Skip to main content

Art Research Guide

Articles and Indexes

When looking for articles Hamilton Library has access to many subject specific and general databases. Below a select few have been identified as potentially useful for Art and Art History research.


NOTE: Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

Art Books; Including an International Directory of Museum Permanent Collection Catalogs

Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.

Bibliography of the History of Art : BHA = Bibliographie d’ Histoire de L’art

Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.

Répertoire d’art et d’archéologie

Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.

Select Databases

 
 

Comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. Designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.

 
 

ArtBibliographies Modern provides bibliographic access to over 500 major art journals, museum bulletins, exhibition catalogs and books covering all aspects of 20th Century modern and contemporary art.

Bibliography of the History of Art / International Bibliography of Art

 
 

Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

 
 

The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

 
 

Innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. Searchable resources include: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. NOTE: Only 1 user allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

 
 

Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Find It or search the library catalog for the article title (or journal title). This will provide you with Hamilton's access to the article (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than only using OneSearch).

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has the journal that contains itsearch for the journal name.