. Coursey. 1984. FAO Agricultural Services Bulletin No. 59) This Bulletin reviews the limited amount of information that has been recorded relating to the post-harvest technologies of the perishable, non-grain staple foods that have been developed in the traditional societies of the developing countries of the tropics. These foods are derived primarily from the tropical root crops cassava, yam, sweet potato and the various aroids; from fruit such as banana and breadfruit; and from the starches in pandanus and sago; includes references.
The Commercial Storage of Fruits, Vegetables, and Florist and Nursery Stocks
(Kenneth C. Gross, et al. 2014. Agriculture Handbook HB-66. USDA, ARS.) This latest edition of Agriculture Handbook 66 (HB-66) represents a complete revision of the 1986 edition. It presents summaries of current storage requirements of fresh fruits, vegetables, cut flowers, and other horticultural crops. This highly improved and expanded version also includes information on quality characteristics, maturity indices, grading, packaging, precooling, retail display, chilling sensitivity, ethylene production and sensitivity, respiration rates, physiological disorders, postharvest pathology, quarantine issues, and suitability as fresh-cut product.

Hawaii Foods
(University of Hawaii at Manoa) Searchable and browseable database of nutrient information for a variety of foods and ingredients. Also provides access to an online dietary assessment tool, recipes, and full-text publications.
Community Food System Data Tables - Mand, Pohnpei
(Centre for Indigenous Peoples' Nutrition and Environment, McGill University) The data presented in the Pohnpei Datatable (available as a pdf file) are on nutrient content for a selection of Pohnpei foods that have been analyzed and identified as rich sources of nutrients. A focus was made on those foods and varieties having cultural importance. These included seeded and unseeded breadfruit, giant swamp taro, banana, pandanus, and several kinds of fish. Click on the link in the Notes on food components section to download the PDF file.
The Pacific Islands Food Composition Tables, 2nd ed.
(Cecily Dignan, Barbara Burlingame, Shailesh Kumar and William Aalbersberg. 2004. FAO) Food tables for a large variety of foods consumed in Pacific Islands. There are 22 nutrients in the main body of the tables, which are presented in a fixed format for each record. The order of presentation is based on major nutrient categories and convention.
Feedipedia: An On-line Encyclopedia of Animal Feeds
(FAO) Feedipedia is an open access information system on animal feed resources that provides information on nature, occurrence, chemical composition, nutritional value and safe use of nearly 1400 worldwide livestock feeds.

Breadfruit Food Uses
(Breadfruit Institute, National Tropical Botanical Garden) Information, including photos and video, on selecting, preparing, and cooking breadfruit. Also includes recipes.
Pacific Islands Cookbook
(ADAP Project. 1994. Instructional Material ADAP 94-4) A collection of recipes using local foods including: coconut, green leaves and vegetables, papaya, mango, banana, breadfruit, taro, yam, sweet potato, cassava, and fish and meat. Most of the recipes have an estimated nutritional value table. (1.7 Mb PDF file)
Breadfruit (Pacific Foods Leaflet No. 3)
(Healthy Pacific Lifestyles Section, SPC. 2006) Covers the use of breadfruit as a food; includes nutrient analysis, preparation, preservation, and recipes. (2.5 Mb PDF file)
Breadfruit: A Food for All Seasons (South Pacific foods leaflets; 9)
(South Pacific Commission, 1983) This is an earlier edition of the SPC leaflets, but with different recipes. Also covers nutritional value, preparation, and preservation.
Mā (Breadfruit)
(Mark Merlin. Plants & Environments of the Marshall Islands) Briefly covers botany and distribution; discusses traditional Marshallese preparation of fermented and dried breadfruit.
Breadfruit (Florida Food Fare)
(Jean Meadows and Mary Jo Oswald. 2007. University of Florida, IFAS) This article provides information on selection, nutritional value, preparation, and several recipes. (49 Kb PDF file)
Marshallese Food Preservation Projects
(Julia M. Alfred. 2003. Household Nutrition Education Program, Republic of the Marshall Islands) Instruction for traditional preparations of breadfruit, coconut, and taro; in Marshallese and English.

U.S. Census of Agriculture - 2007 Census Publications
(USDA, National Agricultural Statistics Service) The "Outlying Areas" section has links to the 2007 reports for Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. There are links to previous Census of Agriculture publications which also include American Samoa. Generally, the reports include harvest figures for banana and plantain, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, sweet potato, taro, and yam.

Alvin S. Huang (CTAHR, University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Food chemist; crop research interests include bananas, breadfruit, kava, and taro.
Breadfruit Institute
(National Tropical Botanical Garden) "The mission of the Breadfruit Institute is to promote the conservation and use of breadfruit for food and reforestation. The Institute is taking a leading role in the conservation of breadfruit diversity and ethnobotanical research documenting traditional uses and cultural practices involving breadfruit."
Global Breadfruit
"Global Breadfruit was formed to facilitate and execute commercial production of high-quality, uniform and vigorous Breadfruit plantlets."
Pacific Crops - ACIAR
(Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research) The Pacific Crops program aims to improve the productivity, profitability and sustainability of horticultural, root and tree crop-based farming systems in Papua New Guinea, selected Pacific Island countries and Australia. It has a multidisciplinary emphasis on integrated crop management, emphasising the production, protection, postharvest handling and marketing of key crops grown in these countries.
Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC), Land Resources Division
Working in partnership with its 26 members and with regional and international agencies, SPC assists the people of the region by delivering a wide range of technical, research, educational and planning services. The Land Resources Division provides assistance and does research on a variety of Pacific crops including banana, breadfruit, cassava, kava, pandanus, sweet potato, taro and other aroids, and yam. Land Resources Division (LRD) has established an email based Helpdesk system to provide technical advisory support to Pacific Island Countries & Territories (PICTs).
Island Food Community of Pohnpei
Island Food Community of Pohnpei aims to increase self-reliance through traditional food production whilst at the same time protecting the environment through small-scale agroforestry. They provide information resources on Micronesian cultivars of banana, breadfruit, pandanus, and taro and other edible aroids.

PubAg
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
(University of Hawaii at Manoa Library) ScholarSpace is UH Manoa's institutional repository. It provides free Web access to many of the University's publications. It includes both legacy publications and current research papers, journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. All are available in full text as PDF files. Try using the Advanced Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRICOLA: 1970 - present
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) Citations, most with abstracts, to journal articles, books, theses, technical reports, and other publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany. Use the Keyword Search and enter the English common name or the botanical name.
AGRIS: 1975 - present
(FAO) International database covering agricultural sciences and technology containing citations for conventional and non-conventional ("grey") literature. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
PubMed (Medline): 1946 - present
(U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH) Citations with abstracts for journal articles in biology and medicine including botany and nutrition. Citations may include links to free full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Search using the English common name or the botanical name.
Sorting Artocarpus Names - Multilingual Multiscript Plant Name Database
(Snow Barlow. 2010. University of Melbourne) Lists approved botanical names and synonyms and provides common names in a number of languages.

Need More Help?

Didn't find the breadfruit information you were looking for?

Email your question to the reference librarian