Skip to main content

Art Research Guide

Art Research Guide

This guide is intended to help students and faculty at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa find information resources. Use this guide to find reference sources, articles and books for research in Art and Art History.

This guide highlights the collections of Hamilton Library and other available web resources. Many Hamilton Library digital resources access are RESTRICTED by license to authorized UH Mānoa students, faculty and staff. Select print titles are also included.

This guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for research. For additional resources consult other library guides and the library catalog.

Art Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library

The UHM collections contain over 307,000 books and over 2,000 periodicals and other serials supporting interests in history, as well as thousands of other books and journals in related fields.

  • The Jean Charlot Collection reflects the diverse interests of the artist, including Mexican art history, prints and printmaking, murals especially frescoes, and liturgical art.
  • Hamilton Library houses the Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection, which covers history from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe.
  • The Asia Collection at University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library is the most significant collection of Asian materials in the State of Hawaii and in the Pacific.
  • The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections are internationally recognized research collections. All formats, languages, subjects, eras and levels of treatment are collected. This Collection has it's own reference service, circulation counter and hours.
  • The Library's Government Documents Department is a federal depository of United States government documents and has a selective collection of United Nations documents.
  • Hamilton Library houses the Music Collection and the Wong AV Center, where you will find DVDs, CDs and more.

 

Reference Librarian

CC License

Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. You may reproduce any part of the guide for noncommercial purposes so long as you give credit.

You can license your works via Creative Commons to foster sharing of educational materials.